We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As long as you are an owner and have lots of green; this is the perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #23 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As long as you are an owner and have lots of green; this is the perfect place”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great, awesome view of the city and it is truly a 4.5 star hotel. This was previously a planet Hollywood hotel, but Hilton bought it. They are still transitioning to the Hilton service and vision. The rooms are very clean, but found a few dirty dishes when we got to our room.
The location is awesome, it is next to the center strip mall and everything is pretty close.
The service is HORRIBLE!!! I was repeatedly told that you can't do this because you are not an owner or this service is only for owners. In addition, all the staff EXPECTS huge tips every time. If you don't give them any they will treat you like crap.
In conclusion, if you have a lot of cash or you are an owner of this time share, then expect a great stay. Otherwise, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr1p_Adv1s3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am truly sorry that you have a negative experience with our service at Elara. I never want any of our guests to walk away from our hotel feeling like this. If you would like to contact me with the details of your reservation I would enjoy researching this further because I feel the information given to you may not be accurate. My email is dgeorge@hgvc.com.

Dana George
Asst. GM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,401
    1,839
    540
    255
    165
See reviews for
1,432
2,634
203
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Four of stayed in a two bedroom suite from Sunday - Friday. I loved almost everything at this hotel ... all the staff were all friendly and helpful, from the front desk, pool staff, and all the valet guys!

Our room was on the 52nd floor with wonderful views, the beds were comfy, it was clean and spacious with a great kitchen area. We loved the projector screen, however, they kept advertised 'Magic Mike' as a movie to watch and it wasn't available to purchase .. that movie would have been great to watch on the big screen!

Loved the pool area, nice for tanning (some chairs in the pool) however the pool was COLD, you would think with daily temperatures of 95 - 99 it would heat the water. We ate by the pool and found prices reasonable and food good (large salad 'avocado, tomato, chicken etc'. $12, chicken sandwich 'with bbq sauce, pineapple' with fries $12)

Negatives ... no where to get something to eat at night, room service was over at 10:00 pm and the pizza place in mall was not appealing... and the cold swimming pool.

We arrived at 11:00 am and room wasn't ready until just after 4:00 pm, but that is check-in time. We asked for a later check out time, and they moved it to 1:00 pm (no charge).

Room Tip: If you use self park; park at or near level 3 B (you walk right into the lobby) just as close as usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This property is called a Hilton Grand Vacation Club hotel, but you can not book it with either honor points or club points. They say that will happen in another year, when they take it over completely. It used to be called the PH Tower, a Westgate Resort. .We had a studio here for one night. We checked in at noon and loved our room on the 33rd floor. The view was fantastic. It included the MGM and the airport. The studio has a king bed, a curved couch by the window, a small kitchenette area, with dishwasher, small sink and refrigerator, microwave and dishes for 2. We are Hilton gold members , so the internet was free. The only place to put the computer was on the coffee table. It would have been nice to have had a small desk. The bed was super comfortable and the blackout shades made for great sleeping. I loved pushing the button to raise and lower the window shades.

There is a small pool for the size of the hotel, which is mostly shallow. The deepest part is 3 1/2 feet. There is no shade available for the most part, unless you want to rent a cabana area. The hotel store is small and the prices a bit high, but the hotel lobby opens onto the Miracle Mile Shops, which have many stores, restaurants, and shows. Make sure you pick up their coupon book at the Service Desk. This was a great feature for me as you didn't have to go outside and it was also connected to the Planet Hollywood casino. There is no resort fee here, many elevators- so no wait, security check-in before the elevator area, and a free parking garage attached to the resort.The front desk very graciously printed out our boarding passed early , maybe because I went there early in the morning and they had no one waiting in line. We had a 12 noon check-out, and a really late flight, so left our luggage with the valet in their storage area. We had gotten a great senior rate and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better. The South side has views of MGM and the airport, while the north side has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisingSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Elara for a bachelorette party. I have stayed at MANY Vegas hotels, and this one was a great value for being on the strip. The rooms are very nice and big and modern, and not as overpriced as the Cosmopolitan, etc. I do like the MGM better, but that is because of the pool, and not the rooms. The pool is very casual, and relatively small for Vegas. It does have cabanas, but when we were there (summer in Vegas- prime cabana party time) they were all vacant. Definitely not a place to stay if you want a crazy pool experience at your own hotel, but a good place to relax and lay out. This hotel connects to Planet Hollywood, so if you want the craziness of a Vegas hotel you can walk into PH, and if you want to relax, you can stay on the Elara side. It's also worth mentioning that many of the rooms at this hotel are condos- so you can rent them on VRBO or AirBNB rather than directly through the website, so you may be able to get a better deal from the owner's themselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A group of us (6 pople) stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for the weekend (2 days) and paid $1150 and this is what we got! First, we arrived and the TV projector (suites have them) did not work. Repair guy came and just said tough luck...he did not have another one to give us. Strike 2; That same night, we filled the jacuzzi and it took forever to fill AND the carpet started to get soaked! Major plumbing problem. Strike 3: We were in our room playing CHARADES with low music, the next thing we know a security guy says we have to keep it down or will be dismissed from hotel (it was 12:30am...IN VEGAS!! We were just laughing not having a party!!). In the AM we were pretty pissed and requested another room, they did give us $100 complementary food and beverage for the problems but we were litterally switching rooms in the middle of the night 2am. The following day was ok but on Sunday, check out day, someone came at 10am, knocked loudly on the door and opened it without waiting for response and then left!! We were scared as that woke us up..turns out that is the hotel's way of telling you to GTFO of their hotel and check out as their checkout time is 10am !! (REALLY???!! In Vegas???!!!) I am giving hotel 2 stars just because it is clean and modern decor....but that's it. NOT Hospitable at all! and for the price paid...not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauisonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am truly sorry that you had so many issues during your stay with us. We try and avoid maintenance issues from occurring during any stay but unfortunately sometime they happen. We do have an obligation to promote the comfort of every guest in our hotel. While some guests come to have fun we do have other guests who travel for business when noise becomes a nusience to a guest we have an obligation to address the issue.

Dana George
Asst. GM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Being located in the Miracle Mile shopping center and just steps from the strip makes this hotel a great option. And, unlike nearly all of the hotels on the strip, the Elara does not charge a resort fee (many resorts charge an extra $20 per night). You can save a lot of money by eating in any of the numerous restaurants and fast food eateries in the mall. And, since every room has a fridge and microwave, you can eat in your room or heat up leftovers. There's even an ABC Store in the mall where you can buy booze, beer, and snacks at reasonable prices. My only gripes are that the hallways are a little tacky and there are only two ice machines in the entire building. Other than that, this place is one of the best affordable spots on the strip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SLC-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,163 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
15,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,999 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 80 E Harmon Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4539 (Formerly Planet Hollywood Towers)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the most desirable location in Las Vegas, Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unrivaled resort setting. Towering over the center of the Las Vegas strip, the sleek 52-story tower is adjacent to the Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino complex and offers adjoining access to the 170+ shops and restaurants in the Miracle Mile. Just across the street, find the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas and City Center to experience the best of Las Vegas. The hotel is also conveniently located to the I-15 freeway and only four miles from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas Executive Air Terminal and Signature Flight Support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Elara by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hollywood Towers Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing