We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hangover Food”
Review of Ginseng 3 - CLOSED

Ginseng 3
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: The Strip
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hangover Food”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Sobe Noodles soup was expensive and only fairly decent. The KimChi average -- all in all, it was $30 for soup and cabbage but it really did help the hangover :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kat60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is my second time going to Ginseng 3, the food is tasty, but I probably will not go back.

They are authentic, but not cheap. I probably would pay the price if it is a restaurant in a different hotel like Bellagio or Venetian. But it is in Imperial Palace, not the nicest place in Vegas… sometimes you not only pay for the food, but the atmosphere too. I don’t think Imperial Palace worth this price.

Whenever I go for Asian (or Korean) food, I have never charged that much for their tea.
We sat down was asked what do we want to drink. Almost all Asian places serve tea, so we asked for 3 tea. It came with 3 cups with hot water, each has a green tea bag in it. When the bill came, it is $3 for each tea! $3 for a tea bag??

One dish of bulgogi is $23. And it is not a big dish. The soup noodles is small, just plain noodles with few extra piece. I don’t remember the price, but just not worth it.

We also ordered the hot stone rice. It does taste good, but again, for the price we are paying, there are options.

Plus we noticed that when real Korean dines, they have extra dishes of appetizer. Since we not Korean, like everyone else, we have less dish. I don’t think this is right. And I don’t bother to question. I just won’t go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,367 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Surprise!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Four of us finally gathered at the condo and walked the block to the back of the Imperial Palace. What a great surprise. Still as clean and well serviced as last time we were there. The Ginsing3, tucked away, is a jewel without the glitzy costly extras. They had Japanese, Chinese and Korean menu items. The kimchee was just right, sweet tangy, nice start. The BBQ Short ribs was a good choice, the Udon is what it is, good broth. We ordered Tempura Shrimp and they were divine! No extra batter hanging on, sweet shrimp inside. To full for dessert, the prices were very fair.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasfan19
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Korean/Chinese/Japanese”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you like a little bit of all the Asian cuisines, this place is good. It's also open pretty much all the time. I had sushi for breakfast when most other places were closed. It's a nice option to some of the higher end sushi places. Only downside is they have the Asian version of MTV on the TV in the restaurant, and I'm not a fan of foreign language music.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasfan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I didn't expect to find anywhere in the Imperial Palace that I would want to eat in - I didn't want to use the bath in my room. BUT this restaurant is a little miracle, great food - really delicious dumplings like I have never experienced - and really good friendly service. Korean pop plays in the background but unlike so many restaurants in Vegas, it feels like a real local place, not a themed event. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanInOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing