We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Hoover Dam”

Black Canyon River Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.99*
and up
Black Canyon River Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the beauty of the Black Canyon of the Colorado River. We offer a unique experience of smooth water rafting with professional guides and pilots. Experience the majesty of the canyon walls, keep an eye out for the eagles, big horn sheep, falcons, herons and more! Don't forget your camera!
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great way to see Hoover Dam”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We did the raft tour after a morning at the Grand Canyon with maverick helicopters. Dave our captain was really informative and knowledgable about the Hoover dam and the river. I would recommend a hat and bringing something to shield you from the extreme heat. Dave did fling some cold towels out to hose who wanted them (much appreciated!). Really good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Director of Sales at Black Canyon River Adventure, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the good review. It is definitely a fabulous view of the Hoover Dam! And that is just the beginning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    35
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

August 1st 2013.
Read lots of good reviews before booking. Myself, my wife, and three teenagers had a day of fun, excitement, and education. Our guide was Brian, knows lots, and if he doesn't he will make it up, kids are still quoting his one liners. Kids haven't stopped talking about it. I am disabled and they made every effort to make things easier for me, so I would say to any disabled person, don't dismiss it out of hand, talk to them. The trip may be possible and well worthwhile. You will get wet !
As for the reviews, well worth reading, but words are inadequate. A genuinely great experience for all the family.
Steve

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Director of Sales at Black Canyon River Adventure, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
"Fabulous Experience" Thank you, we love to hear that. And how much fun the teenagers had also. Definitely an experience for all ages. (hopefully they won't continue to use Brian's one liners for to long. ;-) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outdoor Nature Lovers Paradise!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Do not miss out on this tour! This is slow smooth water rafting and was perfect for me because I love being outdoors & nature! The landscape and colors of the canyon are so beautiful and left me sighing!!! We stopped and had lunch on a little beach along the way, with an option to swim in the really cold water, lol. I waded in the water(rock collector that i am) for some cool looking rocks. Along the way the guide gives you history on the area which was great.
Hats off to Scott our guide, very attractive, funny, passioniate person. Scott you had me at hello...
Christine Bohner

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cecea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Director of Sales at Black Canyon River Adventure, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
And believe it or not 30 miles from the Las Vegas strip. Thank you for the fabulous review and we will pass on your "Hello" to Scott!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must do!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great way of showing people that there is more to Vegas than the strip. We booked on-line and met at the Hacienda Hotel and were shuttled to the rafts near the base of the hoover dam. We had about 20 people in our group but the raft is made for 35. Our guide was Jerry, and he knew his stuff. He was knowledgeable and funny, and entertained the kids as well as the adults. The under 12's had to wear life vests, which made them a little uncomfortable due to the heat, until Jerry threw sopping wet towels at them, which they loved!! We stopped several times to get out of the boat. My 8 yr old and 1 brave adult went for a dip, but it is 52 degrees year round! The river was crystal clear, and the scenery was beautiful. We did see bighorn sheep and a peregrine falcon. The lunch provided was ok - at least the water was cold, and Jerry had a cooler to fill up with while on board. The price is a little steep, but it was an enjoyable day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2012natty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Director of Sales at Black Canyon River Adventure, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Definitely a "great way of showing people that there is more to Vegas than the strip"! Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this excursion based on the tripadivsor ratings. We loved it!

If you're looking for fast rapids, this isn't it.

Our tour guide was Dave and he is a treasure. Allow for about 4.5 hours from start to finish.

You meet up at the Hacienda Hotel/Casino. Around 10am, we all boarded buses for a very short trip to the Hoover Dam. The rafts are sturdy and comfortable. If you want the best seat, sit on the pontoons.

It was a HOT day when we went. About 105°. Dave had plenty of water to drink and cold, wet wash clothes to help us cool down. Wear sunscreen!

We took a leisurely trip from the Hoover Dam down the Colorado River. It was calm the whole time. We encountered many kayakers along the way.

Take lots of pictures! You are on the river with Nevada land on one side and Arizona on the other.

Highly recommend this excursion! We would love to do it again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrganizedChaosNoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, Director of Sales at Black Canyon River Adventure, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the great recommendation! It is a beautiful way to spend the day away from the city, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Canyon River Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Black Canyon River Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing