We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and comfortable, for a decent and comfortable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Ranked #32 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2009

The pictures make this property look a little more posh than it is, but it's clean and comfortable with a great staff. I enjoyed staying here for a business trip - it was perfect for this kind of trip. It's just across the freeway from the strip and has easy access to the big hotels just by following Tropicana. It's about a mile from Palms and Rio, and is a short drive to the rental car center by following Dean Martin Dr. to Warm Springs Rd, then across the freeway - no need to drive I-15 at rush hour either.

The hotel has a small bar and lounge - convenient for unwinding right at the hotel before retiring to the room.

The room is reliably economy Hampton Inn - but is clean, well, furnished, and comfortable. I found the bed was especially good - I would give them an A+ for the bed and bedding.

Free internet, though wired, was an excellent amenity.

All-in-all, the perfect place for a business trip where affordability matters.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hemingray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Great value for the price.
Renewed rooms, great bed, beatuful and clean decoration, great continental breakfast (if you wake up early) , good staff. Closer to the Strip.
I loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spclassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Whenever I read reviews I try to keep in mind who is doing the review? Are they an experienced traveler or someone who occasionaly travels? I have traveled extensively in the US and overseas so this review is from someone who has stayed in multiple hotels and locations.

We booked this hotel through Priceline.com using the package deal - Hotel + Airfare. The price was very reasonable. The hotel has a van that picks you up at the airport; however, you have to call them and our wait was over one hour. This was the worst part of our stay.

Upon arrival, we tried to get upgraded to a better room as we were staying 15 nights. No such luck. The room itself was very spacious and except for the remote not working and the toilet not working everything was fine. Both of these issues were fixed quickly and we had no problems after the first night.

Please note that if you want a microwave and/or refrigerator, it will coast you $15 a day. So if you want to stay here for a long time, I would not recommend it. A few nights or maybe a week would be okay. The breakfast is buffet style and is good. It has a hot item, such as eggs and meat, fruits, yogurt, juice and a great assortments of breads and bagels.

They have an outdoor pool and hot tub. Both are very clean and are sufficient for the value of the hotel. The gym was excellent! Modern, good working equipment and perfect for any type of work-out: free weights and cardio.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shatzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The hotel has quite a few nice upscale amenities. Modern, yet warm and comfortable decor. The staff though is hit or miss. Some are enthusiastic, others need to find another employer. Getting pool towels should not be so difficult. Getting two doubles versus a king also should not be difficult when the hotel is clearly not full. Lots of potential, but needs to weed out some of the staff who pull everything else down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director of Sales, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2009

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities at the Hampton Inn Tropicana during your recent stay; however, we are disappointed you experienced service failures. Difficulty obtaining pool towels and not receiving your requested room type are not indicative of the service we strive to deliver to our guests and certainly not to our standards. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you in the future so we may demonstrate that our service standards are well beyond what you experienced during your initial visit.

We appreciate your feedback and will use this information in order to better train our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Hotel while not on the strip was very close. We had rented a car - parking was free and convenient. We used the car to go to the casinos on the strip where valet parking is free - just whatever you tip the valet. Driving was a little crazy.

Hotel was very attractive, pool area very relaxing, free breakfast very good - staff kept replenishing the food as there was a crowd.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pedeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This Hampton Inn is larger in scale than most, with a separate conference center that I didn't have a chance to peek into. We were greeted reasonably but with a focus on efficiency rather than warmth, and placed in a third floor room.

Renovations were done about a year ago and the rooms have a warm, semi-tropical vibe with yellow walls and bright orange accents in curtains and furniture. New lamp fixtures are kind of retro in appearance - I think my mom had some of these triple-glass-globe lamps in our house in 1977, or maybe I just saw them on a Brady Bunch episode. I don't expect they'll hold up fashionably for very long. Carpets are light and show stains - and there were some in both rooms we stayed in. Possibly in keeping with the retro theme, the TVs were NOT renovated with the other hard goods and remain a 25" boob tube with perhaps 15 available channels - a definite disappointment. HSIA is free but wired-only in rooms; if you can snag a room overlooking the pool, you might be able to use the wireless signal from there. Beds are Hampton standard and can get warm, especially if you have a balky AC unit as we suffered during our first night.

The AC units are old-style through-the-wall PTAC units under the smallish window in the room, and during our first night, the compressor was even noisier than these units are known for - plus, it would not cool the room below about 70. We requested service on the unit the next morning and it was swapped out with another unit with digital controls...which promptly performed a compressor on/off cycle that could only be described as 30 seconds of "chuffing." This supposedly new unit was loud and even more unable to hold temperature - after an hour in the room with the digital thermostat set at 60, the room was about 75 degrees. We requested further service and were told that we had received the one and only replacement AC unit available for a 300-room property. However, they did have another room available so we packed everything up and moved down the hall. Luckily, this PTAC unit operated quietly and efficiently. Beware of the poor maintenance budget, however.

The poor maintenance extended to hallways, where the year-old "new" carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in five.

Then there was breakfast - never a Hampton Inn highlight, and in this case particularly downmarket. Each day of our stay a large tray of biscuits was presented - with absolutely nothing to cover them with. Someone needs to inform the staff that biscuits are usually half of "biscuits and gravy" at a "free breakfast" venue. The egg "circles" were watery and flavorless; the sausage patties about 70% fat. It appears the management is providing exactly the bare minimum needed to keep the franchise flag with the breakfast offerings.

Overall, I still rated the property average because their rates were excellent over the Labor Day holiday - $58 on AAA rate. At anything approaching "rack" rate, I wouldn't recommend the property to anyone. If you can find a deal, just beware of the poor maintenance, average-to-cool service, and abysmal breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director of Sales, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2009

Dear Sir:

Thank you for your feedback on the Hampton Inn Tropicana during your recent visit to Las Vegas.

We were disappointed to learn that there were areas that fell below your expectations. We continue to make updates and improvements to the hotel and value the feedback. Comments may not always be positive but allow us to evaluate and make decisions based on our guests feedback.

We’re sorry the breakfast offerings we not to you liking. We are always looking for ways to improve our breakfast selection. In fact, our new breakfast program will begin shortly with expanded offerings and rotating options.

We strive to provide the best in service and accommodations and scheduled property improvements include some of the items you mentioned. We missed the mark during your stay and apologize for this. Again thank you for providing us with your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future and improve upon the experience you had during your first visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Overall a great, comfy, clean hotel with a great view and a very nice, accommodating staff (they changed our room to get away form noisy neighbors and provided a fridge in our king room at no extra charge (given that king rooms do not have, by default, fridges or microwaves).
Also withing reasonable walking distance from the strip (but hey, there are taxis and the hotel does have a shuttle).
Another +: non-smoking rooms and no casino on site.

A couple of main issues bothered us however:
First, one morning we found a huge palmetto bug in our washroom. By the looks of it, it must have came in with the morning newspaper (as they place it outside the door).
Second, the pool was not warm at all, which is surprising when there are 103 degrees outside. We did however enjoy it as it was .
Third, they forgot to mention that the shuttle will only drop you off on the strip at the New York New York hotel, and not farther, and will also not pick you up, so you either walk back or take a taxi (only reasonable option at 12am).
Fourth, the walls are paper thin. On our first night, we dealt with VERY noisy neighbors. A call to the front desk at 4am slightly fixed the problem, but to avoid that from happening again, we asked to change rooms the next day and our wish was granted.
Lastly, the maids didn't replace our empty Kleenex box for the last two days of our stay.

All in all, we weren't extremely bothered by these problems as they were compensated by the above + aspects, therefore we won't hesitate to come back if the rates are once again reasonable. (on average 60$/ night)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira_que_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
Homewood Suites by Hilton Las Vegas Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,818 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tropicana

Address: 4975 Dean Martin Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#23 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tropicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Entertainment Capital of the world! The heart of the Las Vegas Strip is just 1/4 mile from our fabulous Las Vegas hotel! Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel near I-15 is the premier choice for business, group, leisure and international travelers seeking value for their Las Vegas hotel accommodations. This Hilton Family of Brands Hotel is family-friendly hotel and is conveniently located a quarter mile (walking distance) from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip, and just minutes away from McCarran International Airport. Forget about paying those expensive cab fares, our hotel provides Complimentary Shuttle Service to the airport and the Strip. Call when you arrive and we will come and pick you up. The shuttle runs on the hour from 5:00am to 2:00am. Guests can enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer right from our hotel including the endless shopping, sports, gaming and live shows – you’ll find something for everyone. Great dining is also a short walk from our Las Vegas hotel. Our classy Las Vegas hotel features 322 deluxe guest rooms, including 136 doubles and 6 spacious suites, and almost 10,000 sq feet of meeting space giving guests the space they need to host a successful Las Vegas Meeting. A complimentary business center, newly renovated fitness center and beautiful pool compliment your experience at this Las Vegas hotel. Guests from all around the world appreciate our prime Las Vegas location, friendly accommodations and rewarding amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Hampton Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing