We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Minus 5 Ice Lounge

Minus 5 Ice Lounge
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Las Vegas Bite Card
Ranked #30 of 332 Nightlife in Las Vegas
Attraction details
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

##### Tip: Go to the one at Monte Carlo (there are two bars), prepay for your drinks and bring your own jacket/glove #####


We went to the one in Mandalay Bay and while we enjoyed it, we heard that the one in Monte Carlo is alot bigger. The one we were at was small; my suite in the Palazzo was bigger than the place. LOL. I would say it was around 16ft by 35ft in total space. We got the heavy parkas which was nice as it was pretty cold in there. The drinks come in glasses made of ice, which was out first time seeing something like that. We heard the trick was to pre purchase your drinks before you go in for USD10 and you get a card to hand to the bartender when you go into the place. I think it is almost double when you buy drinks in there. If you want to save money, bring your own heavy jacket and gloves (you need gloves to hold your drinks).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhOhBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    271
    165
    60
    63
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun time!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A little hesitant at first based on the prices just to go in, but I had a great time watching the people on the inside.

The drinks are good but slightly overpriced but considering it's an attraction in Vegas that is to expected.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrod1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A (short) fun time”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place was a lot of fun- but don't expect to stay super long. You can not use electronics or cameras in the lounge ( it is fully ice, so the heat is not good for the ice) It all was such an interesting sight and it was very fun to watch people break the ice cups. As you know from the name, it is freezing in there which does not make for a great time after awhile. It is something that I advise seeing- but don't make it your only thing of the night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lkcessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a great time. Did 2 cocktails and the coat and gloves and just had fun. Good crowd inside. Quite cozy sitting on the faux fur seats. Disagree with a lot of the reviews, it's clear there is an entry charge and there are different types of packages available. I don;t know what some people expect. It's an attraction with drinks and it's what you make it -go have a drink, have a laugh - you don;t do this every day. We had a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank galaxy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Tourist Trap”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Located in the Monte Carlo, this is a tourist trap of the highest caliber. First they will get you in by offering you a free shot. Once at the entrance they tell you it is $15 to get in, and you can’t bring your cellphone inside. And here is the reason, they claim that some people like to strip down to their skivies and have their picture taken by the “professional” photographer inside, and they don’t want you to take their picture and post it to Facebook or wherever, Oh and they also gave me the bogus claim that the heat generated from the cell phone would melt the ice inside. What they really want is for you to pay a fortune for their photos. Once inside, yes it was made out of ice, yes it was cold, and yes the novelty wore off real quick. So if you don’t mind getting ripped off, or being handed a load of BS about the use of your cell phone in a quasi-arctic climate, then you my friend have found your place. Live it up you are in Las Vegas for cryin’ out loud!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minus 5 Ice Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Minus 5 Ice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing