We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Vegas”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The JW Marriott is located in Summerlin, about 20 minutes from the strip. It has always had beautiful, big rooms with lots of marble, huge bathrooms and luxury touches in a nice resort setting. This time, because the week before Christmas is slow, they upgraded us to a suite. Even nicer than their usual rooms which are always great. It is starting to show its age just a little bit but is still a great place to stay in Las Vegas. The bathrooms are always great, a rain head in the shower, lots of space, and bathrobes. The staff are always friendly and there is a nice casino on property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreadPirateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    566
    245
    92
    42
See reviews for
437
551
66
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

it never used to be this way. the air in main lobby ,gym and spa is really deplorably bad. the thick cigarette air coming from the casino goes forcibly into these areas that should have fresh air. i couldn't workout in the gym. instead i went outside to do simple exercises and didn't get a good workout. somedays were rainy and too cold.

Room Tip: everyone must ask the CEO to fix problem because GM does nothing to fix the problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENNA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_JWFOM, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Agreed times have changed, I apologize you had to endure the smoke at our location. We are making every attempt to improvement our heating, ventilation and air conditioning system to provide a cleaner fresh smelling environment within our hotel for all our guests.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in many JW Marriotts but have never found one as lackluster as this one. The room was shoddy with paint chips and dinged and damaged fixtures were found throughout the room. The floor (of all places) was uneven and seemed bunched up under the rug. The center bedside lamp was inoperable. I requested non feather pillows that they promised within 30 minutes (which I thought sounded like a long time; actually took over an hour and a half). I had to call a second time to remind them. This may not seem that bad but I had just returned from Sydney Australia and was very much wanting to hit the sack. But no, had to wait for the pillows.

I wouldn't recommend this establishment. There are far better places to stay in Vegas for the same prices.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_JWFOM, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you staying with us, I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations, as we usually do our best to provide outstanding service and in this case we did not. I value your honest feedback and acknowledge that our product is in need of attention. And with that said, we have begun our exciting renovations though the property, these much needed renovations will happen though out the year and will greatly improve conditions you specifically mentioned.

We cannot change the experience, I am sorry about that. I only hope that we have an opportunity to make a better impression, if you choose to return, after our projects are complete.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Not your typical Vegas experience. This hotel is a decent ways off from The Strip, by the foothills, and markets itself as a resort. The room was a nice luxury room. The bathroom was fancy: there was a tub as well as a shower with two shower heads. Not sure if that second shower head actually added anything. The grounds are pretty - lots of water and fake water falls. The hotel is a bit isolated and empty at times, and very very big. I thought that the room temperature was a bit on the chilly side.
I can't speak to the service really because I opted to skip having my room made in exchange for a credit.

Green Features: They had the option to keep the towels rather than fresh towels every day. I also opted not to have my room made each morning. Wish they had a recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mychell_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The front desk people were so AWESOME!!!!!!! from the moment I walked through the door until three days later when I was so sad to say good bye. All I can say is, you except a lot from the Marriott brand and you will get it here!!!!! "WOW" !!!!! The breakfast buffet was to die for!!!!
The room was extremely well put together, every detail!!!

Do your self a favor and stay at this resort while you visit Las Vegas. You will be glad you did.

The one bad thing about the trip was the temperature was way to cold to GOLF. Low 40's for the high....what's that about....in VEGAS. Marriott is good, but not that good to change the temp.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueteeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in December. Prior to the trip, we received what appeared to be a form e-mail from the "Personal Planning Specialist" at the hotel, We normally just delete those types of e-mails, but we got engaged while we were staying at the hotel ~1 year ago and so we replied to the "Personal Planning Specialist" with a couple special requests. The Personal Planning Specialist (real name = Nathan) got back to us in a timely fashion and was able to set up our special arrangements. The JW Marriott facility is obviously beautiful, and the rooms are very well-appointed and luxurious, but what stands out the most is the tremendous customer service - we think it's actually unfair to compare to the Strip as the level of customer service at the JW Marriott is just so far above. We would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaSk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Had to attend business conference here. What a disappointment. I know smoking is allowed in casino but whole hotel smells of smoke. In the morning it was a ghost town. Couldn't find any staff to help with directions. Conference has no wifi. No wifi? Who does that? Room was colder than outside. Outside it was 40 degrees. These shortcomings were disappointing for a Marriott hotel. Next time stay on the strip at any one of several better hotels. Would not return. Told the conference organizers of my disappointment as well and I wasn't the only one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mills93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_JWFOM, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Our objective is to provide a clean and fresh environment free of smoke as directed by Marriott’s culture and expectations. Your concerns are valid and I am sorry you had to deal with the smoke in the hotel and in the convention area. I understand your frustration and not wanting to stay here again; we have many options available to us as a property, as we move forward in addressing the smoke. I am disappointed we fell short on services during your stay.

I am truly sorry for the experience, and I offer you to contact me at your convenience to further our conversation.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#59 of 263 in Las Vegas
950 reviews
Las Vegas Marriott
#26 of 263 in Las Vegas
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,155 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#66 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145-5722 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for luxury in Las Vegas. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing