We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in vegas with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“The place to stay in vegas with kids”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the most fantastic breakfast. This hotel is in our top 3 worldwide. Great gym and spa, and pool super for kids.
close to golf courses and with the resort fee you get free daily driving range on TPC Vegas.

They have a friendly casino if you feel like gambling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orange J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    552
    236
    92
    42
See reviews for
431
538
64
488
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We originally booked a hotel in Palm Springs from 8/7 - 8/10 as it is only a couple of hours away from San Diego and with 3.5 yr old and 22 months, thought that short drive would be best.. till we got to Palm Springs area. We saw smoke covering the entire PS and discovered that the area is affected by Silver Fire that just started so we had to opt elsewhere quickly.. and JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf was the one we picked for below reason.
1. I read in Trip Advisor that it is more of a family friendly hotel
2. Price was reasonable $109 - 169 went up daily as it gets closer to the weekend, of course.
3. No smoking (kinda...)
4. Most importantly.... room was available

Hope this review helps other family with small children!
- Casino is still a smoking area and you DO smell cigarettes outside of the casino and also some people do smoke in the pool area so you can't avoid the cigarette smell except for your own room and hallway (but this applies to other places too..).
- Restaurants are located in near the Casino so when you dine, you are covered with cigarette smell.
- As any other hotels, the rooms are very dry so I recommend requesting a humidifier (Free)
- If available, ask for room with a patio. If no patio, you can open the door to "trying to be Patio" but you can't even put one foot between the fence and the door so no option to "Step OUT for fresh air".
- When I checked in, I requested for a refrigerator but was told that there is a waiting list for it and never got it during my stay so check availability before you go buy stuff. There is a COOLER in the room though, if that is enough.

The first night we stayed in a King size bed room in Palm Tower, 4203. It took about 5 - 7 mins to get a decent hot water running. No view except trees and a bit of pond. No patio.
Next morning, I went to the front desk and just as a curiosity, I asked if there is any room with patio available and there was:) and with no additional charge but it was a double queen bed room instead of 1 King bed.. eh.. so we moved. Thank you, Stephanie (but wearing Veronica's jacket).

Room in main building 4131, next to icemaker and elevators. A bit more noisy. It was better situated (sinks, bathtub, etc) and seemed a bit in a better condition. Closet was about 1/2 size compare to 4203. There was a patio.. size... meh.. but watch out for the hives though.

Pool: Just OK. Very small considering the size of the hotel. Not enough umbrellas for the # of guests. No pool toys sold (seemed like) at the Towel hut. Water was pretty cold. Food was just ok... it is pool side food.

So this was for the anniversary and I mentioned this when I made a reservation but no card, no flowers no nothing.. or maybe I expected too much.. since we stayed in JW Marriott in Palm Springs a few years ago and they brought us a fruit plate and flower, etc.. It was a nice gesture.

Overall, as a family trip, we had a great time and most importantly, kids had a blast but the hotel itself is an average hotel with not so impressive services except Stephanie was very helpful arranging the move.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NA619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Some of the recent reviews scared me before I checked in here - I need not have worried. We LOVED this hotel - it was spotlessly clean and the pool is amazing. And rooms HUGE.
Breakfast was great as well. If you are travelling in Vegas with kids I don't think there is a better option. You will NOT be disappointed. Amazing value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachmama24
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here with our kids and had a great time. We stayed in the Palms Tower so we didn't even see the casino, which was fine being there with the kids. The pool is huge and shallow for the kids. So close to many restaurants and tons of shopping!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmama24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This property was originally built a decade or so ago as a high end destination resort (golf, spa, gaming). While the high end room rates were not competitive and the original resort went bankrupt, Marriott took it over and has maintained much of the original amenities at a much lower per night rate (especially the rates available over the internet during low seasons). As one reviewer noted, there is no bell service for bags to the rooms, but there is valet parking at no additional charge. The staff were very pleasant and helpful (e.g. they arranged for a late check out because we had a late afternoon flight). The rooms are very large, with high end décor. The bathroom was also very large with a large shower and very large Jacuzzi tub and very nice tile throughout. The only sign of age in the room was the somewhat dated/worn wallpaper in some areas of the bathroom (otherwise, the room was very clean and well maintained). The pool area is very nice and more like what you would expect to find at a resort in Cancun (the wait-staff at the pool were very friendly and attentive and the food was good). While we had a car, there is a shuttle that frequently goes to the Fashion Show Mall, which is in the middle of the Strip (across from the Wynn, Venetian, and TI). Overall, this is a good hotel for people (especially golfers) who would like a quieter, less crowded place to stay than you would find at a resort of similar quality on the Strip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimetravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed at this resort twice this summer for different trips. First class Marriott with spacious rooms. Separate casino attached if you like. Several restaurants and Starbucks inside. Across from TPC Las Vegas for golf. Beautiful and peaceful off the strip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Where can I begin? This place has to have been one of the most depressingly awful hotels in which I have ever had the misfortune to find myself staying. Right from check-in - where I was informed that the hotel does not employ anyone to help transport my two heavy bags on their journey of about half a mile to my room - my stay was an unmitigated disaster.

It's more or less impossible to get anywhere in the hotel without passing through the smoke-filled and tawdry (even by Vegas standards) casino in the central hub of the building. Obviously I appreciate that Vegas hotels cater for gamblers (which I am not) but I must admit I found this aspect depressing.

Food is......well, awful. We were there for a week-long convention and were served the same dreadful chicken subs for lunch EVERY SINGLE DAY. Breakfast options were either dull and tasteless or indigestible and laden with cholesterol. There's a tapas bar on the premises, but to be honest, I don't regard chicken satay and beef sliders as tapas. The only aspect of the stay that I enjoyed was an excellent cajun band playing in the (inevitable) 'Oirish' pub on the last night I was there.

Bottom line is that I wouldn't wish a stay at this hotel on my worst enemy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_JWFOM, Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear TimHJ,

I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to reach out to us and allow me the opportunity to apologize for the multiple inconveniences and making me aware of our challenges. I am sorry that the items you mentioned were not up to service standards, as I will follow-up the mentioned service items and quality consistency issues.

Once again, I am sorry for overall undesirable stay; however, I hope to mend the experience. Please feel free to contact myself directly at your convenience.

Anthony Casal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#53 of 264 in Las Vegas
916 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Vegas Marriott
#27 of 264 in Las Vegas
657 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#64 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,581 reviews
Summerlin
Element Las Vegas Summerlin
Element Las Vegas Summerlin
#88 of 264 in Las Vegas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145-5722 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for luxury in Las Vegas. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing