We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW--Eye popping hotel!!!”
Review of Vdara Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vdara Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We arrived at Vdara in the new City Center Las Vegas anticipating a great stay--but a bit concerned because some of the reviews weren't great. Anyone who reviews this hotel badly I honestly just don't get it.
First of all it is new and VERY stylish so my wife LOVED it! The moment we walked in the door the great smell hit us and was so refreshing. The doormen were VERY friendly and whisked our bags away. We arrived around 3:00--their busiest time to check in and we had no problems. It was our anniversary so we asked for an upgrade--and we GOT one--no charge. We were on the 46th floor over-looking the Bellagio fountain and WHAT A VIEW of both the fountain, the strip and the mountains.
We went up to the room and were blown away when we entered as to how beautiful and awesome it was. While we were checking out the bathroom about 30 seconds after our arrival I thought I heard a doorbell ring and sure enough it was Joe with our bags! He gave a great presentation/rundown of our room and the facility and was SO dang friendly--as everyone at this hotel was!
The next morning we had booked a couples massage at the Vdara Spa and we SO recommend that! The spa staff was friendly and got us set up prior to our massages where we could relax beforehand. I took a 30 minute steam sauna then met my wife for a cup of hot tea then we went in for our massage. Being a guy I had never done that before and MAN I CAN'T WAIT TO DO IT AGAIN!!! Spoil yourself and try it! I was STUPID relaxed afterwards! When the massage was over our massage therapists (mine was named Cassie--very good--just the right pressure) put us in a meditation room that had trickling water and was VERY relaxing. Then I hit the steam sauna again for 30 minutes to finish out the experience. It was awesome and SO worth it.
Our room had a mini kitchen that we did not use but we were offered plates, flatware, etc. if we needed it. We called for turn-down service every evening when we left the hotel to go out and our water was always replenished and the bed turned down. The light swithes were a little funky but it certainly does not take a rocket scientist to figure it out. There is a "do not disturb" and "maid service" light on the door that is very nice.
It is tucked back in-between the rear of the Bellagio and the new Aria resort. The Aria is a quick five-minute walk and it is worth seeing as well. Very nice. Access to the strip was easy either through Aria or Bellago.
All in all we absolutely LOVED this hotel AND the spa and cannot wait to get back there again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WYOMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,611 - 14,617 of 16,455 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Vdara for 4 nights from 31/1/10. We've been to Vegas a number of times and always try to stay at a different hotel as there are so many fantastic places to choose from. This time the choice was between Vdara & Aria as we'd previously seen the CItyCenter development being built and decided we'd like to stay there. In the end we decided on Vdara but in hindsight feel the Aria may have been a better choice.

We arrived more or less bang on check-in time and the first thing we noticed was how quiet the lobby/reception area was, we were given a room on the 35th floor facing down the back of the strip looking towards The Mandalay Bay, however the room was still being cleaned at the time (we only found this out on arriving at the room). This wasn't a problem as we knew we were a bit early, however the maid must have forgotten to vacuum the floor which was quite a mess from the last guest, so we called reception to ask for the floor to be cleaned. Without hesitation the receptionist apologised and instead offered us an upgrade free of charge to the next level of suite on the 48th floor, which we thought was a fabulous gesture for a fairly minor problem. The room itself wasnt that different from the first one, however the view was out of this world - looking up the strip with the Palms & Rio to the left, Paris to the right, the Stratosphere & downtown straight ahead, and right below us The lake at Bellagio. The view in daylight was amazing, but at night it was truly spectacular, especially during the fountain shows.

The view was by far the biggest positive of our stay at Vdara, there were a few negatives, the worst of which occurred on our last morning so therefore left a lasting impression on our stay. For some unknown reason the in-room safe malfunctioned overnight and wouldn't open so i called reception who said they'd send someone immediately. To cut a long story short it took 2 phone calls, and a personal complaint at the reception desk before someone finally came to open the safe - almost 2 hours after the first call. What was particularly annoying was the guy who came said he'd only just had the call from reception and seemed genuinely shocked when told we'd been waiting so long. It was fortunate that we didnt have an early morning flight as passports etc were in there, but it ruined our plans for our last few hours in Vegas as we only had time to grab some food then head to the Airport.

If you like the hustle and bustle of a typical Vegas hotel such as the Bellagio or MGM Grand, then the Aria would be a better choice as we passed through it daily and it was much livelier. We were really surprised by how quiet this place was and whilst we knew there was no Casino here we couldnt believe there was only 2 bars, 1 restaurant and no gift or amenities shops. This is a beautiful hotel and the problems are mainly just teething ones in its early days, but we couldnt help but wonder how it will compete with its neighbours - you can walk down the strip without passing Vdara as its behind CityCenter, and there's nothing to draw you in either. In fact you could probably stay in Vegas without even knowing the place exists.

This would be a fantastic place for a get-away-from-it-all break, but thats not what you go to Vegas for is it ? However if going back to Vegas meant staying here, we'd be there in a heartbeat !!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodles013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Exquisite brand new hotel with all the extras we expect from a 5* boutique star establishment. I stayed there last week, with my husband, for 4 nights and now I’m home I can’t sleep in my own bed!! Those beds are simply the best I've ever had the pleasure to settle down in and the pillows are so magnificent I’m now trying to buy some from the supplier, even though I’ll have to pay a huge amount for postage it’ll be worth it.

Those Jo Malone (?) scented candles around Reception are perfect too!

The staff are all excellent with their friendly, approachable attitude and the whole transactions between staff and guests are completely seamless. The customer service is above and beyond the call of duty and a couple of tiny niggles were dealt with immediately and with such a good manner.

I totally agree with other comments about the $15 resort fee – it’s unnecessary and could possibly make guests decide not to bother since none of the other hotels charge it. But, in the great scheme of things, it’s not that much when you have a kitchen with ample equipment to make a meal and a great coffee machine and good sized refrigerator. Beakers/mugs are now supplied - management have obviously taken notice of our requests – and decaff coffee is supplied upon request.

We chose the Vdara because when we were in Vegas in December we were there for opening day and just loved the whole look and feel of it. We weren’t disappointed, namely because we had a full view of the Bellagio fountains without having to pay for the room with a view.

Just one complaint from 2 weary Brits who like to stay out late to gamble – PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE allow Vdara guests to return to their hotel via the Bellagio walkway after midnight. One night it took us over 40 minutes to traipse back to Crystals via the tram, then walk outside via Aria back to Vdara across a very wide walkway. I expect it’s to save money on having a full-time security person at the entrance but honestly that really hacked us off. And others too I overheard.

Good luck with your future business – you all deserve it for providing guests with the most outstanding luxury hotel and some of the most excellently trained staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We loved the location, shopping and restaurants!!! and the luxury of the room itself but sink would not drain properly and for that reason I would not/could not come back.... unless fixed:)

MGM Signature highly recommend, however if they fix the sinks then I'm back at the Vdara !!!! Although I love the patio of the Sig.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baboon812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were WOWed from beginning till end. Caitlyn really took care of us. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPLCWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on the 47th floor. Quiet, and a great view both in the AM & PM. The staff from top to bottom was great and after only 2 days called me by name. The bed was amazinfg and we called it our cloud bed. A nice soaking tup, a large shower and tons of large absorbant towels. The lobby was quiet and yet only a 5 minute walk through a connected walkway to Bellagio for the action.

Not having a casino, smoking, tons of activity all lea dto a great time. And yet we went to shows, ate out, gambled etc. A perfect Las Vegas experience.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank pes7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The facilities are new, clean, great location. BUT, I have never had such poor service. Being woken up at 8 a.m. and asked by the housekeeper what time we were leaving, being told to stand in single file at the registration desk, waiting 10 minutes for room service to answer their phone, and 2 hours for a salt shaker.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#18 of 265 in Las Vegas
25,006 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 265 in Las Vegas
13,028 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#30 of 265 in Las Vegas
30,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vdara Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vdara Hotel & Spa

Address: 2600 W. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#5 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#11 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $158 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vdara Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 1495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do Vegas differently and escape to Vdara Hotel & Spa at ARIA Las Vegas. This breathtaking eco-friendly, non-gaming, smoke-free, all-suite retreat by MGM Resorts International is unlike any other hotel on The Strip. Vdara Hotel & Spa is steps away from ARIA Resort & Casino and connected to Bellagio. Vdara is also a half-mile from the Roller Coaster at New York New York, and 1 mile from the Forum Shops. Amenities in suite kitchens/kitchenettes include refrigerators, stove-tops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils (upon request). The resort fee is added to all room reservations upon check-in. Hotel resort fee includes: high-speed Internet access (in-suite), local & toll-free calls, Fitness Center access, newspaper available daily, two bottles of water per day, and turndown service upon request. Vdara is also dog-friendly (not pet-friendly) and welcomes dogs up to 70lbs, or two dogs with a combined weight of 70lbs. There is an additional $50 per night fee per V Dog reservation along with $75 per stay non-refundable cleaning fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vdara Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vdara Hotel And Spa
Vdara Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing