We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for David to take a break!”
Review of David Copperfield

David Copperfield
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.99*
and up
David Copperfield at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
Ranked #45 of 226 Concerts & Shows in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: David Copperfield has been hailed by audiences and critics alike as the greatest illusionist of our time.He’s the first living illusionist to be honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He was knighted by the French government. He received a Living Legend award from the Library of Congress. He’s won over 21 Emmy awards for his groundbreaking television specials, and he holds 11 Guinness World Records. Sound impossible? David Copperfield built a reputation on making the impossible look easy.
Hanover, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Time for David to take a break!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Booked this show (June 29th) in the winter! Had been looking forward to it all year. WOW! What a flop! Mr. Copperfield looked totally bored, going through the motions as it were. No showmanship to speak of, only someone looking like they had to get somewhere after the show and wanted to get done. The theater was dank and dark, as was the performance. Either pack it in Mr. Copperfield, or step up your game for the hard working people that pay to see this legendary illusionist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Kjstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,948
    761
    426
    250
    200
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“How does he do it?!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very enjoyable performance. We sat at the front and was mind blown over the tricks and being so close could not see a single string or give away. He is very enchanting! His cocky attitude mixed with the way he tells stories will keep you entertained until the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coca7103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss this show!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful and amazing show. A show you can bring your children to also. Davis Copperfield interacts with the audience throughout the program. Can't tell you how much we enjoyed this show. It was a last-minute decision to see this show and we are so glad we did. We were just amazed at the magic/illusions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Tricks, Mind-Blowing, Worth the Price”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Okay, the bit of the show with the alien was too long. I agree with the negative reviews on that. But, the tricks (motorcycle/car appearing, mind-reading with numbers, the word-game illusion with the wristbands, the levitating guy, the vanishing audience, etc) were all great. This is an expensive show, but so much better than some other Vegas magic acts. The seating is good (a little cramped, but old-vegas style), the act was smooth and had some "wow" moments, and I even got picked to be a part of the final illusion! (I got to catch a ball and sit on stage while he made some people vanish.) I did not see anything so I was amazed at the act! WOW! A great time for all ages. A long act, a good act, worth the trip and the cost. (Some people, like a cab driver we met, think everything is staged/fake, but honestly, we liked it and had a great time!) Copperfield is also a little tongue in cheek, but did not seem "rude."

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! So fun to see”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are both "magic lovers". We enjoyed this show so much and look forward to going back in a years time.
David kept us always guessing and watching him so closely to see if we could figure out his tricks. We loved how he kept our attention and amazed us through his entire show!
The drinks are way over priced! That felt like a slap in the face being we paid alot for the show itself.
But we loved it and will go back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to David Copperfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing