We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Counter Heaven”
Review of Vickie's Diner

Vickie's Diner
Ranked #506 of 4,842 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Mojave Desert
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch Counter Heaven”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Tiffany’s Café is absolutely the best place to eat in all of Las Vegas. Tiffany’s is an iconic lunch counter supplemented with a few tables inside [the now closed] White Cross Drug Store at the conflux of Las Vegas Boulevard, Main Street, and Oakey. The fare is simple, substantial, affordable, and cooked from scratch. You won’t get warmed up canned soup here. The lunch counter serves meals around the clock, 24/7, unlike many casino eateries that close for hours on end during the wee hours. They must be doing something right over there, because Tiffany’s regulars include not just loyal customers, but loyal employees as well. In a transient town known for high employee turnover, Tiffany’s keeps its employees for years. One cook has been there more than ten years. I’ve known waitresses to work at Tiffany’s from 10 to 30 plus years.

There was a brief period of time that we stopped eating there as the quality had fallen off. We’ve returned three times now during current renovations and were very pleased to discover that the food is back up to the standard that we’ve enjoyed for many years.

Don’t let the renovation in the adjoining market during the 2012 summer fool you. The lunch counter remains open.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Reiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    11
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old school diner”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Nothing fancy, truck stop like diner (which I like). I was kinda grossed out when this guy came in off the street who kind of looked like he owned the place (old and had a little hat on) and fixed himself a sandwich. He was handling the bread and cheese right there in front of us and I saw him lick his fingers a couple times. Kinda wish I had not seen that. I'll still go back tho.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

The drug store in which the cafe operates has closed down and the cafe itself is pretty worn down. We sat at the counter and had excellent patty melts with good fries-a large plateful for $8.50. Probably not the best place in Vegas but authentic with friendly efficient service. We went after a visit to the Neon Boneyard and it seemed just right. The breakfast menu looked really good but it is defianetely a trip down memory lane and not for the faint of heart.

Helpful?
Thank Beenmostplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The 2011 guide book I read listed this as an old timey diner with great food and even better prices. Wrong on both counts. The cheeseburger and milkshake that was listed as $6 was nearly double that ($11) and nothing special. Looks like the old adage of "Make hay while the sun shines" is the mantra here. I guess a little positive press goes a long way. The only reason I'm not giving it the lowest possible rating is that the service was ok. You really want to avoid this place!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WearyWandererOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast value ever”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The food is consistently of good quality and served in generous portions. The waitresses and other staff are so friendly that we looked forward to seeing them and kidding around with them each morning. And a big plus for us, there was free WiFi in a town where the casinos seem never to offer this amenity. Our hotel wante

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank globecrawlerMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vickie's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Vickie's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing