We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“2nd Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2005

We'll never stay anywhere else . . . and why? When the JW has everything, right down to a rain shower! We enjoyed cheap eats from midnight to 6am, and sat back enjoying a beautiful view of the mountains. The staff was at our service . . . we were treated like royalty--REALLY! Spacious, clean accomodations. We will play hookie and come here again and again!

Honeymooning from Chicago

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    548
    230
    92
    42
See reviews for
424
532
63
480
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2005

I am typing this review as I am in my room at the JW Marriot.

The room is big, the bathroom very nice and the view of the mountains is nice. I walked around the facility yesterday, nice, everything looks good.
BUT, I was trying to save on cash and their shuttle to the strip is a great FREE feature, but the shuttle to take us to the strip was late (due to traffic) and after being dropped off at Fashion show Mall, then I had to get a cab to the restaurant and was almost late for that. After hanging out at a great club last night, I had to get a cab back out to the hotel last night at 12am. This was not fun. This morning I seriously considered checking out, and moving to the strip.
It's pretty out here, but that isn't what I came to Vegas for! I am going to stick it out, but wish I was in a mid-strip hotel.
If you want convience, stay on the strip.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank worldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2005

An excellent hotel. We had a really large room with a luxury bath, a reasonable price, and the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel has a quiet casino, a good Italian restaurant and they were able to get discounts at decent nearby golf courses. If the traffic is heavy on the freeway, you can easily get downtown on the local streets. It takes about 15 minutes.

Helpful?
13 Thank Annoyingeffort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2005

Stayed for 5 nights Dec 30-Jan 3. Hotel was great, room was huge and new. The rooms were far bigger than similarly priced hotels on the strip (although like most reveiwers I used points). Summerlin is great if you want to be in Vegas but not in the craziness. The drive typically took 30 min to the strip (although it was around New Year's which is not typical traffic). Overall, if you are interested in seeing some of outdoor stuff near vegas (Red Rock Canyon is 5 min away), or golf (right next door to TPC), and/or you want a calmer Vegas experience, this place is great. The Irish pub was good, and the casino was also fairly good (bad rules though). They gave us a partial comp on the hotel bill, so don't be afraid to ask. You'll need to rent a car if you visit the strip/downtown often.

Helpful?
15 Thank GoMets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2004

We just went to Vegas for 5 days. Was going to stay at the JW the entire 5 days based on reviews read here using Marriott Rewards points. It was a complete disappointment. The facilities were quite nice as everyone has described, but I wouldn't say it was anything special compared to what you will find on the strip. The major disappointment was the room. The room was huge but empty. It looked very worn. The carpet was dirty and torn up. The bathroom was nice, but again, worn. The maid service was spotty. The first day our room was not made up until late into the afternoon. In the end, we checked out after 2 days and went to THEhotel at Mandalay Bay. Best move we could make. The room at THEhotel was amazing. Was worth the $200 a night we paid. If I had actually been paying for the JW I would have been really, really upset.

Helpful?
36 Thank GA_Traveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2004

Simply delicious!

The hotel is lovely, and the facilities fabulous. The service was impeccable. It is rated 5 star, and that it is!

Be sure to try the rain shower in the shower stall.

Restaurants pricey, we opted for Casino coffee shop -- they have specials all day long.

Odd that hotel and casino are private entities, but they do end up working well together.

Many ground floor rooms have fabulous patios, with seating for a small gathering.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2004

I've stopped in many of the "big" hotels in Las Vegas over the last ten years.

Many of them have the big show, or the big frontage, but few have the shear class that the J.W. does.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the valet parking staff, who were friendly. This continued throughout the whole stay.

The rooms were quiet, very spacious, had a great view, and were comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath and rain shower was a tremendous plus.

Some would say the location away from the strip is a downside, but I can only say this is a plus, with a very convenient bus service to the strip.

The pool area was excellent the only shame being the pool being closed for a day, due to a kid vomiting in the pool :(

The question is, are we going back...
YES, and for twice as long in march 2005.

  • Stayed December 2003, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#54 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#62 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Las Vegas Marriott
#28 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Courtyard Las Vegas Summerlin
#127 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145-5722 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for luxury in Las Vegas. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing