We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Du-Par's Restaurant and Bakery - CLOSED

Du-Par's Restaurant and Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sterling, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great food, service clean! We were not expecting such a great restaurant in this location. The bakery was to die for !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank samba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    351
    91
    50
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent for Breakfast in Downtown Vegas!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Menu items are "freshly homemade" which is a plus, however, the pancakes are just "okay"....not the greatest in the world as advertised.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoneCrusherinArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

.we stumbled across this diner while walking around Fremont st, and am so glad we did. it was Christmas day, we had pretty much forgotten that fact, but Breakfast had wore off and it was around 4pm when we went back in time to the age of old fashioned diners, complete with the waitresses in the old fashioned aprons and caps. The counter looked like it had stayed the same for 50 years.
The food.....i ordered the chicken pie.....so good....hubby had fried chicken....good...but the people next to us ordered the Christmas dinner...holy moly... when there's came out i wanted to change my order!! i think it was under 20$...3 courses. The |big| guy that ordered it couldn't even eat it all....
oh well, my chicken pie was Delicious, and i could still walk..ha...hubby got a pc of coconut cream pie....i could only have a small bite as i was stuffed, but it was fresh and perfect.
try this place out!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanita499153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kept going back for the great food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ate two breakfasts and two lunches at this surprising little diner. The service was a little spotty, but the food was the attraction. Located in the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino on Fremont Street, across from the Golden Nugget where we stayed. Nothing fancy, just excellent quality, cooked to order, from recipes that your grandmother might have used.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raffertysq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

OK...so hubby and I had 2 Club sandwiches, 2 cokes, and 1 shrimp cocktail...cost = $36.00!!! Not worth it. Too high priced! Ridiculous to pay that much! I ordered the potato salad...very very bland. Even the waitress said it had no taste! Like I said, not worth the money!

Maybe some reviewers love their breakfasts, but we were having lunch....and very very disappointed, especially with some reviews we read.

I realize that the Golden Gate and The D have the same owner, but I think they shouldn't have eliminated the small deli in the back where you could get shrimp cocktail for $1.99! Hey, that was what brought thousands of people into that Golden Gate...it was the shrimp cocktail that was there for years! Now if you want shrimp cocktail you have to go to DuPar's and sit down and get waited on and tip! The shrimp cocktail brought in customers....who would then spend money there gambling. Not thinking! Shouldn't have taken away some ol' Vegas nostalgia!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing