We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take your kids to this free sledding area just 45 minutes from Las Vegas strip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Charleston

Mount Charleston
Book In Advance
More Info
$247.99*
and up
Las Vegas Tandem Skydiving
Ranked #21 of 449 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A quiet retreat from the high energy of Las Vegas, this mountain stands at 11,918 feet and offers numerous outdoor activities such as horseback riding, camping and hiking.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Take your kids to this free sledding area just 45 minutes from Las Vegas strip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

From the strip take 15 North to 95 North. About 20 minutes turn left into 156 and head straight up the mountain. You will passed Snow Play area (entrance fee) on the left and continue about 1 mile until you get to "Upper Lee Meadows" Spring Mountains National Recreation Area on the right hand side. You can park your car on the left. This place is huge with lots and lots of snow. It's wide so you don't have to worry about running into anyone sledding down the mountains. This was our second visit. Get there early because there's limited parking spaces.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
41 Thank Tricali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    287
    55
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best French Onion Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We always visit Mt. Charleston Lodge and have lunch at least once when we visit Vegas. They have wonderful French Onion Soup. In fact we have not orderd anything that wasn't good. The homemade potato chips are to die for.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank grammywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The lodge could use some upgrades but overall it's a great spot to 'get outta town' and into nature for a day. They serve pretty good food too!

Helpful?
Thank livlovlearnlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice drive, cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We like to drive to Mount Charleston when we go to Vegas in the summer; a good place to get away from the fast track in Vegas. It is amazing how cool it will be at the Mount with temps in Vegas near or over 100 degrees. We drive some of the side roads just to explore and there are some beautiful homes in the area. I would imagine that in the winter months that this is a very busy place for those that like to ski. I think everyone owes it to themselves to visit Mt. Charleston at least once in the summer, if for no other reason than to see the contrast in temperature; a cool place to visit, no pun intended!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank msj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mount Charleston”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I went there once with my wife, now I know what is up there and really have no reason to go back.

Helpful?
Thank LouallenBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing