We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bad view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #22 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was lovely and clean and quiet (compared to the rest of Las Vegas) partly because it does not contain a casino. It was nice to be able to get away from things at the downstairs bar. I was disappointed that we did not have a room with a decent view of the Strip though - especially as we had booked months in advance and my husband had pre-arranged a room with a nice view on the 18th floor - we ended up looking at a car park roof from the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a high level room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,914 - 4,920 of 6,565 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

1st time in Sin City,best hol so far :)
We stayed in a 1bedroom corner suite which was excellent!!
Room was v.modern with great view of The Paris from the living area and the hills from the bedroom.Both rooms had large wall mounted plasma tv's and electric blinds.
Hotel is very central postioned with everything on your door.
Security to lifts were always manned and had to show room key card everytime.
Didnt use the pool area as too cold.
Have and would DEF recomend this hotel to everyone not 1 fault

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseekerAyrScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A nice hotel in a good location. Easy access to "Miracle Mile" shopping, which includes several moderately priced shows. We saw "Vegas: the show" and thoroughly enjoyed it. A nice pool for those who want sun (no shade at all). Walking distance to many other locations on the Strip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this Hilton property for 8 nights in April. We were beyond pleased with every aspect of the Elara! Centrally located with all that Vegas has to offer just a stroll away, yet the Hotel was like a calm Oasis were we could retreat. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed was so extremely comfortable! We found the staff to be friendly and more then accommodating. Although we were ready to leave Vegas at the end of our trip, we would have happily stayed on at the Elara . We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR9045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited this hotel in April 2013 and loved it. We were traveling with our 3 kids (10,8 and 5) and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The hotel was everything we hoped for and we were lucky enough to have the most amazing view of the strip. We found it to be in a perfect location, nice and close to everything and particularly liked the security. Having to swipe your key before you even enter the lift area made us feel especially secure. We would definately stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

very nice room - great view! Nice pool - no smoking was excellent! Great access to Magnificent Mile shopping and restaurants. Centrally located on strip.n I would definitely reccommend the hotel to others and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

First impressions were memorable. We got upgraded to a junior suite right off the bat. Check in was simple and quick. The elevators are warp speed. The rooms provided a great view of the town from the 20th plus floor. The king size bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Cozy pillows, large walk-in shower and plenty of available bathroom towels. Floor to ceiling TV screen was amazing. The rooms are well insulated- no noise leaking in from outside or next door made for an enjoyable stay. The hotel lobby provides access to the extensive mall shops and resturants and I suppose a person could keep busy inside this structure with never the need to step onto the street. But of course we weren't going to deny ourselves the experience of exploring the town and the main attractions that are all located within a short walking distance.
There were a few cons in paradise however. Strangely enough, toilet paper was a scarce commodity and on two occasions we had to call the desk. Also, free parking under the hotel structure was like playing musical chairs and the motorists can be aggressive. I personally don't like rooms that are sealed with no access to fresh air. The swimming pool next to the lobby seemed to be of limited access for some mysterious reason and the bar located just inside served outrageously expensive drinks. But all in all, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheezemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,402 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,063 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $128 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing