We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of Orleans in Las Vegas”
Review of Lola's

Lola's
Ranked #37 of 4,864 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Gastonia
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Little bit of Orleans in Las Vegas”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Slightly hard to find. By the time we spotted the restaurant we passed it and had to circle back.

Food was very good. I ordered the charbroiled oysters for an appetizer which were good, but small when broiled. We also ordered the crab artichoke dip which was delicious.

I had the gumbo for an entre which was wonderful. I'd definitely order it again.

My family said their dishes were very good as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    157
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Treat away from all the Tourists”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We saw this place on Diners, Drive ins and Dives and decided to try it since we were in Las Vegas and wanted to do something different off the strip and more of where the locals go. We got there right when it was opening for lunch and already had a line out front, they did not open on time still setting up tables in the outdoor area but we made it in. This place is located in a old bread factory off a busy street but has plenty of parking. The service was pretty prompt considering the line of people all getting seated at once. It did take a bit to get our food but we were in no hurry, we were enjoying the nice weather on the outside seating and relaxing. All the servers made sure you had drinks and were attentive to your requests. even Lola came out and talked with you personally nice touch. I had the Cup of gumbo, Fried Shrimp Po Boy with fresh cut fries. The gumbo was very good as well as my Po Boy, the fries could have been cooked longer. My Fiancé had the Gumbo as well, with a ham and cheese Po Boy with potato salad. She really liked the gumbo and potato salad but was not impressed with the sandwich. The bread that came with the Gumbo and on the sandwich was excellent. Overall we had a good experience and would go back to try something different.

Helpful?
Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You goina like it, cher...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Étouffée like my mamma never made. Thick and spicy... Wit andouille in de gumbo. Red beans and rice, aiyeee!

You'll want to start with the crawpuppies and end with the best bread pudding ever.

Lola's is quaint and homey like a little crawfish shack on the bayou. Service is helpful, friendly and always near by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NEW ORLEANS CUISINE”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The best gumbo that I have ever had! I also had the distinct privilege of meeting Lola herself who brought out our food. She is a real 'sweety'. We chose this restaurant because of DDD.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOHN1949_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom,WA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

At 6:30 on a Tuesday, this place was packed. We had made reservations, but still had to wait. It gave us a chance to view their map in the back hall where diner's pin their hometown. That was kind of fun - especially those out of the way spots.

Lola's lives up to its reputation, as the crowd indicates. We started with an order of crawfish puppies and one order was enough for our group of five. They split easily and some of us only wanted a bite as we were saving room for dessert. The half order of char-broiled oysters was good, although not Drago's of New Orleans. The side salad was kind of a "miss", too. However, the BBQ shrimp with rice was delicious as was the catfish platter. The server gives a spice choice for the catfish, depending on your "heat" level". The server also recommended the jambalaya and that was a winner.

They do an outstanding dessert. Our favorite is the bananas foster bread pudding. It's worth the calories and the exercise to work it off.

This is not the spot to enjoy a quiet evening on squishy chairs. This is the place to go for excellent food and an energetic atmosphere. And I've made a memo to get my king's cake for Mardi Gras here next year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's also viewed

 

Been to Lola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing