We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #22 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We checked in here after a long drive from Yosemite. Unfortunately, I had left my ID in my bag which I had left with the porters at the valet car parking. When I tried to check in, I was told I couldn't without ID, which is fair enough. However; I explained the situation and asked if the receptionist could phone the porter to bring my bag to reception (I had the number), I was flatly refused and told that I had to go back to the car park to get my bag (which was on a different floor). My wife did not look forward to this but we managed to check in with her ID after some negotiation.

The room itself was very good and comfortable.

My wife then tried to get change for a note she withdrew from the hotel cash machine in the reception. She was told to go to Planet Hollywood.

The check out process, in contrast, was very efficient and the receptionist was very friendly.

In summary, a hotel which is well placed and comfortable. I normally enjoy staying in Hiltons (I have Diamond Frequent Stay membership) but was put off, on this occasion, by the service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 350doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you left your wallet in your car at check in and had to provide another option for us. We do have strict procedures when it comes to verifying ID’s and the handling of such private information. We have these in place to make sure we are protecting yourself and our other guests against things like fraud. I am glad to have read that your room was comfortable and your check out was a positive experience.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,025
    1,669
    483
    229
    148
See reviews for
1,272
2,334
187
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have a studio room for 2 with king bed on the 28 floor, flat screen tv and microwave kitchen. The large window overlooks part of the Las Vegas strip view. The hotel is within walking distance off the strip. Overall, it's a good and comfortable facility and we would recommend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Suthai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I'm a platinum with Marriott and a silver with Hilton. I travel a lot. This is my only negative review in 30+ years of traveling. HGV called me several times after 11:30pm before my trip. I said it was to late to be calling. I was told that I have to understand HGV is on west coast time. I received my confirmation e-mails in Japanese. Prior to arrival I was told, not asked, that my tour appointment was being changed from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm. Therefore, I had to change my itinerary to meet yours. It took 29 minutes to be spoken to for check in. When asking the clerk for restaurant (dinner) information I was told to come back at 9:00am and talk to the Concierge. Upon exiting the elevator (23rd floor) it smelled like spoiled milk. The room (2318) was smaller than a Residence Inn standard room. The soap dish had soap scum from the previous occupant. The room didn't have tissues for two days. The trash cans were not emptied twice. I filled the bathtub with warm water, got in, turned on the jets, and they blew out chunks of black mold. I was bussed from the Elara to another hotel for my tour. This felt like bait and switch. My tour guide was outstanding. If we were in Columbus, Ohio I would have stolen her away and made her one of my sales reps. I had such a bad experience that there was no way I would become an owner of a Hilton Grand Vacations package. Marriott will stay my primary hotel. However, I am thinking of moving Hilton from my secondary to third place (swapping with Hyatt.) I did not feel the Elara was an elite hotel. It was not a Grand Vacation. I felt that the Elara was a low end (Marriott Residence Inn) business hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
8 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad that your salesperson did such an amazing job! I will definitely pass along the positive comments to our team so that we can recognize her. I apologize that your tour time was changed and that the change caused you to not make the most out of your vacation time. I will speak to my Housekeeping team regarding the odor on your floor as we do have Floor Managers that should be taking care of any issues like this. I am also going to have my Engineering team take a look at the Jacuzzi to discover what the issue was with the jets.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is not one of the most "famous" Vegas hotels but it's wonderful.
Located on the strip, it is a new hotel (since 2009) with about 45 floors.

Rooms are large and comfortable, everything was very clean, friendly staff and overall good atmosphere.
it is also very reasonably priced (I paid $140/night and got a very high value for my money).

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors - there is a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

All the staff was excellent. The location is perfect as it is in the middle of the strip but not in a casino. Very nice lobby. The rooms are okay though they are getting a little tired. Lots of scuffs and marks on the furniture. Well used for sure and the hallways are dark and dirty. Our jacuzzi tub was broken and the hotel ran out of hot water during our stay as well which was a disappointment. Having to pay extra for wifi is annoying. I was told when making my reservation that there was complementary Starbucks which was not true. We were there for 5 days but the pool was closed all but one. One of the more off putting parts of the experience was getting transferred to a high pressure time share sales pitch following my reservation. That alone has put me off Hilton brand. All in all, there is potential for an excellent experience though I am not sure I would risk it again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate the kind words regarding our team as they work extremely hard to provide the best experience possible for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your room and that you were told you would receive complimentary Starbucks. I will be sharing your comments with my Sales team regarding your experience and I appreciate your comments.

Stephen J. Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Almost every hotel in Las Vegas is located pass a casino, so the crowds are often in every corner and the noises of the slot machines, aside of the tourism hours, could reveal to be annoying. So, comes Elara hotel as a great option to be either very near to the Strip (it connects to the Miracle Mile shopping mall and Planet Hollywood), but also calm, without casinos and, as so, the crowds. It has a 24/7 Starbucks in the lobby (great finding to jet-laggers), and good access to taxis, rental companies, etc. Our room was located in the 26th floor, with great views. Better options invlude rooms up to 50th plus floors. We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurMombach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Asked for a room with a view..as it was our 10th wedding anniversary and it surpassed all my expectations !!! Jacuzzi in bedroom, huge walk in shower...fab dining area..massive lounge..Also great pool area with lush cabanas..and lovely bar area..what more could you want ...all staff encountered were extremely helpful .Would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remusp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#12 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#10 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing