We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,021)
Filter reviews
18,021 results
Traveler rating
11,479
4,430
1,246
498
368
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,479
4,430
1,246
498
368
Show reviews that mention
All reviews non smoking market cafe corner suite short walk bellagio fountains panoramic suite non gaming hotel covered walkway blackout shades easy access other hotels small kitchen the sofa bed washer and dryer quiet hotel soaking tub monte carlo
Filter
Updating list...
16,051 - 16,056 of 18,021 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Vdara for 4 nights from 31/1/10. We've been to Vegas a number of times and always try to stay at a different hotel as there are so many fantastic places to choose from. This time the choice was between Vdara & Aria as we'd previously seen the CItyCenter development being built and decided we'd like to stay there. In the end we decided on Vdara but in hindsight feel the Aria may have been a better choice.

We arrived more or less bang on check-in time and the first thing we noticed was how quiet the lobby/reception area was, we were given a room on the 35th floor facing down the back of the strip looking towards The Mandalay Bay, however the room was still being cleaned at the time (we only found this out on arriving at the room). This wasn't a problem as we knew we were a bit early, however the maid must have forgotten to vacuum the floor which was quite a mess from the last guest, so we called reception to ask for the floor to be cleaned. Without hesitation the receptionist apologised and instead offered us an upgrade free of charge to the next level of suite on the 48th floor, which we thought was a fabulous gesture for a fairly minor problem. The room itself wasnt that different from the first one, however the view was out of this world - looking up the strip with the Palms & Rio to the left, Paris to the right, the Stratosphere & downtown straight ahead, and right below us The lake at Bellagio. The view in daylight was amazing, but at night it was truly spectacular, especially during the fountain shows.

The view was by far the biggest positive of our stay at Vdara, there were a few negatives, the worst of which occurred on our last morning so therefore left a lasting impression on our stay. For some unknown reason the in-room safe malfunctioned overnight and wouldn't open so i called reception who said they'd send someone immediately. To cut a long story short it took 2 phone calls, and a personal complaint at the reception desk before someone finally came to open the safe - almost 2 hours after the first call. What was particularly annoying was the guy who came said he'd only just had the call from reception and seemed genuinely shocked when told we'd been waiting so long. It was fortunate that we didnt have an early morning flight as passports etc were in there, but it ruined our plans for our last few hours in Vegas as we only had time to grab some food then head to the Airport.

If you like the hustle and bustle of a typical Vegas hotel such as the Bellagio or MGM Grand, then the Aria would be a better choice as we passed through it daily and it was much livelier. We were really surprised by how quiet this place was and whilst we knew there was no Casino here we couldnt believe there was only 2 bars, 1 restaurant and no gift or amenities shops. This is a beautiful hotel and the problems are mainly just teething ones in its early days, but we couldnt help but wonder how it will compete with its neighbours - you can walk down the strip without passing Vdara as its behind CityCenter, and there's nothing to draw you in either. In fact you could probably stay in Vegas without even knowing the place exists.

This would be a fantastic place for a get-away-from-it-all break, but thats not what you go to Vegas for is it ? However if going back to Vegas meant staying here, we'd be there in a heartbeat !!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodles013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Exquisite brand new hotel with all the extras we expect from a 5* boutique star establishment. I stayed there last week, with my husband, for 4 nights and now I’m home I can’t sleep in my own bed!! Those beds are simply the best I've ever had the pleasure to settle down in and the pillows are so magnificent I’m now trying to buy some from the supplier, even though I’ll have to pay a huge amount for postage it’ll be worth it.

Those Jo Malone (?) scented candles around Reception are perfect too!

The staff are all excellent with their friendly, approachable attitude and the whole transactions between staff and guests are completely seamless. The customer service is above and beyond the call of duty and a couple of tiny niggles were dealt with immediately and with such a good manner.

I totally agree with other comments about the $15 resort fee – it’s unnecessary and could possibly make guests decide not to bother since none of the other hotels charge it. But, in the great scheme of things, it’s not that much when you have a kitchen with ample equipment to make a meal and a great coffee machine and good sized refrigerator. Beakers/mugs are now supplied - management have obviously taken notice of our requests – and decaff coffee is supplied upon request.

We chose the Vdara because when we were in Vegas in December we were there for opening day and just loved the whole look and feel of it. We weren’t disappointed, namely because we had a full view of the Bellagio fountains without having to pay for the room with a view.

Just one complaint from 2 weary Brits who like to stay out late to gamble – PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE allow Vdara guests to return to their hotel via the Bellagio walkway after midnight. One night it took us over 40 minutes to traipse back to Crystals via the tram, then walk outside via Aria back to Vdara across a very wide walkway. I expect it’s to save money on having a full-time security person at the entrance but honestly that really hacked us off. And others too I overheard.

Good luck with your future business – you all deserve it for providing guests with the most outstanding luxury hotel and some of the most excellently trained staff.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We loved the location, shopping and restaurants!!! and the luxury of the room itself but sink would not drain properly and for that reason I would not/could not come back.... unless fixed:)

MGM Signature highly recommend, however if they fix the sinks then I'm back at the Vdara !!!! Although I love the patio of the Sig.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baboon812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were WOWed from beginning till end. Caitlyn really took care of us. Beautiful views.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPLCWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on the 47th floor. Quiet, and a great view both in the AM & PM. The staff from top to bottom was great and after only 2 days called me by name. The bed was amazinfg and we called it our cloud bed. A nice soaking tup, a large shower and tons of large absorbant towels. The lobby was quiet and yet only a 5 minute walk through a connected walkway to Bellagio for the action.

Not having a casino, smoking, tons of activity all lea dto a great time. And yet we went to shows, ate out, gambled etc. A perfect Las Vegas experience.

Date of stay: January 2010
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank pes7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews