We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel, almost exclusively every time I travel to Las Vegas. This hotel is the best place to stay if you don't want to be in the Strip area. As mentioned in other reviews, the distance to the Strip is only about 15 - 20 minutes. You can even bypass the freeway, look at a map before you go into the Strip area. The rooms are always very nice. They have a coffee pot and coffee. One of the things that I like the most is that you can actually open your french doors and get fresh air. Some rooms have a small step out and others have a patio (first floor) or balconies, If you have a lager party, there are 2 beedroom suites that are on the upper floors. They have large terraces. Each room as a jacuzzi tub and a seperate shower. They do have a duel shower where you can have a standard shower or a rain shower. There are two buildings, best to request the Spa Tower. It is easier to get to the spa an the restaurants. The Spa is wonderful. There is usually a charge. Sometimes they have a special where you pay on a per room basis, but other times, I have had to pay on a per person basis. Check with the front desk when you check in. The fitness area is quite large and has everything available for a good workout. Looking out from the fitness area you have a pool that has jetted areas. The best part is you have a seperated men and womens area locker room. In the womens room it has a jacuzzi, cold plunge pool and a regular tmeperature small pool, just large enough to to float and such. You also have a sauna and steam rooms. All of this is included in the daily rate. Of course they offer personalized services, massages and such.
The restaurants are very good. My favorite is the Irish Pub there. Best Irish coffees, potato fritters and corned beef sandwiches, you cant go wrong. They have the 24 hour dinning area, food is very good, at least the times we have been there. The nicer dining area is wonderful and the food there is also very good. There is a casino if you want to do some gaming. It is not super large, but enjoyable just the same. What I do like about the casiono area, you do not have to go through a casino to get to the elevators to the rooms. The outdoor area is beautiful. The main pool is pretty large and the do have ample lounge chairs around the pool area. They do have a grill and bar casual ldining area. The food is very good and the drinks are better then you would find in any other hotel, but not the huge price you would pay at the big named resorts. In other reviews it is listed as a very family friendly hotel. I have also found it very enjoyable for couples and even having a buddy trip. Summerlin area has become a great place to be. In the area you have most of the chain restaurants and some more gourmet restaurants. Also good if you don't want to pay some of the higher prices in the Strip area. All in all this is a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelagentontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,007)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just as an FYI. The fitness center is very good. But it costs just over $20.00 to use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This JW Marriott is the best place off the strip, if you have a car you can run in to see shows and the night life along the strip. There is a casino on the grounds plus a good spa and golfing. The hotel is a 6 story 2 building resort. Try to stay in the spa tower

Room Tip: If you don't like a long walk to your room ask for a room no farther then 10 rooms from the elev...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaskareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I fall in love with it more and more. Everyone here is always very nice and helpful. The valet is very efficient, the food (there are several restaurants) is great and the grounds of the hotel are just gorgeous. It may be an "older" hotel but the rooms are always clean. The casino is usually filler with the local older crowd and I have never seen it really busy. Its close to the higway and is about 20-25 mi from the airport. The area is very nice, with a gold course and a shopping center close by. For snacks and water I like to stop by the Whole Foods which is only a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Used to be a great property. I have stayed here about 15-20 times. Service is AWFUL. Not the typical Marriott experience. Great location near Whole Foods, The Cheesecake Factory, BJ's, etc. Also, convenient to Red Rock casino. Nice to avoid the chaos of The Strip..20 minutes away. Large rooms, nice pool a very quiet property. Service is so bad it trumps all that is good with the property. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phun-seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourBrandVoice, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Phun-seekers,

Thank you for your recent and repeat stays with us! Please accept our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction with services received. As you stated, this is not the typical Marriott experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further, in an effort to improve our property and come to a resolution.

Please contact myself at your earliest convenience.

Melissa Irons-Front Office Manager-702 869 7302

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We just got back from a two week vacation at the JW Marriott. This is a fantastic hotel near enough to the Las Vegas Strip. The hotel is just minutes away from Red Rock Canyon and two golf courses, as well as a myriad of shopping.

The hotel itself is very large, the rooms are spacious and the gardens provide a peaceful place to walk and relax. We really enjoyed the gym and spa facilities, especially the steam rooms and jacuzzi.

We were dissappointed with the restaurants. The food at the buffet and cafe was not well prepared and reminded me of grade school cafeteria food. The other restaurants were ok, but you may want to try any number of the local restaurants outside of the hotel.

We chose this place so that our child will be away from the noise and lights of the strip and we were very satisfied with what the JW Marriott had to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lavenderbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here for a seminar- a 24 hour stay. I had read reviews beforehand, and found the critic reviews to be slanted.

First off- a disclaimer, if you want action and the heat of the strip, no need to read further.

The resort is located 20 minutes from the strip, near Red Rock Canyon. I have been to Vegas probably 40 times since the 80's, and personally I found the JW Marriott a nice change.

The lobby is very nice, I was able to have an hour and a half conversation on a Sat night with an old friend in an almost semi private location. I loved the fact that you can get to room in 2 minutes, unlike the typical Vegas Casino which you have to walk a mile. I booked a room a week in advance on their website (got a $15 discount), and asked for an upgrade to a room with a balcony which was honored. The rooms are great, very big and had a walk in closet. The bathroom came with a large bathtub with jets, and a huge shower with a rainbow shower head. The comfort of the bed was so-so. The balcony had a view of the golf course.

The grounds were excellent, the casino was a short walk from the hotel rooms. The casino has 5 restaurants. For dinner we tried the old school steak house restaurant, food was pretty good and fairly priced. The casino was a pretty dead scene for a Sat night.

The following is what I didn't like: If you are flying in and have no transportation- you will get bored, you can always go to the Red Rock Casino about 2 miles away. The crowd is 50 years and older, and probably children in the warmer months. Food options for Lunch is lame.

If you want a relaxing time, with out the "distractions" of the strip, the JW Marriott is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade upon check in, you'll likely get it. Rooms even near elevators are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mleafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Vegas
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#41 of 263 in Las Vegas
993 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Vegas Marriott
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
708 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $174 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for a luxury hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing