We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed suite in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #23 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well appointed suite in an excellent location”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Elara is part of Hilton Grand Vacations, Las Vegas NV. It is next to and above Planet Hollywood "Miracle Mile" shopping center just off the Las Vegas Strip. We chose it because we traded into it and were not disappointed. The one bedroom suite was large and faced south. From the 14th floor we could see quite a ways. The curtains on the window walls in the living room & bedroom lowered electrically and the living room room one became the screen for the projection TV. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and most of the "Strip".

Parking in the mall multilevel ramp/garage was free with easy access to the hotel. The hotel access was not well marked however and on our arrival we asked several places in the Mall for directions.

Our only problem was the rapid accumulation of dust on the furniture [and my sneezing]. Our housekeeper told us that she could not keep up with it.

Bottom line: when we travel to Las Vegas we will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor for the view. There are 6 elevators for floors 2-27 and 6 elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,401
    1,839
    540
    255
    165
See reviews for
1,432
2,634
203
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at many hotels on the Strip, and this hotel has the quickest route to the car in the parking garage (read my room tip). Elevators are fast, and there's always a security person by the elevators. As others have noted, the room was nice, clean, and modern.

Since I paid only $90 for my junior suite, I consider these to be minor drawbacks.
- We stayed in 1006, which has a good view of the hotels on the south side. Even on the 10th floor, at night, I could still hear the car noise. My solution was to turn on the fan to sleep.
- The water in the pool was too cold. I saw a lot of guests walked into the water and then walked out. You can warm up by swimming, but the water depth is only 3 feet! So pretty much everybody sat around to get a tan. Between noon and about 1:30PM, the sun goes behind a nearby tower, so no tan. The Mirage has a much better pool.

Room Tip: Here's the fastest way to get to/from your room. Park in the Miracle Mile parking lot. Floor 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second time staying at this establishment. First time was when it was PH Towers/Westgate. The rooms are huge and fully featured. We loved the amount of space you had , it wasn't just a single room to spend all your hotel time. There was a large lounge room and kitchen, big bathroom and bedroom. For a stay of 8 nights we needed a place that wasn't cramped. The kitchen was well used and so was the lounge for hosting. Spa is a a great touch and loved the large bathroom bench. Down points for our stay was the toilets still didn't flush entirely on one go, there was often paper remaining (kinda gross), when pressing a floor in the lift at times you would lose that floor and go straight past it, having to come back down. In one of the rooms before we swapped the block out curtains had their own mind and the bedroom door wouldn't open. Very small things to slightly tarnish a great hotel. Its a brilliant location and great price. We would stay there again, just hope Hilton can get their act together.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of a carpark and that's it. Ensure you ask for one over looking Paris or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Booked here for one reason: needed Hilton stay credits to maintain diamond status. I was pleasantly surprised. I'd call it the poor man's Cosmopolitan.

It is quiet, and, unusual for Vegas, it's not totally smoke-infested, owing to its location off the mall, and there's no casino. Both of those are positives in my book.

The bed was firm, and the junior suite was spacious. All in all, it's a well-located place to stay that offers a nice alternative to the mega hotels of the swanky side of the strip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgotraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

So we stayed here two nights and the room was nice, but it had issues. First there was this faint, but annoying whistling sound coming from under our door. Apparently it was the air pressure in the hotel lobby blowing under the door. So every night we had to put a towel under the door to stop the noise. Second the water pressure for the hot water was so low; taking a shower was like punching 20 holes under a gallon of water and putting it over your head. That actually might have been more water pressure than the shower itself (Of course the cold water pressure was fine, but I wasn't in the mood to take a cold shower).
Parking!!! So there was apparently a concert that was starting, so it took us about 1hr to find parking in our OWN HOTEL! It was a nightmare, we circled and circled around the block and finally begged one of the parking attendants to please move the barricade so we could park to go to our room. He did so, but having to go through all of that, I found was ridiculous.
Now to the view from the room itself was spectacular from the 51st floor and the automatic window shades guarantees darkness in the room if you want to sleep in. The only problem I had was the TV remote to use these “spectacular” features. First the TV remote had such a lag it was painful to just turn it on and stare at all the features that I was trying to select. You could control the room temperature, window shade, room service and other things from the TV, but again, that remote wasn’t working that great. So we really didn’t do much in the room which is why I didn’t bother to get the room changed or anything fixed. The bed was super comfortable and the decor was very nice and modern. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for families and honestly wouldn’t stay their again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studentwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking an opportunity to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not find your stay enjoyable. Yes we do share our parking structure with Planet Hollywood and the Miracle Mile Mall and events like this are not very typical. I am truly disappointed to hear that your stay over lapped one. Normally we do not receive complaints regarding wind noise however when the winds are high like they have been lately sometimes there is a faint noise.

Dana George
Asst. GM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel look like a new hotel. well maintained. The staff is friendly and willing to help.
the view from the top building rooms is fantastic.
The location is above the miracle mile shopping center and close to the main strip area.
The rooms are big, clean and comfortable,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakiKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here one night.
Liked: Great location. Funky decor. Rooms clean. Good amenities. Water bottles presented in gift bags for being a Hilton Honours member. Great price. Bell desk workers were friendly and helpful.
Did not like:
- Long wait at reception. It was 10:30pm check in. It took about 20 minutes to be served (a long time after a long flight and a 3 hour time difference).
- Bugs in ground level ladies room (not sure if it was because it was ground level; I did not see any in the room ). They looked like roaches but it was full light in the ladies room so maybe it was some other bugs that wondered in.
- Chopped up: Escalators to reception level and hotel access. Should let elevators go to ground floor and have the security posted there.
- Pillows and bed were not the usual great beds - pretty mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJALSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize very sincerely that there was a delayed check in when you arrived. This is certainly not our standard. In Las Vegas during the fall season our city gets flooded with moths that are attracted to the neon lighting. We make every effort to control this issue but at times it does get the better of us. I am certain that this is what you encountered because we have been trying to contain them for the better of three weeks now. Unfortunately our hotel elevators do not travel all the way to the ground level it was not part of the design or construction of the building. We did just get approval of the traditional Hilton linens which has been ordered so very soon you will get the same quality at our hotel that you are used to having being a Hilton Hhonors guest.

Dana George
Asst. GM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,163 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
15,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,999 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing