We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed...anywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #2 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed...anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

From start to finish this is the best hotel I have every had the opportunity to experience. Every member of the staff always had a smile on their face and was always more than willing to help you with anything you needed. Then, once they had accomplished helping you with anything you needed, they went above and beyond to anticipate what else you might need and more. The sky lobby was beautiful and it is nice not to enter a Vegas hotel and be bombarded by crazy casino happenings. The valets at the hotel entrance were outstanding and getting you setup. The front desk staff were were very helpful and treated you just right from the start. They also make sure to explain the hotel layout, services and the elevators(which really aren't that complicated if you just take a moment to think about them.).

The rooms are outstanding and was the definition of how I would like my house wired technologically. Everything is connected through an iPad/Tablet style remote on your bedside nightstand. From there (or through the television) you can control both sets of curtains, lights in any part of the room, temperature, sleep timer and wake up alarms and more. It really adds that amazing experience to the room. The rooms are well decorated, the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is huge with separate shower, bath tub and toilet room. Dual sinks, huge mirror space with television embedded in the corner. There is a valet closet so if you require services but don't want to be disturbed you can make use of the valet closet to accomplish those tasks. Housekeeping and turn down service was also amazing. Not only do they make sure to tidy up the room and restock everything and anything to keep all your supplies fresh(towels, soaps, shampoos, etc.) but they also take the time to straighten out your shoes, organize your bathroom counter space and toiletries, and essentially clean up every little mess for you. Incredible!

MOzen Bistro was delicious for breakfast. The salon was very accommodating and helpful, even when you try to sneak an appointment for services the day of without making a prior appointment(Thank you Josette in the Salon for taking care of Charmaine and dying her hair.) The pool is beautifully appointed and quiet which is nice to just relax. We had a cabana and were well taken care of by Sara who was always in the right place at the right time to serve us.

The bottom line comes down to one simple fact. It is a bit more expensive than your average hotel on the strip. However, if you want outstanding, quality service at every turn... If you want a beautiful and extremely comfortable room... If you want to be able to pull away from the crazy Vegas atmosphere to relax but still be able to access any of many reasons a person visits sin city... Then pay the extra money and stay at the Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas. The money is well worth feeling like a VIP every moment of your stay.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms have great views respective of their position in the building, however we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,683
    636
    185
    55
    45
See reviews for
762
2,895
268
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We where picked up at the airport and driven to the Mandarin oriental where we received a friendly welcome and cool bottled water (a welcome relief). The view from the check-in desk is breathtaking and gives you a teasing glimpse of the strip towards Fremont st and beyond. All the staff where very attentive and well trained in Asian courtesy. The smoke free Casino free environment is a welcome escape at the end of the day and the detail that the housekeeping staff maintain each day to provide a welcoming/calming environment on entering your room sets the hotels tone for attention to detail. Beds where very comfortable and the pillows where even better, the bathroom was well equipped and I would recommend taking time out to relax in the bath tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I like to stay in mandarins . The Vegas mandarin on my test best hotel in Vegas . Because its small , no casino!!! Best service for everything. But one serious problem in bistro Mozen. I been 4+3 times at breakfast . Food in that bistro it's not mandarin standard . Oatmeal big portion but not testy. Egs nuntooket not testy, eggs ranchero not testy.its not only my opinion. My wife and several friends have same problem.

Room Tip: All room is very good and of course best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and picked this hotel due mainly to there not being a casino. Lovely immaculate hotel throughout. Our room was very comfortable with the best bed I've ever slept in. Loved little room features such as a low level night light in the bathroom and an electronic privacy light. All controlled by a touch screen device by the bed. The pool area is very nice with excellent food and drink service. The spa looked nice also but very expensive. Only minor faults I could find was a half used shampoo bottle on arrival and also room service took a little long (over an hour) to collect our beakfast tray after advising them it was finished. But overall we loved the design and modern feel of this hotel and would stay here again on a return to Vegas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoy Mandarin Oriental (MO) hotels in Europe and Asia, but had not found one in the US that we liked, until our stay in Vegas. (We tried NY and Miami and then gave up).

Most importantly - It is entirely smoke free and as it is new, none of the rooms have the old smell of tobacco that you sometimes get in hotels that change to non-smoking!

The lobby is on the 23rd Floor and the hotel rooms are below this. Above are apartments.

Unlike staying in many hotels in Vegas (And boy have we stayed in a few!) you don't need to walk through a Casino or shopping strip to get to your room. Taxi straight to the door and then up to the 'sky lobby' and then down to your room in secure lifts. The nearest casino was about a 1 minute walk from the door.

The junior suite we stayed in was strange in shape, but like the MO in Hong Kong in styling- richly furnished with dark wooden furniture and a luxurious bathroom and looked down the strip from several windows. The remote control for the television controlled everything- blinds/ lights/ DND - very cool indeed.

I would recommend it highly. Like all hotels in Vegas with 5 stars, it offers a level of room comfort which you cannot get for this price anywhere else in the world (except perhaps Macau!)

Room Tip: We had a room on the strip on level 11 and there was no noise in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A balancing act…. And we lost.

We stayed at the MO Las Vegas recently to celebrate our anniversary. (We are partial to the Four Seasons but they were fully booked – recession? What recession?) We generally look for a quality hotel and a quiet, sun filled pool with great service. The MO delivered on the first but not the second.

Pros:
Early check in accommodated easily. We had a delightful lunch at MOzen Bistro while waiting about 30 minutes for our keys to be delivered.
Quality pool - great protection from the wind, nice angles to the sun, plenty of umbrellas & misters and comfy chaises.
Outstanding service pool side (excluding the issue listed below). The bartender was flexible & adapted a menu drink to my taste and breakfast was fabulous.
Late checkout (1 extra hour) granted.
Easy access to Aria, City Center and Cosmopolitan and centrally located on the strip.

Cons:
There were loud, obnoxious guests in the cabana next to us. (They partied with their music & beverages Wet Republic style. If we wanted that, we would have stayed at The Signature.) Comments to our shared waiter were hopeless. He did try repeatedly (& unsuccessfully) to turn their music down. I finally went upstairs & called the Front Desk. (They indicated they would talk with the pool manager and would “comp” us our lunch from the previous day.) After my call, MO still did not address the group. The pool manager had to see and hear the issue! We listened to the conflict of their rap & the piped in MO “soothing “music for almost 4 hours before leaving. I know, I know - why did we stay – because we had paid for the cabana & had wanted to enjoy our only full day in Vegas. We kept hoping they would burn out (pass out drunk) but no such luck. The MO choose to allow that group to party at the expense (& relaxation) of the three dozen other guests nearby. (I saw the looks of frustration.) In retrospect, we should have asked to move to a different cabana.

Once our headaches subsided, we began noticing the nitpicky things – frayed bath towels, half empty toiletries, burned out lights in the bathroom, no turn down service. If you want ice in your room – you must call the front desk. All of these are little things in the big picture but can make or break a 5-star rating.

The Mandarin Oriental is a quality hotel but I wanted a quiet, relaxing poolside weekend. They didn’t deliver.

Room Tip: We had a strip view suite on the 11th floor. The rooms were triangles and the narrow halls but a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just spent one night at this hotel - it was enough. Rooms typical Las Vegas - have stayed in much nicer i.e. Wynn, Vdara. We had a late flight home and could not be offered a late check out. We were told - Use the showers by the pool. I have travelled the world and have never up until now not had a room made available - every other hotel in Vegas has let us keep our original booked room. My husband ordered a newspaper - which never arrived. This hotel is rather pretentious and quite ordinary. I would not recommend or return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,949 reviews
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22,991 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,337 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only nine triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing