We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparison of the M.O. suites vs. Skyloft Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Comparison of the M.O. suites vs. Skyloft Suites”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at the M.O. LV for three nights in Early May. Typically we stay at the Skylofts at the MGM however they were sold out due to an event forcing us to explore another option! Here are my take on the match-up between the M.O. vs Skylofts

Rooms – Skylofts wins hands down. We upgraded to the Dynasty suite at the M.O. and found it to have a great layout but the MO rooms just cannot compare to a dramatic two-story duplex with a wall of windows and a glass shower overlooking the strip. That is extremely sexy! The MO Apex suite was a bit cooler but the Skyloft spaces really do compliment the Vegas party mood.

Technology – Again Skylofts wins hands down. Their Crestron remote system is at least two steps higher on the food chain then the MO system. The MO is still high tech however it is just not as user friendly or advanced. The free movies and top end sound system put Skylofts well over the top. MO sound system was not properly hooked up to play my I phone music in the entire suite.

Car service – This category is a toss up but I’m awarding a slight advantage to the MO. It is really cool to arrive at the airport and be whisked away in the Skylofts Maybach however the ride only lasts 10 minutes and on one of our trips we ended up in an ugly MGM gold limo because the Maybach was not available. The MO has a courtesy Mercedes that is available for short trips around town as well as drop offs at the airport. It was the driver named Walter that makes this toss up go to the MO. He is an excellent employee! In the end often it is the staff that separates two exceptional properties.

Nightlife – There is no lounge at Skylofts so the MO wins this category as it has a great lounge on the 23rd floor. MGM has Studio 54 and many other bars but the MO view leaves nothing to compare. Everyone visiting Vegas should stop there for a drink.

Service – The M.O. staff wins this category by a nose. Don’t get me wrong - the Skylofts staff is excellent but the MO staff just seems a bit more polished, genuine, and a bit happier. At times the Skylofts staff seemed like a never-ending stream of tip hungry employees that are trying to make us feel welcome but always seem to have an eye on my wallet.

Pool – Both hotels have major shortcomings. Skylofts forces their guests into a massive pool area shared with all of the MGM guests. There is a “club “pool at MGM called Wet Republic but it irks me to pay $50 to gain access when I’m dropping $700+ for a room. The MO pool has a very calm Zen like vibe with great service and several cabanas but we found the pool way too dull for a Las Vegas property. In the end I'll take the MO over the zoo that is MGM's main pool deck. Advantage MO.

Spa - Not even close. The average strip mall massage parlor between a Denny's and a tattoo parlor could beat the MGM experience while the MO spa is damn near perfection. Expensive but very luxurious.

In conclusion I urge you to book at the MO. Ask for an 04 tier Apex suite or the 27 tier Dynasty suite and enjoy the trip. The staff will go above and beyond to make your experience unforgettable! It was my first stay at an M.O. property and I have become a “fan.” I know that we will be back soon

Three other individuals stood out Stephanie L at the front desk, Anthony at the pool, and Stephanie in the concierge desk All three excel at their jobs and are great ambassadors of this fine brand! Thanks again for the great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JP3CHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,827
    661
    194
    59
    47
See reviews for
784
2,988
274
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel located on the Strip in Vegas. There's no casino in the hotel and it's not designed to have a lot of Vegas glitz and glamor. Instead it's very elegant and modern. The service is excellent and the rooms are beautiful. You can control your TV, curtains, thermostat, lights, wake-up call, and just about anything else in the room with a device the size of an iPad. I scheduled a wake-up at 7:00 a.m. that turned in the TV, opened the curtains, turned on the hallway light, and lowered the room temperature. Sort of ridiculous but fun if you like technology!

The rooms are very clean and nice. The bathroom is huge and features a lot of marble and tile. There's even a TV built into the bathroom mirror.

If you want to party and go crazy in Vegas, this hotel isn't for you. But if you want to be treated like a celebrity, this is the place for you. (in fact, I saw a well known celebrity out at the pool during my visit).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cincytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of a week driving through Arizona (and staying at much less expensive hotels). As soon as we entered the room, we were happy with the decision. We stayed in room 1515, which has a good view of the Strip. It has a good storage area, then a great bathroom with two basins, bath, shower and WC, and a very comfortable sleeping area, with sofa and desk/table. The TV and bedside console allow you to control the room temperature, lighting, curtains etc. WIFI was available for $6/hour, or $18 per 24 hours. The parking cost $30 per night. Staff were excellent, as was the outdoor swimming pool/bar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Both me and my husband have stayed in a few of Mandarin Oriental properties in Asia and would like to give this Vegas one a try during our business trip to a convention. The location of the hotel is great. Its tucked behind the new City Center. Its quiet and you are just steps away from the hustle of vegas. There is a Walgreens just around the corner which makes the midnight supply run really easy.
The staff were very friendly. We didnt make a booking for dinner so we ended up ordering room service. The restaurant actually sent their junior chef up to our room and explain the ingredients and sauces.
What I would have expected more are the overall decoration and interiors of the property. Having been in the commercial design business for years, I am quite disappointed by their workmanship and quality of the interiors. The other Mandarin Oriental seems to do a much better job.
Overall, their service is top notch but the hardware is not 5 star quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the MO last week. The positives: Check-in is easy, no lines as compared to the large casino hotels. The atmosphere of the hotel from the lobby to the pool area and the guest rooms is very serene. Definitely a way to decompress from the sensory overload of the casinos. I loved the bathroom!
The biggest negative is the spotty service. Like others on the board we had problems with housekeeping and pool staff. We left our room before 9 one morning requesting housekeeping as we left and returned over 6 hours later to an unmade room. I am not sure why this happened as when my husband phoned to ask for housekeeping to come up at a different point, they were there in minutes. Also, at the pool area we asked three different attendants for drink menus and were told no problem all three times yet no one ever returned with the menus. It was almost humorous putting in the same request over and over wondering if someone would ever deliver the menu.

Overall, I would say I was 99% satisfied with my stay and that is about as good as any hotel can do.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmrb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel does indeed look amazing. On the most part the staff are very welcoming and accommodating (they did fail to bring an ice bucket to our room for our champagne on our wedding day though). Being charged for internet is a bit cheeky in my opinion. It's free almost everywhere these days and left us feeling like we had been ripped off ($18 a day). The car park is also way too expensive ($30 a night) but reception were very helpful when we asked for directions to the nearby free car park.

Everyone in the reviews seems to go on about the gym and how amazing it is. It's good that it's free to all guests (at last something they don't charge for) but it was noting special in my opinion. Saying that you wont have any complaints either.

We had cocktails in the Sky Lobby bar one evening and the bar staff were great. They even gave us a free taster platter of desserts when they found out we had just got married. Again - the drinks here are not cheap (and there isn't even a price in the menu - FYI they'll set you back around $26 a cocktail) but the views are lovely and it's a great place to start your evening.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Just research the car parks first and if you can, learn to live without the internet for a few days if you don't like the cost. It is Vegas after all and you'll pay a premium almost everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel was beautiful, we loved the room and eventually managed to figure out all the technology. The soaps etc were wonderful and the hotel really felt like a haven when you walked into the courtyard from the Strip. All the staff were wonderful.

Gym was lovely, but would perhaps be better positioned away from the Strip, atlhough the views would then be missing, as it was very hot in the morning and too hot to use the treadmills with the wonderful view,

I also really objected to the charges for WiFi. We were on a two-week road trip in California and LV and the Mandarin was the only one of 7 hotels we stayed in to charge for WiFi. We ended up heading over to the Chandelier bar at the Cosmopolitan to use their free WiFi - yes, we had to buy drinks for this, but at least we enjoyed them! Still shameful that the Mandarin charges for WiFi considering its room rates.

Room Tip: Go for a Strip view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,574 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
15,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only eight triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing