We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but don't you hate being nickel and dimed?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #20 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place but don't you hate being nickel and dimed?”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Most of my reviews are business related. This was a couple days vacation and my bride's first trip to Las Vegas. The facility is very nice, technically not on the strip but really, you walk from the hotel into a mall and you are right on the strip. The best location of any Hilton property.

This is a hotel and Grand Vacation Property, so there are a variety of rooms. We had a 2 room suite, the first a large living room with a good Kitchenette area. The 2nd, was a fair sized bedroom with a large jacuzzi tub. Both rooms had floor to ceiling glass windows looking out to the strip.

If there is anywhere in the world that knows how to pamper guests it is Las Vegas and that is understood here as well. But I have to say I was really irked that I had to pay $9.99 for 24 hours of wifi. Really? They aren't making enough with room rates? Even as a Silver Hilton Honors member they had no way to waive the charge. I've stayed at Hilton properties less than half what this was and they include wifi (and breakfast). Our cell phones, (Verizon) had very poor coverage in our rooms so even looking up shows or directions was not an option with out the internet.

Valet Parking is $15/day, but there is free self parking behind the hotel.

We did a couple shows, one booked by the concierge, we got a modest discount, but did much better buying tickets from one of the discount kiosks on the strip. Be flexible and you can get a great deal.

http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/nevada/elara-a-hilton-grand-vacations-hotel-center-strip-LASCSGV/about/index.html

We enjoyed our time and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewEnglandSalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,497
    1,862
    549
    261
    169
See reviews for
1,490
2,676
206
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

To begin, my girlfriend and I traveled to Las Vegas last week. We are only 19 years old, so the hotel was very accommodating for us at our age. The taxi ride from the airport was quick. Check in was smooth, and it was nice they give us a studio on the 20th floor. Our view was facing Planet Hollywood, so we could also see the Eiffel Tower, Stratosphere, and the mountains in the background! The studio was larger than I personally thought it would be, so that was nice. We enjoyed the quality of everything in our studio. Bathroom was nice, the bed was very comfortable, and the theme of the room. Housekeeping did a very good job. They cleaned the room very well, fixed our shower curtain, and gave us extra soap. We made use of Elara's business center to print on boarding passes on the way home. Printer was nice to have! (Free). We enjoyed using the pool in about 55 degrees one morning (We're from Minnesota!). The hot tub was nice too. The sofas were by the pool were nice to lay on. Elevators were quick, and the guys checking our room keys were very friendly! We loved the location by the Miracle Mile Shops. It was also convenient for when we went to the Britney Spears concert. Elara is near the middle of the strip, so that was a plus for the whole duration of the trip.

Only a few complaints: We were a little disappointed the pool closed at 5 pm, maybe they could have left just the hot tub open at that time. The pool probably has later hours during warmer weather we figured. This isn't a big deal at all, but the lobby/desk area just seems too open to me. The bath tub in the room took awhile to fill up whenever we wanted to take a bath. Also, the wifi....

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and we will probably return! Thank you Elara!

Room Tip: Obviously try to get a higher floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We never even stayed here we were exploring and Michael started to show us around in full knowledge we were at another hotel he was such a gentleman and invited us back later that evening for wine and cheese he was so kind and if we come back we will stay at the hilton just because of him.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clibbsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Feather Soft Pillows, Feather comforters , pristine white linens certainly fills your night luxuriously in awe. Hilton knows how to give comfort to their guests. All you need is in your room. When you are at Hilton ,you feel connected to life's power.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Melba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Elara because we were offered a great deal as Hilton Honors members. The trade-off was that we had to attend a time-share presentation. However, the presentation was low-key and we did not feel pressured. We stayed in a one-bedroom unit on the 28th floor.

Pros: Check-in was easy. The rooms are large and well furnished. We had a nice kitchen area, living space and bedroom with a huge spa-tub. We liked the floor-to-ceiling windows and views. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is large. The location of the resort is very good, adjoining the Miracle Mile shops and Planet Hollywood. Many of the big strip hotels are within walking distance.

Cons: We had a problem getting maid service. The rooms have high-tech lights next to the door to indicate maid service or privacy. Both days we left our room around noon and turned the maid service request light on. Both times we got messages on our phone that service could not be provided because our privacy light was on and that we had to call housekeeping if we wanted service. Both times the messages came in within 10-15 minutes of leaving. The second day we did not return to the room until after their cut-off time (4 pm). Apparently we were on a floor that started service early and apparently they do not check the room lights again. I can only image they expect everyone in Vegas to get up early for the convenience of housekeeping!

The refrigerator door had a couple of large dents in it. The lever to switch the tub from the sprayer to the faucet did not work. It took forever to fill the tub. Maybe it's because we had to use the sprayer to fill it, or maybe it was because the water pressure in the shower was barely adequate. You have to pay for wi-fi.

Note: There is a bar in the lobby and an adjacent Starbucks (with free wi-fi). As others have noted, there is no casino (which could be a plus for many people). We did not use the pool or fitness center.

We would definitely recommend the Elara to time-share owners. For others, you have to consider the price and what type of experience you want. There are a lot of other options in Las Vegas and I doubt we would stay here again unless we got an incredible rate.

Room Tip: Be sure to get one of the units on the 28th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OtherVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We got this one bedroom suite when we agreed to go to a timeshare presentation. I guess when they sell out they won't have rooms for regular folks, but it was nice. It was pretty centrally located behind the strip. You exit the hotel into the Miracle Mile shops at Planet Hollywood & can walk to the strip through there. The room was nice & is going to be renovated soon too. It had a full kitchen. Also has a washer/dryer in the bathroom. There was a jetted tub in the bedroom. I'd stay here again. Our friends slept on the pull-out sofa in the living room. It also had a projector tv which was fun to watch a movie on during our last night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Elara in October after we received an offer from HGVC for a timeshare presentation. We stayed 3 nights in a studio and attended a 2 hour timeshare presentation one morning.

HOTEL

The hotel is very nice and clean. They have security to restrict access to the guest floors, which is nice. Our room was very clean with a modern decor. We had a corner studio unit so the layout was odd, but it was a nice room. The bed was comfortable and the room had a nice whirlpool tub and refrigerator. The location of the hotel is very good, right in the middle of the strip and attached to the Miracle Mile Shops so that was nice when we needed to pick something up.

POOL

The pool was okay. We had some really nice warm days when we were there so we spent a bunch of time by the pool. They say that the pool is heated, but the pool water was really cold. Also, the pool closes really early so if you want to go in the hot tub at night that's not an option. We ordered lunch by the pool one day and the food was just okay and pretty expensive for a sandwich. We also had a drink by the pool. The drink was not good at all and was very expensive. The drinks were more expensive than any of the restaurants we went to while in Vegas and were really bad. I would reccomend not buying any mixed drinks at the pool.

TIMESHARE PRESENTATION

We had our timeshare presentation one morning and it was not bad at all. It was about 2 hours. They started by asking a bunch of questions about our travel habits and where we would like to travel. It was rather humorous because they asked us for our bucket list of places we wanted to visit and HGVC did not have resorts at any of them. Our salesperson was friendly and not pushy. At the end of the presentation I specifically said I was not going to buy that day, but that we would consider it. He was out of there quickly to bring in the manager. The manager offered us a package to one of their resorts for some fee. We said we were not interested. He said okay and got us our promotional gifts. It was not high pressure at all. I was really surpprised that they did not give us any information to take with us to review at home.

We received a $200 certificate for a future stay at Hilton hotel. We used it in November at the Hilton in NYC and just got our check yesterday. It took the full 8 weeks to get our check, but we had no problems. Just as a side note, the free dinner and show are probably not worth it. Once we saw the show and dinner choices we decided to go to a different show because we didn't want to waste a vacation night at a bad show.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 262 in Las Vegas
12,628 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 262 in Las Vegas
15,847 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 262 in Las Vegas
23,977 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing