We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider it a boutique Condo-hotel, with very limited extras, poor reception staff, difficult way-finding from the Strip”
Review of Vdara Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Vdara Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Consider it a boutique Condo-hotel, with very limited extras, poor reception staff, difficult way-finding from the Strip”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in Vdara as a part of our Grand Canyon trip, to fulfill my partner's one of the dream bucket lists. Then, we thought we would give LV a try.

We are no gamblers, don't drink much, but we are interested in the whole artificial setting in a city scale, in the desert, and we are also interested in how the tourists sustain its existence, through ups and downs.

The City Center was formerly the site of Boardwalk hotel and a Bellagio staff parking lot before the whole area is redeveloped in 2005, initiated by MGM with Dubai money. The development include Cosmopolitan. Aria, Vdara(Condo hotel) and Mandarin Oriental and its residence towers.

The location is undoutedly the best. But, remember that, in Las Vegas, you just walk at least 20-30 min. just to get through a hotel on the strip without getting distracted. This is an ideal location for a casual tourist, like us, who doesn't spend time in Casinos and who just have 2-3 days to get around.

Particularly, Aria appeared to be the better sister to Vdara, and has a nice modern casino and posh restaurants, tall ceilings in public levels, but better and more luxurious interior decoration didn't mean much, once we spotted prostitutes and female pimps arranged by the casino staff.
_______________
(difficult to access from the strip)
Strangely, both Aria and Vdara, sharing its arrival/valet area on the second level from the strip, the access is more easy with the car than walking pedestrians.
The signs were hard to find or follow to get to Vdara from the street. And, the lobby and elevator hall, situated on the second level, was hard to get to, and it really takes 15 min to get back from the strip on foot.
_______________
(No extra features)
For Vdara, other than the hotel front desk, and the compulsory valet parking service policy, there is no real contact with the staff as they do not have any feature! Someone below mentioned, lacking Soul, and I totally agree with his perception.

The canteen is the only food and drink source in the building. Operated as self-service but very slow, and they close early! In the morning, we feel forced to compromise a lot, in limited seating area, and the breakfast menu option was not great. Coffee and Snack kinds. But their pasty and coffee, smoothies are expensive, but very good.

The gym, included in your extra service fee, was inside the spa and doesn't look inviting, also limited numbers of weight training sets.
_______________
(extra charges)
I already accepted the water bottles, gym, internet, Valet parking as the extra compulsory charge at a set price. But, the management probably knew the guests don't use much of these features. We still tip a lot to the valet parking guys each time, or they keep you in the lobby for a very long while. But, including the extra fee, it still is a good bargain compared to others with shabby rooms in a distant location.
_______________
(issues with front desk)
The front desk receptionists can be really nice or nasty, depending on who to talk to. We, initially ran into some really nasty Chinese staff who refused to confirm and hold our room when we called from Grand Canyon, to notify our midnight arrival in the same night. -but, the room was already paid through their website! And, other than the apologetic manager who sort out this matter, we had to give tips to other receptionists only to re-confirm the room type when we arrived for additional night check-in (facing higher floor, the Bellagio fountain facing at already set prices). Then the room was not ready still at 4pm as promised. Although tipped, she did nothing until I called the hotel at 4:15pm. After another hour and half, we were allocated to the slightly disappointing lower level location.

There is a cocktail bar, in the lobby, but I have seen only one guy using it for one afternoon, otherwise, it was inactive. Another Lounge type room was closed, next to the foot bridge to The Bellagio.
_______________
Closely located to the Strip is a plus, but, poor wayfinding from the ground level to return to the lobby was tough each night, and walking through the parking entrance of the Cosmopolitan, climbing on to the windy and isolated staircase next to the fire station are rather humiliating and very inconsiderate.

For the rating, I would still give 4.5 out of 5, IF this was in NYC or Chicago in a boutique hotel category. But, I am giving 3.5-4, considering Other hotels' exceedingly high standard and Vdara's accomodation-only ANNEX approach to Aria, lacking the quality services. Vdara's poor reception experience and stiff-faced valet parking staff need big improvement.

However, although I point out some flaws and disappointment, compared to Hilton, MGM signature, and dingy northern strip hotels, or even Planet Hollywood hotel rooms, this is far superior option for many travelers for its location and the great room fittings. You will still keep your dignity and find a tranquility for several hours each night after experiencing the double-faced Sin city with excess of everything.

Room Tip: A good price hotel, without compromising the locations, and the room quality. Choose North facing, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank One_Big_Hopping_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10,117
    3,905
    1,009
    379
    273
See reviews for
2,461
7,528
521
1,927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent location. Everything is brand new and sparkling. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avenuealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed at the Vdara hotel from Jan 7th to the 11th, 2012. I cam to Vegas for the affiliate summit internet advertising show.
I was looking forr a hotel that was close to the Caesar's Palace at a decent price. CES was starting up on the 11th so prices were up for the week i was interested in. The first two nice were very reasonableee at $190 a night for a corner suite. Then on Monday, the price went to $300 a night and they wanted $900 a night for the rest of the week. Tip, try to stay away from Vegas when CES rolls around. I really didnt have a choice since my show was adjacent.
The Room was absolutely amazing. I was not expecting such a large suit. It had a full chicken with a dish washer and huge fridge. The bathroom was even bigger, with a large shower and beautiful bath tub right by the window with a full panoramic view of the mountains and strip. There was a comfortable living room with a nice 46'' LCD and and equaly large bed room with another 46'' LCD. The room feels like an apartment. The space is really well used. i was sad to leave the room. The design is simply beautiful and functional. Also, forgot to mention that there is a washer and dryer in one of the closets. The view is gorgeous. I got to see the strip as well as the surrounding mountains in the horizon.

I used the gym just about every day. Its well equipt and has just about everything you need for a workout on the road.

I ate at the bar downstairs the first night i came in. The pizza is not very good, dont get it. The crust was stale and the cheese tasted like it came out of a can. The bar tender was very nice. Also, watch out if you eat alone. a really scanky looking women sat next to me. I am sure she was a prostitute. I hear this happens a lot in vegas and that the hotel gets a cut. was surprised to see here in this type of hotel, as it does not have a casino and is more of a business hotel. In any case, it really uncomfortable when you have a prostitute sitting next to trying to solicit you.

The hotel has a walkway to the belagio. Thus you can get from the Vdara to the Ceasers really easily walking through the belagio.

This is a smoke free hotel which is a real treat for those of you who dont like the smell of cigarettes. The lobby actually smells like a spa, which is very soothing.
I also ate at the Vdara market downstairs which was a great solution for a quicj breakfast or lunch. The southern sandwich was great and soups were amazing. Very fresh and the prices are decent relative to other places around.
I stayed at the trump last year during the same dates. There is no comparison, this places trumps, the Trump ;). The service is better, the prices are lower, the location is more fun, and rooms are jusy beyond.
I will be coming here on my next Vegas trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

So nice to have the bussel of Vegas and then come back to a smoke free,clean and civilized hotel. The rooms are a good size and the beds are super comfy. If you are lazy and don't want to walk more than 100 meters don't stay here. We liked walking through Belagio or Aria to get to the strip. The cafe downstairs is a bit ordinary just use it for convenience items. Loved the in room wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccersam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I only stayed for one night ....

The room was great, nice views and well appointed.

I didn't realise this when I booked but its a "casino free" hotel which is really nice when you need to escape all the bells and flashing lights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justythetesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night mid December and thought the hotel was excellent. Having stayed in Vegas before at the other end of the strip we really liked the location of Vdara being right next door to both Aria & Crystals. One of the main reasons we liked the hotel so much was because of its proximity to excellent restaurants in both Aria & Crystals. We loved that Vdara is smoke free and it doesnt really have a big proper lobby bar...which means its a little more low key but close to everywhere you might want to eat or party (ie cosmo).

The one drawback that we didnt care for was the lack of cutlery in the apartment/hotel room. We got a salad from Aria one day and waited for over 30 mins to have some cutlery brought up to the room.....really?! Why have a full mini kitchen with a stove-top and full size fridge if I dont have any cutlery? A proactive solution to this might be to ask my on arrival if I would like cutlery etc for my stay....

The room was very spacious, clean and extremely modern. We wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. My couple of restaurant tips for you to consider are:

-American Fish
-Social house for exceptionally delicious japanese happy hour & out of this world coffee from Jona (the best barista in Vegas!)
-Jaleo (much better than Julian Serrano-in our opinion)
-Holsteins for a delicious burger
-Scarpetta for delicious affordable fresh pasta

Lastly...if you want to get to the other end of the strip to the Fashion Mall or to check out the gorgeous Wynn hotels you can jump on a Trump shuttle at the basement of Caesars Palace....but trust me the walk wont be quick & easy...no walk seems to be along the strip in Vegas!

Room Tip: A quiet room the furtherest from the elevator on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The suites were impeccably clean, and the kitchenette at the entry gave us a lot of hard surfaces on which we could safely leave our luggage. Nicely designed, beautiful bathroom. The lobby was also very modern and pleasant, and it was a relief to come into a calm, smoke-free environment. In the morning, there was a long line (during the busy Christmas/New Year's week anyway) for breakfast at the little lobby coffee shop, where the food and coffee were fine. The weak spot was service. We had to wait forever to check in and when we needed to have the sofa bed made up, we waited over an hour and a half for housekeeping and finally had to go down to the front desk ourselves to get the bedding and made it up ourselves! That's for youth hostels, not would-be chic hotels that charge $200 night for suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,574 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vdara Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vdara Hotel & Spa

Property: Vdara Hotel & Spa
Address: 2600 W. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#5 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vdara Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do Vegas differently and escape to Vdara Hotel & Spa at ARIA Las Vegas. This breathtaking eco-friendly, non-gaming, smoke-free, all-suite retreat by MGM Resorts International is unlike any other hotel on The Strip. Vdara Hotel & Spa is steps away from ARIA Resort & Casino and connected to Bellagio. Vdara is also a half-mile from the Roller Coaster at New York New York, and 1 mile from the Forum Shops. Amenities in suite kitchens/kitchenettes include refrigerators, stove-tops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils (upon request). The resort fee is added to all room reservations upon check-in. Hotel resort fee includes: high-speed Internet access (in-suite), local & toll-free calls, Fitness Center access, newspaper available daily, two bottles of water per day, and turndown service upon request. Vdara is also dog-friendly (not pet-friendly) and welcomes dogs up to 70lbs, or two dogs with a combined weight of 70lbs. There is an additional $50 per night fee per V Dog reservation along with $75 per stay non-refundable cleaning fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Domestic, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Vegas.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Vdara Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vdara Hotel And Spa
Vdara Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing