We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Michael's Gourmet Room
Ranked #391 of 4,891 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Enterprise
Description: Las Vegas visitors and residents alike know that Michael's gourmet room has been one of the finest restaurants in all of Las Vegas. For over 30 years, this intimate, 50-seat gourmet room has earned accolades galore. Its many prestigious honors awarded by the country's premier restaurant reviewers and dining surveys attest to its excellence not only in menu but also in service and style. Michael's awards have included being named one of the Top 5 Restaurants in Las Vegas by the Zagat Survey. It received the Four-Diamond Award for Exceptional Cuisine, Excellent Service, and Elegant Dining Atmosphere from the American Automobile Association, the Award of Excellence from Distinguished Restaurants of North America, and the Finest Gourmet Restaurant recognition from the Las Vegas Review-Journal Readers' Poll.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Brilliant, the ultimate best and worth the $$$. Dining in style at South Point Casino, worth every bite.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    17
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wow! We decided to have a nice dinner on our last night in Vegas and this was fantastic! Food portions are huge so I would recommend sharing if you can agree. I had the filet (best ever) and my husband had the sea bass. We shared an appetizer, asparagus and dessert. With two drinks and a well deserved tip our bill was $300. Service was top notch, atmosphere was definitely old Vegas, and all the extras made it a dinner to remember.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kachastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! What an experience!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I are used to the finer things in life, yes we have been fortunate. But what an experience at Michael's! It was our last night of our vacation with my sister and brother-in-law and we booked South Point for just 1 night as they have to fly the next morning and then hop on an international flight in LA. I called front desk and asked for their best restaurant on site and she said "Definitely Michael's and it is Zagat-rated." Zagat-rated restaurants are everywhere and certainly did not mean a thing to us when she said that. When we made the reservation we were told no shorts which was not an issue. 3 of us were in polo shirts and jeans and the forth had a business shirt and pants. We walked into Michael's and felt just a touch of of place but what the heck. The place was cold and we asked the server if they could raise the temperature a little and we were told no. So a couple of us headed back to the room to grab a coat. When I got back down to the restaurant, a large complimentary platter of vegetables, pickles, quail eggs was set at the table, together with crackers and such. Nice. Next was sorbet to cleanse the palate. It was very french. When we were offered menus, the ladies' menus had no price :-), only the men's. How traditional! Anyway, we ordered rack of lamb and New York strip. The lamb was amazing and so were the sides that came with it. There was so much food. After the entree was cleared. We were so full by then that we split one desert and they split it for us into 2 plates and each looked like a full slice! They then brought us a plate of fruits dipped with chocolate and a whole basket of fruits. WOW. The price tag at the end of the meal was not bad at all. Yes, it is more than what most pay for dinner regularly but it is not the most expensive dinner that we had paid for but it is certainly more unforgettable than anywhere else that I had been to. Looking forward to going back again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cutie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great experience, but you're really paying up for it”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The service was fantastic, the food exceptional, but if you're not staying at the South Point Hotel, the cab ride is going to add to an already expensive meal. Go, but not without your wallet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maconmerlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very romantic, need reservations and if you can get through the smokey casino it's worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Gourmet Room also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Gourmet Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing