We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot away from the strip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot away from the strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Customer Service - Above average
Rooms - Roomy but dated
Price - Super Affordable for a JW

A like to spa and Aqua Sulis used to be one of my favorites so staying here is convenient when we just want to relax and spa all day. Plus the hotel is relatively close to one of my favorite Sushi Spots in Las Vegas - Sen of Japan.

Spa is also a little dated. Could use a little TLC in the community areas. I got stuck in the changing closet. It was about 10/15 minutes until someone heard my cries for help. I guess it had rained the night before and the door was warped. Hence the TLC.

Overall, it is above average for the price you are paying for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMcV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    549
    231
    92
    42
See reviews for
425
534
63
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great room for the price. Beautiful hotel. Huge rooms. Bathroom is well layed out with a Jacuzzi

Very nice and comfortable. Friendly front desk staff. High value for money.

Internet is not included which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgunendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Read all the reviews and thought this JW would be better. First, I am a Platinum Marriott member and thought the check in process was long and cumbersome. Had a junior suite that had a yellow cone in front of it denoting caution for water during my entire stay. Furniture in the room was dated, one of the chairs had a unstable base to it and there was no desk in the room. The lighting sensors in the room were delayed and at times did not work.

Thought the hallways were very dated and the carpet worn and faded in some areas. My room faced the interior courtyard and that was a mistake. Little or no natural light and dungeon light. During the evening you get that yellow hue in the room from the light and the color of the walls.

Will tell you the workout room and spa were pretty nice. Thought that was the saving grace.

Be prepared to walk as well. The property is spread out. And you gotta love this...the bellman takes my bag to the room. While I am present leaves it in the middle of the sitting room, does not offer to put it in the closet or set it on the rack. Not good if you want to compete with the big boys who you are in competition with in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankid, Director of Hotel Operations at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your candid and constructive review. We appreciate the time you took to detail the positives as well as our opportunities for improvement. We greatly value your insight and have taken the opportunity to share your comments with our team leaders and with the bell staff in order improve our service delivery.

We are currently reviewing the extent of our overdue remodeling plan. This has unfortunately taken longer than we desire to finalize but I assure you several phases and purchases have already been processed. We intend to replace all necessary furniture, vinyl, textiles, millwork and as soon as we are able.

With regards to our corridors, the carpets are maintained and regularly shampooed but due to the age of the product, shows wear along with the wall coverings millwork.

We will keep everyone updated of the renovation plans and schedule once it is determined, which should commence by next quater.

Please feel free to reach out to me at any time should you desire to discuss anything as I value the opportunity to learn more and to give you reasons to return.

Sincerely,

Frank Idris
frank.idris@jwmarriottlv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I doubt I'll stay on the strip ever again. This place is top notch. The room was impeccable. Nice and big, with a walkin closet. The bed was perfect, with nice soft sheets. I can't say enough great things about the bathroom. It is huge. A nice jacuzzi tub, beautiful glass shower with two heads, dual sinks, and a separate room for the commode. The pool area is huge, with plenty of chairs, a nice and friendly wait staff to bring you whatever you heart desires. The casino attached is small and quaint, probably a locals type casino. This is a must stay resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location: You'll either really love it or you'll hate it. It's about 15 miles from the strip by car. If you want to golf, and be away from the action it's the perfect place. This hotel is in a nice area of town with some nice shopping and quality restaurants. It would be a good place if you're not looking for the "Vegas" Experience.

If you want to take in Vegas this hotel is a horrible choice for you. I took 15 minutes one trip and over an hour on other. It's feels far away even though it's not that many miles. The hotel has no control over its location so just be mindful if you plan to book this property.

Historical Information:
This hotel was once a very nice five star property. However, under Marriott's Management it gives you the feeling they are trying to run this once, very nice, hotel on a shoestring. The hotel has fantastic bones. Very unlike other Marriott's. But the hotel hasn't trained their staff to be five stars nor have they kept up with the maintenance of the hotel to warrant high praise.

Car Valet:
The valet is slow and the staff is unprofessional. They tell you to leave your items in the car until you check in. Very awkward. They valets were heard arguing/discussing who may/may not tip.

Maintenance. The hotel has chipping paint, burned out light bulbs, and the overall hotel common areas were ice cold. You'd need a jacket to sit in public space.

The spa is big and has fantastic potential. Men's area: Here again, they took what I'm sure was fabulous in the past and now are just getting by: The spa had water spots on the ceiling; the hot tub was dirty and full of suds. The steam room was dirty and the overall cleanliness of the spa seemed dirty. Also, the men's spa was ice cold. Not how you want to be when you aren't fully dressed. The hot water in the shower kept going out. The men's spa staff seemed very unprofessional and wanted to watch the football games rather than helping customers. There is a nice bar area which I'm sure at one time housed fresh fruit along with water and snacks. Now only a jug of tap water exists. Disappointing. Many of the hdro treatment rooms are abandoned. The teatment tables are now filled with storage items and look like tables you find in morgue. This would be a great place to film a CSI segment.

One note for fans of a co-ed steam and sauna. The designer of this resort hit a home run. The private locker area has a steam and sauna but also outside the locker room in the spa pool area, outdoors, has a co-ed steam and sauna. This is perfect for those couples wanted to relax together. Loved that they had the choice.

My favorite feature in the guest rooms was the overhead light with a fan. The fan and light were hanging from the ceiling surrounded by a celling medallion. Both were on a dimmer switch. This was super cool. Loved the ambiance of the lighting.

One side of the French Double Doors had been bolted and painted while the instructions indicated how to open the double doors. This was weird. Don't show instructions on how to open the door if it's not possible. The room has very few outlets and in weird places, so if you are electronically traveling forget about it. Difficult to charge phones, ipads, and other handheld devices.

The TV wasn't HD and was set in far back into the cabinet. You couldn't watch the TV from the two side chairs.

The bed was fantastic. The soft goods in my room were very well maintained. Bedding was fresh; linens were good, curtains in good shape.

The bathroom has all outdated fixtures from the late 1990's. Not in poor condition, but not five stars when the fixtures are almost 15 years old.

This hotel is a long way away from the strip and the staff was mediocre. It feels like they are about to go bankrupt. I wouldn't stay here again, but if you're a golfer it might be a great choice.

Room Tip: A few blocks to the South are some really good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolsen-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here before and we loved our stay again. This hotel is such a treat away from the crazy strip. The service is excellent. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms are even nicer and spacious. The pool area is beautiful, great way to spend one's days...... The only thing we did not like that the pool attendants did not really pay attention to the kids who were shouting, running and jumping in and out of the pools..... otherwise we had the most relaxing days in this hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Since my last review of this hotel in June, we have returned here 4 times. Each visit has been wonderful and consistent. I can tell you this hotel and property are so very lovely. The staff is professional and helpful. From the valets and bell staff, to the front desk and housekeeping staff. Emina, the front desk manager is exceptional. I find all staff to go above and beyond to be warm and welcoming. The whole property is very well kept. Reviews of needing updating are hard for me to understand as no hotel can stay brand new forever. Yes, the decor is classic but the furniture and amenities are lush and clean. Beds and linens are wonderful. Rooms are huge! Our's had a patio and the view of the grounds was beautiful. Bathrooms with jetted tubs are a spa in your room. yay! The spa on the property. as I mentioned before, is wonderful. We had an accessible room this time with an adjoining jr. suite. Wow, it does not get any better! The accessible room not only had the spa bathroom but an additional accessible private bathroom with roll in shower. Also low safety bars and shower chair. There is a motion sensitive low light over the bed that goes on when a person gets up in the night. So great for those not familiar with where they are. My elderly mother loved it and I was very secure knowing she would not run into anything during the night in a strange place. Casino is fun with lots to do. Nice and clean. Food in pub and coffee shop still quite great. Try happy hour in the pub. Great Guinesse beer on tap and affordable appetizers like fried pickles! Really fun!. Prices very affordable. As mentioned, many seniors in casino, however, Summerlin is a part of Vegas with a large retirement community. I personally love and respect our retired generation and hope to be out and about when I get to be their age. As many have noted, if you are looking for the party life, the strip is for you. But if you are looking for a lovely, nice paced, warm and welcoming place to relax and play? This is it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: the spa tower rooms are lovely and located near the front desk lobby which is a lovely non gaming pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redshoes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#51 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#64 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Las Vegas Marriott
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145-5722 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for luxury in Las Vegas. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing