We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!”

Twist by Pierre Gagnaire
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 5/11
8:00 PM
Ranked #89 of 5,346 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $170
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Harmon
Transit: The City Center Monorail stops at either Aria or Crystals. From there it is 5 min walk to the Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas.
Description: Taste the artistry of acclaimed Chef Gagnaire, whose Paris restaurant has earned Michelin stars, and learn why his Las Vegas venue continues to receive accolades. Enjoy a 23rd floor view and a perfectly paired vintage from the suspended wine loft.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We dined here as a special occasion and loved it. Great view, terrific food, very good service and a great wine selection. Courses were well paced and the menu options excellent. This was the best dining experience we had in Vegas and it is highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HKinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 621 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

The $50 price range listed is a farce. There is a $95 two course option, a $120 three course and on up from there to a $250 option with wine tasting. That is per person price. If you are alright with that price the food at Twist is outstanding. We simply chose the two course option as we were eating early before a show. The entree selections that we selected were both perfect. I had a boneless ribeye and my wife scallops. The presentation and the quality were perfect. They offer a varied wine and drink menu and you make your choice via a viewing on an Ipad. This is nice compared with trying to see a dark menu. The setting up in the Mandarin has a nice view of the south end of the strip. The service is wonderful.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony_Kenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything about Twist is special - from it's 24th floor entrance at the Mandarin, to the elegant - yet not overstated - decor, nice view, and - of course - the food. This is one of those restaurants that you remember for a long time. And the reason is that every dish presents you a flavor experience you've never had before. In the fact the flavors are so extraordinary, they don't mix items on the same plate; every taste is given its own space. The portions are not huge; actually, just right. Only forewarning is, like most gourmet restaurants, be prepared for a lot of rich food. Oh, and don't miss the soufflé for desert. The night I was there it was a truffle soufflé. Amazing.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Being a lover of food and of fine dining...and great service, I was in hog heaven dining at Twist. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a nice view of the strip. The service I received was unbelieveable - formal, but not stuffy; friendly, but not casual; informative, but not to the point of being bored. I did the 5 course tasting menu; my guest did the wine pairing with the tasting menu. The food was just absolutely PERFECT! My guest's wine pairing was impeccible - a perfect compliment to each dish. The portions were just the right size so that you enjoyed each course, but were not too full to continue to the next (or left desiring just a little more in that course). During my visit the tasting menu consisted mostly of fish - and each had a perfect sauce, cooked to perfection, and a splendid presentation.
The desserts were a little less than I was expecting, but in all honestly, I was glad that there wasn't more.
This is NOT an inexpensive restaurant; if you do the tasting with the wine pairing, you will pay more than $300 per person. BUT, for me, when I received my bill, the price was unimportant because of the fantastic meal, service and atmosphere I had just experienced.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bearecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went for new years eve gala dinner.
Elegant yet festive and with gorgeous views of the strip - without actually being down there - a definite advantage on this evening.
Service was welcoming and courteous without being stuffy. Personal welcome by Pierre G himself - couldnt be better
Wonderful and pricey (!) menu - with delicious amuse bouches.
First course an inspired version of oscietra caviar with a jelly base and many many flavours accompanied by perfect brioche toast.
The next dish which was spiny lobsters with a bit of king crab were perhaps the best part of the meal. Cooked to perfection and well balanced.
This was followed by oysters and dover sole. Again wonderful.
A small cuttlefish dish followed which I cannot remember but it was both inspired delicious and innovative.
Then came the only disappointment of the evening: The Wagyu Beef , which was cooked well, but the meat had small strings of tendon making it less than tender and the flavour of the dish was to be honest quite bland with uninspired preparation. This can clearly be done better at a place like this - and at 595$/head it must!
The desserts again were back to perfection. 6 small perfectly executed dishes which were just lovely and inspired and entirely delicious.
The winelist is both impressive and vast , and for the quality of this place it is overly expensive. So we enjoyed some wonderful wine with our meal.
I can only recommend this place. Ordinarily dinner is of course less expensive. But for this evening and at this price the hiccup with the main course cannot give top marks.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twist by Pierre Gagnaire also viewed

 

Been to Twist by Pierre Gagnaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.