We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families, with some drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #21 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We choose this hotel because it is central on the strip and the absence of a casino suggested it may be more family friendly. We were not wrong on either count.

We had a one bedroom suite which had a fully equipped kitchen and a large living room. The living room had a sectional that opened up to a hide-away bed which our son used during our stay. As hideaway beds go this was a good one and even I found it to be comfortable. The kitchen was useful for us as we could prepare our own meals (particularly breakfast) if we wanted to. We had a car during our stay so we stopped at a grocery store to get supplies for the room, worked really well for us. If, however, you had no car there are limited opportunities to get groceries on the strip, with drug stores being the only options, so I am not sure how useful the kitchen would be in those circumstances.

The Good:
- Central location on the strip, easy walking distance to most strip attractions.
- No casino, therefore no smell of cigarettes every time you enter and leave the hotel.
- Very efficient valet parking (recommend this at $15 per day) saves the hassle of self parking in a very busy multi-storey parking lot.
- Pedestrian access is through the miracle mile shops
- Nice room, good beds, and plenty of space in the one bedroom suite

The Not so good:
- Rooms were not well cleaned. There was dust everywhere, and we had to clean the drawers, shelfs etc before we could put clothes away. The rooms were not dusted during our stay.
- The shower was mouldy. The shower door closes tightly and so the stall never gets a chance to dry out, smells of mould. We bought some cleaner to resolve this. Shows a lack of attention to detail. Poor housekeeping overall.
- This is a central strip hotel and is popular with younger adults enjoying the "Vegas" experience. Some drunkenness and resulting noise is to be expected. At the weekend the volume goes up and we were woken a few times on Friday night by late night partying in the adjacent room.

Overall we had a good time at this hotel, as did our son. It is a good strip location if you are using it as a base to explore beyond the strip and the valet parking is good. Be warned that your GPS may not recognize the Elara name, but input the address and things will be fine. No plans to return here, but it is an option worth considering.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ivanrmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and sharing all the positive feedback on the various amenities we have to offer. I apologize that our Housekeeping was not up to our standards. I was embarrassed to read that you had to clean some area personally as this should never happen to someone that is staying with us. I hope we were able to calm your noisy neighbors down and I do appreciate the feedback.

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,874 - 4,880 of 6,767 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

When it comes to the Hotel portion of the experiance...the phone rings forever, the check in check out line, Valet, Bell Service need lots of help and other than the room size it felt like a self service hotel not a full service property as described. Now as for the Time share paer6t of the experiance...our presentor AJ was great however when he brought in Jay (the #s guy) as soon as he understood we were not going to buy the package he put his hand next to his face with his MIDDLE FINGER flipping hy wife and I the bird (he was trying to be subtle but not so successfull...what a dirt bag!!!! That is how we were treated and I dont care how cheap it is its not worth that!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
5  Thank Marnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I appreciate your comments regarding your experience and I have to trust that our Sales person would never do such a thing to a prospective client. Even if someone doesn’t purchase, you are still here on vacation and we must respect that fact to ensure you have an amazing time with us. I will also follow up with my Front Office team on the long lines as we pride ourselves in not having the lines that some other Casinos see that are around us. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us.

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the worst security I have ever seen on the strip there's one lady skinny in a garage sale 2 piece suit that they really need to get rid of what a JOKE!!!!! The security at the entrance seems to be fairly nice hats off to them for what they put up with!!! I give them a 10 !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I apologize that you did not receive excellent service from all of our Security officers.

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Check in was a breeze. Entering the 1 bedroom suite with an 8 foot projector, a view of the strip, a full kitchen, a Jacuzzi and a killer bathroom was just the moment I needed after a terrible travel day. It was a delight to live there for four days and feel I MUST return! Aside from the amenities, the hotel is in an absolutely perfect location, the staff was wonderful, and it didn't have hordes of people milling about through the lobby like casino hotels do. It was relaxing and a true delight!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
4  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Got a call with an "opportunity"', had a family member being married in Vegas, so thought why not. Excellent property, not as rowdy as many on the strip, probably due to no casino. Really worked for me. Husband ventured to Planet Hollywood casino, just a short walk away. Pool was nice, bed comfy and Starbucks in the lobby was very convenient. Decent location, room almost as nice as Wynn. Did not purchase timeshare, but if you are looking to buy one, buy from Hilton. New ideas in timeshare, not locked in to a particular week. We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Always ask for a no extra charge upgrade. You don't get what you don't ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brimackmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything you need. We stayed for six nights and was excited that we got an upgrade to a one bedroom suite - the room was fit for a king! Best location right above the Miracle Mile shops. Make sure you go to the Las Vegas show at the Saxe theatre in the mall it is memorable. Everything was within walking distance. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating (not sure why people have put bad reviews about them?). We were nearly put off by some bad comments on here but personally we have had a wonderful stay at Elara and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kindycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on the 33 th floor with a great view on Paris. One of the tv's was not working but within 15 minutes they send an engineer and the problem was fixed immediately
We had a great stay, staff was friendly, room was clean, everything was ok. We had wedding renewals and although they never answered my email asking for assistance with a hairdresser all went well. The concierge arranged tickets for copperfield and was very friendly , she did everything posibble to arrange our night on the town, much appreciated, thank you Hilton for a wonderfull stay, we Will recommand this hotel back home

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayadv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,509 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#15 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,312 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $93 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing