We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated and relaxing”
Review of Vdara Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Vdara Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and relaxing”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I greatly enjoyed my recent 3-night stay at Vdara. I had a King Suite on the 17th floor with a view of the Aria across the street and the pool below. The room(s) was clean and very spacious, featuring a truly separate bedroom and full bath, as well as a sizeable sitting area, a kitchenette/dinning area, and powder room. The bath was huge. I appreciated the kitchenette and in-room washer-dryer (nice to take home clean cloths). The furniture was dark woods with sleek, modern lines, and comfortable.

Staff was friendly and helpful. I never doubted I was at a 5 star facility.

The location - slightly removed from the Strip, but easy walking distance from Aria, the Bellagio, and the Strip itself - was convenient, and I preferred not being in a casino. It was quiet and relaxing.

Minor point deductions:
a) one of the overhead lights in the dining area was burned out, and was never replaced during my stay (although I never specifically noted it to staff);
b) the WiFi required me to log back in after almost any brief interruption in use;
c) there was no support for an iPod or other portable electronics (e.g. no clock radio or stereo with a dock), although this is now common in many lesser hotels;
d) the headboard in my friend's room featured built-in outlets on either side, but these were not present in my room (and only one outlet was conveniently accessible) - more outlets would be nice;
e) the provided clock radio was unplugged, and I couldn't access the outlet (behind the headboard/nightstand) to plug it back in;
f) one of the bathroom sinks seemed only put out warm to hot water, and wouldn't dispense cold water after it had been warm (the other worked just fine); and
g) housekeeping failed to provide new complementary water after my first night (although I have no doubt this would have been quickly rectified had I mentioned it to the front desk).

See? Minor. And to be fair, I never complained about any of these to the staff, because they were insignificant to my overall enjoyment.

I would certainly come again. Vdara is certainly more expensive than some of the other hotels in the area, but from what little I saw of these other venues, Vdara's difference in quality clearly exceeded its difference in price.

I believe it was an excellent value and experience.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a view of the Bellagio fountains from some rooms. I did not have one of these room...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel & sheet renewal program was fine. The supply was plentiful, and replacements were provided without problem.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VdaraHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Vdara Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Greg J,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us. At Vdara, we are committed to providing an exceptional level of service to our guests and that seems to be exactly what you experienced. Thank you for your constructive feedback as well, our guests' feedback is the best way for us to continually improve our services. The accessible outlet problem you described is already being addressed as we are in the process of adding headboard outlets to all rooms, like in your friends. Thank you for choosing to stay at Vdara and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Conor
Vdara Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,118
    3,907
    1,010
    379
    273
See reviews for
2,463
7,530
521
1,928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you want to be close enough to the action on the strip without having it surrounding you inside the hotel. There is no casino, and no restaurant that i could see. But a 1 minute walk across the street bring you in to Aria hotel with all its Vegas madness. I liked the chalm feel to Vdara, but if you are looking for a hedonistic vegas experience maybe try somewhere else. 1 thing i didnt like was the hotel pool Too small and nothing special really

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesureman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room itself was lovely. We didn’t get a Strip View but we had a good view of the city, the mountains and the horizon which gave us great access to watching the lightning storm that happened during a monsoon.

The hotel itself is very small with the only food being a small (and pricey market). That wasn’t much of an issue as there was access to the Aria and the Bellagio that was relatively painless. I liked that about the place, because it made going to/from the hotel really easy and gave us decent access to the Strip. So location was perfect.


My main pet peeves were the following:
a) The fridge. It wouldn’t close properly unless you slammed it so I lost quite a bit of food. The staff did take a bit off my resort fee for the trouble.
b) Housekeeping, the first day they didn’t show up until late afternoon. We did figure out that if we called and requested they come up “early” like after 11 a.m., they would clean your room a bit sooner.
c) Wifi. It works great on mobile devices (iPad, iphone, etc) but it was extremely spotty on my laptop. I called tech support 3-4 times and they couldn’t do much but of course the minute they picked up the phone after being on hold, my wifi on my laptop began working. To add insult to injury, the hotel tacked those calls onto my bill! They did promptly reverse them though.

I admit, I really liked the hotel, it was clean, the bed was awesome and very inviting. The bathroom was nice and clean. I might want to stay there again one day. My problems were irksome but fixable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stimpee525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms are spacious. Very clean and relaxing atmosphere. Perfect for couples, families, friends, etc. Pool is smaller but still enough room to move around without feeling over crowded. Drinks are a little pricey but its vegas!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 588kristals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Vdara was built as condominiums, which explains why the suites are so large and have mini-kitchens. Apparently condominium owners rent out their suites most of the year. The room was immaculate and worthy of its 5 star rating. I chose this hotel because it has no casino (Las Vegas allows smoking, including cigar smoking, in its casinos) but the Bellagio is right next door across and walkway and Caesar's Palace is one more hotel over. So you don't have all the frat boys in their tank tops in your hotel but can visit whenever you want. There is an elegant although not spectacular bar in the lobby that is less expensive than other high end hotel bars and has a limited selection of excellent small plate foods. I didn't use the pool but it looked fine. Two minor problems kept this from a top rating. The hotel is hard to find, up a ramp in the City Center complex, so you should have a good GPS system with you. The other problem was that, unlike most hotels, there were no linens or blankets in the room for the pull-out bed. I did not discover this until 11:30 p.m. and after two calls to housekeeping, I had to go to the lobby where there was a giant line and the bellman's desk told me it wasn't their job. After they finally arrived, the pull-out mattress was extremely uncomfortable with no padding on top of the springs. It was just weird that a fancy hotel would have such cheap warehouse style mattresses. The valet parking was free and I didn't feel any pressure from lobby vultures wanting tips; if anything this hotel seems understaffed. The price was very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again but if you are the type who likes the loud all night atmosphere of Vegas, you might prefer something else.

Room Tip: Watch out if you need to use the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Positives :
Suite is very nice - nice earthtones, simple but stylish, great pillows.
Turndown staff are excellent.

Negatives :
Front desk staff AWFUL. Long waits for checkin. Vague. Condescending. Unacceptable.
Concierge incompetent and not attentive. Sent me on a wild goose chase to a close store. Could be bothered.
Slight sewer smell in bathroom.

Overall - NEEDS IMPROVEMENT. Big time. I'd give it a C+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hegira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VdaraHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Vdara Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Hegira,

Thank you for taking the time to document your concerns. On behalf of the hotel I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered regarding the front desk and concierge during your stay. At Vdara we make every effort to provide an exceptional experience for our guests and your treatment does not seem indicative of that standard. A member of out guest relations team will be reaching out to further discuss your experience. We value you as a guest and assure you we continually work to improve our services. We hope you will give us a second chance in the near future.

Best Regards,
Conor
Vdara Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great staff overall. Very clean. I loved that it did not have a casino and it's a non smoking hotel. It's great place if you are taking kids. They don't have to deal with the smoke or gambling areas. Only thing is, if someone is sleeping in the sofa bed you need to ask for a feather top with extra comforters so your back won't hurt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,599 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vdara Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vdara Hotel & Spa

Property: Vdara Hotel & Spa
Address: 2600 W. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#5 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vdara Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do Vegas differently and escape to Vdara Hotel & Spa at ARIA Las Vegas. This breathtaking eco-friendly, non-gaming, smoke-free, all-suite retreat by MGM Resorts International is unlike any other hotel on The Strip. Vdara Hotel & Spa is steps away from ARIA Resort & Casino and connected to Bellagio. Vdara is also a half-mile from the Roller Coaster at New York New York, and 1 mile from the Forum Shops. Amenities in suite kitchens/kitchenettes include refrigerators, stove-tops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils (upon request). The resort fee is added to all room reservations upon check-in. Hotel resort fee includes: high-speed Internet access (in-suite), local & toll-free calls, Fitness Center access, newspaper available daily, two bottles of water per day, and turndown service upon request. Vdara is also dog-friendly (not pet-friendly) and welcomes dogs up to 70lbs, or two dogs with a combined weight of 70lbs. There is an additional $50 per night fee per V Dog reservation along with $75 per stay non-refundable cleaning fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vegas.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Vdara Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vdara Hotel And Spa
Vdara Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing