We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good high-end hotel, but at this price was expecting more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at the MO-LV for 3 nights during Xmas 2011 for a family reunion. At that time, it was Tripadvisor's top rated hotel in Las Vegas and as far as I can tell - the most expensive hotel in Las Vegas as well. For that reason, I'm going to be extra-picky in my review.

There's no casino at this hotel, so it's very quiet, almost too quiet in the public spaces. There's only 2 restaurants in the hotel - the fine-dining restaurant for dinner and the more casual place for breakfast/lunch/dinner. That's in contrast to the other big hotels in town with ~10 restaurants.

The bell-hops are very friendly and were good at answering my questions. A downside is that there is no self-parking at this hotel, only at the adjacent Aria hotel. Another negative is that that the only car entrances are on the strip so you'll be stuck in traffic for at least a couple of blocks. There are no car entrances on the side streets. The ground level entrance only has a small sitting area and the elevators to the main lobby on the 23rd floor.

When you get out of the elevator, you face a dramatic ground to ceiling geometric wall installation. The main lobby on the 23rd floor has a nice view of the strip, but its also not large. There are a few sitting areas between the check-in area and their cocktail lounge. They serve you a cup of special tea during check-in. The tea was tasty but I felt the service wasn't particularly engaging. The guest rooms are actually below the lobby so you take another elevator down to your room. That's one negative - to get outside you need to take 2 elevators - one up to the lobby & then another down to ground level.

I got a standard room with a view of the strip.The view was so-so, it was definitely of the strip - looking at the Crystals mall, Paris Hotel & Planet Hollywood hotel. But it wasn't facing the more interesting spectacles like Bellagio or Treasure Island.

As expected, it's a very nice room with high-tech controls for the lights, drapery, weather information, room bills, etc. - on the touch-screen pad next to the bed and the flat-panel TV. The decor is in dark wood, creme colored wallpaper and cocoa-colored fabrics. The headboard of the bed was this curtain made of jade-like pieces. Neat. The bed was very comfortable. There are nice robes & slippers, as expected of an Asian-influenced hotel. The flat-panel TV had a lot of HD channels which is good. Below the TV is both a stocked mini-bar as well as a stocked mini-fridge. Two sides of booze.

The bathroom was even better done with beige striped marble used through-out. A large soaking tub in the middle, dual vanity sinks, the shower & toliet behind their own glass doors. There's the obligatory small TV in the mirror. One trend that I wish would go away are the peek-a-boo windows which allow somebody in the bedroom to look into the bathroom.

The bathroom was of good size, while the bedroom size was just average, which is to say smaller than I expected for the price. Again, this is the most expensive hotel in Las Vegas, so I expected more.

By the front of the door are the closets and an alcove for you to open your luggage. A very fancy gimmick is that the extra pillows are in beautiful Japanese-style boxes. There's large safe in one of the drawers here.

The neatest thing in the room was what they called the "valet closet". This was a small closet in which the room service person could place items into your room from OUTSIDE in the hallway through a separate locked valet door. Through this valet door they could place new towels or your dry-cleaning without entering your room. Super cool, I hate having to wait for somebody to come to the room!

Another cool thing is that when I opened the front door for the first time, the window drapes opened automatically to show me the view of the strip. Unfortunately I didn't check if that could be programmed to happen every time I walked into the room.

But there were slight disappointments as well:
* bedroom smaller than I expected
* the view was only OK
* the front desk service was nothing special
* no self-parking

Competent 5-star hotel, but it didn't blow my socks off...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,818 - 4,824 of 6,172 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Four Seasons in Las Vegas on our last four trips, but decided to try the Mandarin for a three-night stay based on the positive feedback we read on Trip Advisor. We booked a Mandarin Premier Room which was advertised as having a "commanding view of the famed Strip". Upon arrival, we were told our room was being upgraded to a junior suite and were given the keys to a 6th floor room that had a view of the driveway for Aria and the bottom of every building in the City Center complex. We immediately called the front desk and were moved to a suite on the 12th floor with a view East to the Polo Towers and the mountains beyond. The view of the Strip was of below average quality and a far cry from the "commanding view" advertised on the Mandarin website. The main view which was East included the Hawaiian Marketplace, the Polo Towers, the Travel Lodge and a McDonalds.

The room was of average quality for a 5-Star hotel. The drywall was cracked above the shower and the wood floors were scratched and stained.

I wish we had read the review of December 28th 2011 before heading to Las Vegas because it was right on. The construction quality is average and the walls are paper-thin. The worst part of our stay was Sunday night when the Hawaiian Marketplace across the street blasted music into the Strip which reverberated through the concrete and steel of the City Center between midnight and 3am. Although we had earplugs in, we could still hear the heavy drums and singing. At 1:30am, we had had enough and called the front desk. At 2:30am we were given a second "sleeping room" on the opposite side of the building so that we could have some peace an quiet for an early morning flight. Needless to say, it was an awful nights sleep for what has been described on Trip Advisor as an "oasis of calm" from the madness of Las Vegas. Not true. Upon checkout, we spoke with the front desk manager Marina who upon learning about our situation was gracious and removed our room charge for Sunday night. She was empathetic and was a bright spot in our stay.

Overall, The Mandarin is at best a glorifed "The Hotel". It is not a 5-star hotel and is not in the same league as the Four Seasons. Stay at the Four Seasons for a real oasis of calm in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank wired4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is discreet, and secluded yet yards from the action. What makes it quiet and secure is no Casino and access to all rooms is via the 23rd floor lobby. My room was a technological delight! Everything, lighting curtains etc operated by the tv remote! A huge 60 '' tv screen, a tv in the bathroom mirror. Quite one of the largest and well appointed bathrooms I have seen....but the greatest feature is the sumptuous bed!!!!! Clean, new great service, competitively priced, thye only small downside was the price of breakfast which came to over $100 for 2 persons.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the strip! No need for a suite as these are large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at MO for 11 nights over the Christmas and New Year period of 2011. Our original booking was for 4 nights in a Strip View Suite but we extended to a further 7 nights once we realised how great a hotel this was, we wanted to treat ourselves and relax whilst also being able to enjoy what Vegas can offer and the MO was perfect for this. The service there is second to none, you get treated fantastically. The MO is so close to the strip yet you could be a million miles away when you are in the hotel as it is so serene and relaxed. It was a great place to chill and get away from it all but with the added bonus of being a 1 minute walk from the strip if we wanted to get out and about.

The Strip View Suite was fantastic and comprised of a lounge area, bedroom, bathroom and small walk in wardrobe area. All of this is arranged in a corner suite so we also had fantastic views of the north and south of the strip. After 4 nights in the suite we moved to a Premier room for 7 nights as there was no availability in the Strip View Suite for our extended booking dates. The premier room is a more conventional hotel room in terms of shape (rectangular) but as with the suite the decor, bed and finish to the room and bathroom was impeccable.

As we were relaxing we used the in room dining option for breakfast and dinner on many occasions - the food was fantastic and it was certainly the best room service food we had ever had by a country mile. The menu had a great selection of Thai, Indian and American food and it was all to a very high standard. We also had a few drinks in the Mandarin bar which has huge floor to ceiling windows and great views of the Strip from the 23rd floor,
the cocktails were fantastic and the best we had in Vegas.

On NYE we had dinner in Mozen bistro - again the food was great. We then went to the 23rd floor where the lobby had been transformed into a bar where you could get a glass of champagne and watch the crowds below on the strip and the fireworks at midnight through the huge windows. A great experience.

All the staff at the MO were happy and personable and every single one provided a very high level of service which was better than any other we have experienced at other 5 star establishments in different parts of the world.

We also enjoyed a 3 hour massage and treatment session in a private Spa Suite which was amazing and very relaxing after a long old year. This cost a bit but it was a fantastic experience and I would recommend it to anyone. The general spa area was also very good.

Compared to other Vegas hotels this certainly isn't the cheap option but in my opinion it is worth every single penny. Overall this is the best hotel I have stayed at - highly recommended

Room Tip: Go for the strip view suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosscopcotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in late December. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this hotel! We specifically picked this hotel since it did not have a casino and night club. It is very close to the main attractions (right on the strip) but it is quiet and relaxing when you are in the hotel. We had a premier room on the 19th floor which was huge and had a fantastic view. The room had every modern amenity such as touch screen controls for the TV, blinds, temperature etc. We ate lunch twice in the bistro restaurant and the food was excellent. My husband loved the lobster bisque soup which was a special on the first day. The staff were so accommodating that they offered to make it especially for him the next day even though it was not on the menu. The cocktail bar is on the 23rd floor and has great views of the strip. I used the fitness center which was spacious and had all the most modern equipment. We had a small problem with WiFi connectivity on one of our iPhones and when we checked out we were told that all internet charges were removed from our bill. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. We have travelled extensively in the US and this was by far the best value and service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdsukGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Las Vegas is an incredible town and hotel there tend to be too big and too busy.
Mandarin is not. It is a regular hotel and, moreover, it does not have a casino inside: this helps reducing confusion.
Being a new hotel everything is clean and perfect.
Rooms, typical in LV, are of a good size and with good views of the town.
It is on the main road and you can walk everywhere!
Breakfast if far too expensive: have it outside!
There's a very nice gym and pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Principissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

very well situated. expensive meals but fantastic breakfasts. no coffe in the room because (they say) instant coffee does not meet their standard. probably the best hotel I have stayed at.
No shuttle from airport. the lobby is on the 23rd floor which keeps out the din of Vegas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iandeneitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#18 of 264 in Las Vegas
24,601 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#4 of 264 in Las Vegas
18,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,873 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#13 of 264 in Las Vegas
16,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $223 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only eight triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing