We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for an excellent price”

Island Sushi & Grill
Ranked #674 of 4,842 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our unique restaurant brings Hawaii to Las Vegas with 2 restaurant concepts in one location! Sushi, including all-you-can-eat, in one suite & plate lunch in the other, including a bakery with homemade malassadas. Stop in today and try one of our daily grill specials! Mahalo!
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food for an excellent price”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our first visit, so we choose to try a couple of the half price special sushi rolls. The "black widow" was very tasty as the sauces were not overdone. I choose a more traditional shrimp tempura rolls which I found delicious. There was a slightly spicy sauce on my choice, which really added to the flavor. This will definitely be a place for a 2nd visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    14
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Sushi Restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Who would have expected a top-of-the-line sushi restaurant in Las Vegas, located downtown in the Plaza Hotel, not even on the strip! Well, we didn’t but we love sushi and gave it a try – wow! Until now, the very best sushi and sashimi we’d had was on Maui, but the Island Sushi really gave it a run for the money. The food was as good as it gets, and the prices were very reasonable. As much as we love Oscar’s Steakhouse, now when we stay at the Plaza Hotel our dinner decision is a difficult one!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“good sushi and good price”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

island sushi is in the old vegas area, it was in one of the hotels and though you will see ads for another place this is where you want ot go , you get great sushi for a nice price and comfortable atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank emanuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Local Food. The Poke Is Like Being in Hawaii”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

For those of you that don't know, "Local Food" is a term for Hawaiian food.

I really like Poke. If I can find it, I try it. there are many American restaurants that serve Poke. Most don't know how to make Poke like you find in Hawaii. Poke Express inside Island Sushi knows. They have so many varieties id is hard to decide. Poke is always fresh. Prices are fair.

This is usually my last stop before heading back to California. My family is excited when I pull in with a cooler full of Poke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Calif
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from The Cal”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice local food. This place is split between a fast food and a sit down room. We chose the fast food section and ordered fried noodles, mochiko chicken and some poke. Everything was "ono" and reasonably priced. The poke was very good and reminded me of being in Hawaii. They had several variations, including tako. I drove here from downtown Las Vegas only to realize there's a location inside The Plaza. I'll have to try the sushi there soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highloyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Island Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing