We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change from the strip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The two bedroom suite is spacious and luxurious
Wraparound balcony with breathtaking mountaion views framed the vistas
Spa pools are cool and inviting in the 117 degree heat
Buffet breakfast is most enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhi4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our second stay at the J.W, in Las Vegas. Great resort and friendly staff. The rooms are great, had a suite. The furniture is showing some age. Huge bathroom with rain shower and big tub. Small casino, and a great coffee shop. Buffet is available and an Irish pub. There is also a Starbucks. Large pool with palm trees all over the place. Casino is good but need more coordination between the hotel and the on-property restaurants and casino. Shuttle available for a fee, so recommend renting a car. But you don't have to leave the resort if there for a short stay. Spa and work out area is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patent_atty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our second stay at the J.W, in Las Vegas, two fourth of Julys in a row.First off the resort is great, we will NEVER return to a strip hotel. We allways rent a car, so the distance is NO issue. The rooms are Great,but the furniture is showing some ware. Huge bathroom with rain shower and big tub. Small casino, and a great coffee shop. Buffet is available and an Irish pub. There is also a Starbucks. The pool are is the best around. It's like an Oasis in the desert. Large pool with palm trees allover the place. Good bar and food service at the pool. The only problem we had was that a child, got sick in the pool and they had to close it for 4!/2 hours to clear the water. Great Stay thanks J.W.
P.S. This is the second year that I know ofd that there is NO American Flag at the ends of the two wings of rooms. Being a veteran and fourth of July, I find this offensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jkesn228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was out second time staying here and we'll stay again. It's far enough off the Strip so you don't have to be in the middle of all YW chaos... Yet it's a quick drive if you want a better buffet or strip-activities. Rooms are nice... Wi-fi was very weak which was disappointing. But we loved the gym, the spa and the mountain view!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyotefires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I booked two beautiful suites in this property for one night. We wanted to treat my brother and sister in law along with my nieces and nephews, because we had stayed previously and loved the pool. When we arrived, only one of the rooms was ready and the other was not available until almost five pm! When we decided to use the pool while we waited, we found it closed because someone had vomited in it. Other Marriott properties of this caliber in hot areas such as Palm Springs usually have multiple pools, but, alas, this one does not, so we had to return to the room with some very disappointed children. Using the hot whirl pool in triple digit heat was not a viable option. Later, when my wife requested utensils to cut some fruit, a member of the housekeeping staff informed her that there would be a service charge! I called back to complain about being "nickle and dimed" and then they sent up the utensils with no charge. Both the rooms were nicely appointed, but a bit care worn, with nicks in the furniture and sagging drapery. When we complained to the management about these things, the manager expressed no sympathy, not even an offer of free drinks or some other kind of gesture. The only person we thought a thorough professional was the bellhop, Cliff Greene. I am not sure what is happening to the service at Marriott properties, but it certainly was a disappointment.

Room Tip: It is a beautiful property, but the service is poor, especially for the price, and it is far from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director of Room Operations at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Keith,

We are so sorry the pool was closed during you recent visit, it certainly wasn't something we had control over; and we hope you will come back and visit again. Thanks for the kind comment about Cliff, we call him the ambassador of the hotel and he is truly great! Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for any future visits to Las Vegas; it would be my pleasure to help ensure your stay is perfect.

Kevin Glass
kevin.glass@jwmarriottlv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Checked in for a weekend stay-cation to beat the heat as we has Marriott points to use. Valets were very friendly and helpful. Stopped use from bloating luggage until we knew which tower we would be in. Parked car just near front till we completed check in.
Check in was fast and efficient. Clerk knew we're were Marriott members and gave us all the information about resort fees and what over lapped with our Marriott perks. As we had Aqua Spa/ adult pool spa included with our perks we declined resort fee and just paid for the Internet.
We had a King Jr. Suite. Know all suites here only have 1 king bed so they are not that useful for families of four. Very nice room but strange lay out. Not a true suite as the livingroom is only separated by a giant cabinet that holds the one TV in the room. We generally book suites so kids can have an area and their own TV but this room did not allow for the. We had to get a roll away for one child and one slept on the couch. Couch is not a pull out but fine for a child.
2 very nice bathrooms. Main bath had separate shower, rain fall, and a large whirlpool tub.
Pool area is nice. Pool has waterfall area that the kids liked. There is a bar and cafe for food.
Pool deck was not as clean as it should be. On second morning there were cups, wrappers, trash from the day before. You could see deck had been sprayed, just no trash picked up. There are plenty of lounge chairs so getting a seat is a non issue, unlike pools on the Strip. And there is plenty of shade for those who want it.
Drink service on both days was slow. First day I waited for 15 minutes while 3 waitress walked past me. No greetings or hellos. Finally I flagged someone down. She was fine but not friendly how I believe Marriott staff should be. Second day I skipped the waitress all together and went to the bar. Bartender was very friendly. After second trip he asked if I wanted a waitress. I explained no I didn't as they have ignored us and are slow.
Pool food was burgers,sandwiches, salads etc. Kids had chicken fingers which they loved. Pork sliders were fine not great. Husband had fish tacos which were also fine. As with all pool service, prices very high. They did not check bags and I saw many carry coolers in. Next time I will bring my own drinks.
We could not use the nice gym, as we had the kids working out with us, so we used the gym that is set up in the other Tower. This is the free gym for all to use. It is clearly an after thought. Equipment put in an empty hotel room. There are 4 treadmills, 2 bikes and some free weights. It was fine but would have preferred to use the real gym.
All in all a good stay and we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norgetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The facility is beautiful, however the staff is very poorly informed, it took us over 45 minutes to check in, the reservations and requests were totally ignored, there was no one else in line. Then, just as we were about to get our room keys, the front desk person excused himself and helped someone else!!! When making a simple inquiry regarding how to get transportation to the airport, it took 3 people and another 10-15 minutes.

the restaurant was below average however much better than the ones in the shopping/casino area.

The rooms were large, nice, however the poor service and lack of concern made it a horrible trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bpbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Director of Room Operations at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

pbbeth,

I want to sincerely apologize for the service failures that are not conducive to our training and management efforts. The fact that your reservation requests were not prepared correctly prior to your arrival is a basic expectation that we focus on meeting consistently. Unfortunately we had a breakdown in our normally smooth execution and that set the tone for the remainder of your service experiences.

We value your critical feedback as it helps us learn from our errors and prevent future reoccurrences. Please feel free to reach out at any time as we would welcome a future opportunity to welcome you back and allow us to redeem ourselves, proving that your experiences were an anomaly rather than the norm despite the cascade.

Kevin Glass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#35 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,042 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Vegas Marriott
#44 of 265 in Las Vegas
729 reviews
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $180 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for a luxury hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing