We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Border Grill

Border Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Border Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 4,794 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Las Vegas Blvd. and Tropicana Ave.
Description: Welcome to Border Grill, Las Vegas' destination restaurant overlooking the Lazy River just off Mandalay Beach, where Chefs Mary Sue Milliken and Susan Feniger, Bravo's "Top Chef Masters" and Food Network's "Too Hot Tamales," want nothing more than to spice up your day. With two floors of patio dining, and a beautiful outdoor bar, it's the perfect setting for sipping margaritas and savoring the bold flavors of Mexico while enjoying views of the beach and pool. Border Grill Las Vegas is located in Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino. There's so much to do at Mandalay Bay. The Shark Reef, right next door to the restaurant, features sharks of all kinds, as well as a slew of exotic, predatory marine life. Stop by for fish tacos after and have the last word in the food chain.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my wife to Border Grill after reading about it in a Food network publication. It is a little expensive, but worth it. Our service was good, and the food was great. A little out of the way, but will go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    444
    214
    90
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited in early May and overall were a bit disappointed by the experience. The menu looked interesting and restaurant appeared to be selling a concept of high end Mexican with a twist. In reality the dishes when they arrived were a bit odd and frankly disappointing. Compared to some of the regular mexican restaurants around in Vegas, prices were steep and we were ultimately left wishing we had gone for one of the cheaper canitina type alternatives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious and a whole lot of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our group of four dined at Border Grill on a recent Saturday. We were given the option of ordering from a brunch or lunch menu and we selected the lunch offerings. We ordered a wide variety of appetizers and soups and entrees. The food was delicious and plentiful. The creamed corn tamales were fantastic and the enchiladas were the best I've ever had. We ordered way to much food and could not do it justice but I would happily eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swatts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average at best....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stay away from the Kobe Beef tacos....very tough and hard to chew, chicken enchiladas were okay but lacked flavor...BANANA CREAM PIE was the best! For top chef acclaimed restaurant very disappointing. Great service from Candice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Border on Peruvian Patio.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

A popular stop with conference organizers the top floor main restraunt is often booked. The best kept secret is they have a first floor sister with outdoor patio. Lunch was filled with a great variety of offerings. @ $14.00 the
Peruvian Ceviche - lime, ginger, aji amarillo chile - was a perfect recommendation. Light and spicy a perfect lunch for a hot day. Remember to ask is the first floor open should you find the main floor closed with a private function.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crctrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Border Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing