We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique adventure!”

Evolution Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: During your holiday, be sure to place kayaking and hiking on your list of things to do while in Las Vegas – you'll be glad you did. We are an outdoor adventure, site seeing tour company, specializing in guided Kayak, Hiking and wake board tours on Lake Mead and below the Hoover Dam on the Colorado River. When hiking through deep canyons or kayaking on the Colorado River to geothermal hot springs, look for diverse wildlife that could include Desert Big Horn Sheep, Coyotes, Ring-tailed Cats and Kit Foxes. Bird lovers, we have Osprey, Bald Eagles and Falcons. Being a migratory route for water fowl there are several different species that change with the seasons. Being outdoor enthusiast and passionate for our environment, our kayak Las Vegas tours is more than just taking people kayaking on the Colorado River. We are creating memories that will last a lifetime. Our guides are CPR and Wilderness First Aid certified. We are professionally trained and have extensive knowledge of kayaking and hiking in the back country. We offer complimentary pick-up/drop-off to your hotel via our spacious and comfortable Transit vans. Our professional drivers have safety in mind as they transport you to and from your adventure. To experience one of the finest Las Vegas kayaking tours available, contact Evolution Expeditions. Be sure to bring your camera along to capture the beauty of nature that awaits you.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this trip after finding it on trip advisor and wanting to do something different in Vegas, well this is certainly something unique!
We had such an amazing day! The early start was worth it as we got to the Hoover dam with no one else around and launched into clear still waters - it was beautiful!
We did the sweat cave and worry stone ritual which was special if not a little scary and odd all rolled into one! But we enjoyed it!
We then meandered down the river and stopped at some hot springs which were again amazing. Our guide was mike for the day and his knowledge was extensive! After the hot springs he said we will reconvene at a certain mileage point and in the meantime we could explore the river and take our time as much as we wanted. This was fantastic to do, if you saw something that looked interesting you could just go over to it. If you had any questions mike would answer at ease.
Lunch was super tasty and the whole day was a fantastic experience! Especially considering we were only about an hour from the hustle and bustle of the Vegas strip!
We definitely hope to return! Fab trip and excellent company well done!

2  Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasKayakTours, Manager at Evolution Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thats what our tours do, we take you out of your zone and show you a side of Las Vegas that you never knew was here! Thanks for making our day great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"emerald cave"
in 89 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 100 reviews
"hot springs"
in 164 reviews
"black canyon"
in 80 reviews
"colorado river"
in 181 reviews
"willow beach"
in 50 reviews
"sauna cave"
in 49 reviews
"hoover dam"
in 171 reviews
"big horn sheep"
in 46 reviews
"water shoes"
in 27 reviews
"mile kayak"
in 25 reviews
"launch site"
in 21 reviews
"kayaking experience"
in 18 reviews
"jason's deli"
in 17 reviews
"full day tour"
in 17 reviews
"mountain goats"
in 12 reviews
"short hike"
in 21 reviews
Filter

771 - 775 of 903 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Did the Kayak Hoover Dam tour and had a great time. The scenery is fantastic. Clear, cold water with a surface like a mirror. Lunch was very nice and they provided plenty of cold water.

I stayed off the strip, so I had to meet the group at the Hacienda hotel near the dam at 6:30 am. Signed a release form and jumped in the shuttle. The security around the dam is frankly creepy, but we got down to the launch site about 7:00 and were on the water by about 7:30.

Rod was our driver and Matt was our guide. Both great guys.

There were seven customers, 2 couples in tandem kayaks, one couple in solo kayaks, and me in a solo. I'm a 50-something moderately active guy who has done some easy lake kayaking before, and found this to be a fairly easy trip. The river level was down quite a bit due to maintenance on Davis Dam downstream, so there was almost no current. That meant about 4 hours of paddling to get 11 miles downstream. I made it just fine and wasn't sore the next day.

The kayaks have a rudder system that took a little getting used to. But everything was fun and relaxed, so it was no problem. There were one or two very small sections of a bit of choppy water. Otherwise, basically flat water all the way.

We stopped at Sauna cave, which is appropriately named. Then another stop at Gold Strike canyon and dipped for a minute in a very hot pool. Lunch stop was about 2/3 of the way down, and then a quick visit to Emerald Cave shortly before reaching Willow Beach and the takeout. We reached the takeout about 2:30 and I was back at my hotel about 3:30.

Overall, a great time and highly recommended.

1  Thank 698bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasKayakTours, Manager at Evolution Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We try to make everything as smooth as possible, I think it's our guides that really make our tours special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked online to do a moonlight kayak trip on Lake Mead during our honeymoon trip to Vegas.

This trip was definately the highlight of our honeymoon. We were picked up by Dan and were then informed that we were the only ones on this trip! A private tour: excellent!

We put our kayaks onto the water just before the sun set and spent time paddling around and taking in the sunsets. Dan was chatty and interesting and made us feel at ease.

We then stopped on a beach on one of the islands and had a paddle in the lake under the full moon: amazing experience! Dan then lit a fire and we ate s'mores whilst we dried off in front of the flames.

Worth every penny!

Thank 2212jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasKayakTours, Manager at Evolution Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

the Moonlight paddle is amazing, I like that tour cause you get out of the summer heat and the lake is so nice right now for swimming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I had an extra day in Vegas and wanted to try something different so we booked the webbed foot tour. Our guide Rod picked us up at the hotel that morning and drove us south of the dam. We put in at the marina. The water was very clear and cool. You could see the trout swimming under the kayak. The fall weather was perfect.
Rod was very knowledgable on the plants,animals,history and lore of the area, it made for very good conversation. We even gleanned some new campfire recipes and other places to visit.
After paddling several miles upstream we stopped for a great shore lunch and investigated a small canyon. On the return trip there where moments of complete silence as we where just in the zone and paddles in sync. It was a great trip. We would do it again.

Thank sailfish40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasKayakTours, Manager at Evolution Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I love to paddle in the fall, here it's just like summer and the 1/2 Day Webbed Foot Tour is a great way to see the beauty in the Black Canyon on the Colorado River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a fantastic day kayaking downstream with mike. Being picked up from the hotel at 5:15am was a bit of a shock, but our day out on the water more than made up for it. We were complete novices but Mike and Rod made sure we were ok, the kayaks even had a foot operated rudder which made manoeuvring much easier. The pace Mike sets can only be described as easy and the whole day just felt relaxing and peaceful (and it was a whole day)
This is a trip we would do again and again.

Thank Gtjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasKayakTours, Manager at Evolution Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

5:15 in the morning isn't that bad... :) thats why we pick you up! All of our kayaks have a rudder to steer you down the Colorado River with ease you should check out the 1/2 day Colorado River Tour below the Hoover Dam, it' s a great paddle too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evolution Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Evolution Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing