We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva! Vegas baby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #24 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Viva! Vegas baby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel! It's a Hilton so it does what it says on the tin! The rooms were spacious and above average - to be honest it's Vegas and we spent 4hrs in the room! Hilton have only just bought this hotel but you wouldn't notice.
Positives:
1. Good pool and great pool staff - Andrea is noteworthy
2. Joined to a shopping mall- so there are places to have breakfast
3. Staff are fab- friendly and everyone helpful and attentive.
4. rooms were big, reasonably quiet and for a 5 day stay very good value


negatives:


1. If I were a guest and we stayed next to us-14 guys on a birthday weekend- I might be a bit miffed! We were noisy.


Overall, great stay, parts of the hotel need attention and it is next to a hotel being renovated. But, the staff and location make it an excellent place to stay. It's close to the strip whole still being remote enough to not be near the madness.

I would return- not with the wife- but as a group hotel it ideal. The manager said that in a years time the place will be fully updated.

Room Tip: High room- suites it's Vegas baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superally2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,211
    1,753
    513
    244
    156
See reviews for
1,351
2,494
194
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Elara for 4 nights while we were in Vegas. The hotel itself is connected to the Miracle Mile mall and Planet Hollywood so it's convenient if you want to shop, grab a bite to eat, or gamble. The room is clean and has a kitchen area, which is very nice. I like the floor to ceiling window that you can get a good view of the strip. Bed was comfortable and the whole room has a very modern feel to it. The staffs at the valet area are very friendly and helpful if you need to catch a taxi or shuttle. Our stay here was very pleasant and being a Hilton hotel, staffs were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyUs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The pictures already posted by others tell well the story of the 850 sq. ft. 1 bedroom apartment stayed for two nights during NASCAR weekend. A red leather corner sectional seating seven (and housing a queen sleeper). Floor-to-ceiling views of the Strip from the living room and also from right next to the king bed. A HUGE Jacuzzi 24 inches from that bed, with mirrors on three sides. Five TVs. Including a 12-foot wide projection screen that drops to cover the living room window to receive the projection TV. A combo washer/dryer under the bathroom sinks. A full size kitchen/fridge and a dining table for six. All done up in very retro-swank styling. Warhol-styled artwork of Marilyn Monroe. Even some zebra fabric seating -- long live El Morocco! Put it all together and you get a top competitor for best entry-level room in town. And the property is basically off-the-radar, so pricing is amazing. Too bad these rooms are scheduled for a design dumb-down in the near future. Why, you ask? Well, like much of what has been built to become Las Vegas, there’s a backstory to it.

This tower, and these rooms, debuted next door to Planet Hollywood in 2009 as “PH Towers Westgate.” Westgate was then a huge time-share operation, and it had the vision to swag up these rooms ever-so nicely. Unfortunately the timing was bad, as it debuted directly into credit markets seized-up from The Great Recession. No credit lines equaled no time-share sales, leading to Westgate having to sell off the property. (That story is told in detail, btw, in the second half of a 2012 film titled “The Queen of Versailles.”) The new owners affiliated with Hilton Grand Vacation Clubs in 2012 and rechristened the property Elara. Accordingly, the new target market for these rooms is Joe CompanyMan, burning up all the HiltonHHonors points he accumulated while on the corporate treadmill. As they sit, these rooms are judged by Hilton as being way too Austin Powers to suit such tastebuds, so they are slowly being “Hilton-ized” -- that is, being blanded down into various shades of taupe. Let us hope that at least the projection TV and Jacuzzi survive.

This is, officially, a non-gaming, non-resort property. Downstairs is a smallish hipster-looking bar, a nook with about twenty tables to deal out breakfast fare … and that’s about it. The good news is that its lobby is next door to a showroom (The Saxe Theater) and also opens up to one end of the Miracle Mile shopping area, that in turn leads into the Planet Hollywood casino. So Elara does mimic a full casino/resort property better than you might first think.

Service is mostly well-above average; the staff holds a solid customer orientation. Upon arrival, I was informed that 300,000 NASCAR-heads in town had created a full valet … and I was not even offered an opportunity to bell the luggage. Instead, I was directed to self-park and to look to end up in Section 3e or so, that being near an entrance to the Elara main desk. What I found in self-park was a game of automobile Russian roulette, a hundred-or-so cars jockeying for the next vacated space in the entire deck. After 30 minutes and 10 laps around the track, I opted to hover at the top floor, far corner, section 5z … and eventually scored. Then I had to schlep the luggage to an elevator that deposited me somewhere into the far end of the shopping area. And into a lot more schlepping. When I hit the front desk nearly an hour after I first arrived, I politely advised my clerk Ray of my valet odyssey, expressing the hope that my room assignment would fare better. That, layered upon my Hilton HHonors status, led to an upgrade to Room 5309, the aforementioned 850 square feet, three floors down from the top floor and possessing just about the best view available from the property. Thank you Ray, you are so Vegas! Throughout my stay, I found room service, bell - as well as subsequent valet service - to be equally fawning.

Hilton HHonors members: This is a Cat 9 property and as such it stands tall above the other three redemption properties in town. I’ve stayed at two of them -- and toured the third. If you can’t swing a redemption at Elara, then HGVC Strip/LV Boulevard is your second best choice for room quality; on the Strip yes, but far away from the action. HGVC at The Flamingo is second best for location. Save off-Strip HGVC at LVH for last dance; it’s a hike over to LVH … and grapevine has it that there’s good reason why LVH recently lost its Hilton branding.

Unless you absolutely have to stay five-star, this is an excellent venue for you to consider. The location, mid-South Strip, is pretty desirable. For now, at least, the rooms are ever-so swag. And pricing is high-bang-for-buck; it’s off the radar because (1) it’s pretty new, (2) it’s only listed in a few of the usual marketing channels, (3) there’s not a single coupon code available anywhere in the entire Solar System and (4) on the face of it, it’s a non-gaming, non-resort property.

RECOMMENDATION: Get ‘em while they’re hot!

Happy Motoring !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the Hollywood’esque depiction of our Resort. Anytime a guest can use swag when writing a comment is alright with me. Seriously though, I appreciate your comments regarding our rooms and rest assure that the projectors and Jacuzzis are staying! We are addressing some of the condition items that we currently have in the rooms with countertops and carpet but I hope that you try us out again once our renovation is complete. Our goal is still to provide an upscale, fun, and chic Resort but our days of being known as the place to wild party’s is definitely something of the past. I am sorry that our valet was full when you arrived and were not given an option to unload before entering the parking garage. We just recently added 25 more spaces to our valet area so that we can accommodate our guests that want to valet with us. Thanks again for the review and Happy Motoring to you as well!

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staying at a Hilton Grand Vacation is not like staying at a Hilton. You forget a tooth brush... Don't go ask the front desk.

The rooms however are spacious and high end. I was checked into a king suite on the 24th floor. My room had a two person jacuzzi, a high end bathroom and kitchen. The living room had a window blind that lowered and turned into a massive tv screen. Great for sports watching and entertaining.

The hotel is attached to the Planet Hollywood and you can walk through the shopping enter to access the casino/restaurants.

Note: Hilton Diamond / Gold Members do not get free breakfast at this property.

The pool was under construction when I stayed. Some people were upset by this. I didn't g to sit by the pool, but check with the hotel if that is your thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. But if you are presented with a suite on a lower floor or a regular room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSmithVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for a week and the pool opened during out stay opening day was March 30 yeah!. First day pool was open it was packed!. Love the sun and fun in Vegas. Suite was awsome more than enough space for me and my friends. Over all was great. Will be back.

Room Tip: Hotel will face Las Vegas Blvd. Rooms on each side of the building will face south or north of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMoney702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this property for four nights while in the area on business. I reserved a junior suite with a king bed at a rate of $89/night. I received a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite.

This Hilton property is located central strip. It is attached to Planet Hollywood and the Miracle Mile Mall, each offering a plethora of shopping and dining options. The property is well marked but access to self parking can be a little challenging as the area is not accessible from the main check-in area. Guests should plan to enter the road just east of the main entrance and park as close as possible to floor three of the garage. This allows easy access to the hotel.

The exterior of the site was clean and the parking lot was well lit and in good repair. Despite construction in the area, the lobby space was clean and check-in was a breeze. The clerk was polite, cheery and helpful. Access to the elevators is security controlled, a nice touch in the Las Vegas market.

Elevator cabs and interior hallways were found to be clean and well lit. Suite bedding and furnishings were clean and in good repair. All standard amenities were found for the bath. Kitchen furnishings, televisions and washer/dryer all worked as advertised.

Housekeeping during my stay was pretty solid. I did call one day for bath soap and and shampoo as replacements were not left. This was quickly remedied by a quick call to housekeeping.

Check out was prompt as the folio was correct. I was thanked for my business and invited back.

Should the need arise, I would choose this property again. It provides an exceptional value in terms of space available and room quality at the price point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel may not be right on the strip and it may not have a casino but that's a bonus. It is quiet, extremely clean, has great views, affordable, modern decor, comfy king size bed, awesome and friendly staff and in this reviewers opinion, one of the best values in Vegas. And don't be worried about the location. It's attached to the Miracle Mile mall which is right on the strip and is super convenient. You can also choose to walk to the strip outside and it is a nice walk that will take mere minutes. Truly a great bang for the buck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskcapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and I am so happy that you had a great time. It is funny that you called us a gem since that is what our name Elara stands for. (actually it is a rare cut of diamond) I have to agree that our location is ideal for someone here on business or leisure. We are a great option if you want to be close enough to the action but at the same time have the option to get away and relax.

Stephen Arent
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,258 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,323 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#23 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing