We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need better housekeeping and maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Ranked #31 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

1. Someone's handkerchief was found between the pillows when we were going to bed. We hope that the sheets were changed.
2. A/C was on all night even on auto set at 78. It never turned off but it did make a booming noise when it restarted even though it was still on. Weird.
3. The showerhead cover fell off.
4. There was a long hair in one of the washcloths (don't they check for this?).
5. The blowdryer handle got so hot within 5 minutes that I thought it was going to explode. Then it stopped working, even though I pushed the reset button on the GFC.

We got there a half hour before check in and they offered to hold our bags while they got a room ready. When we got back, the front desk lady asked one of the employees if he could get them for us (Maybe he was a bellboy?) and he snapped at her (in front of us) that he wasn't even clocked in. She said never mind, but he snapped back that he would get them. Wow! If he's not on the clock, then why is he up at the front?! Way to represent the hotel! We booked this hotel about a month before the trip as part of the Hilton Hhonors program. We are usually so pleased with Hilton hotels, but this time we were very disappointed. The people at the front desk were great, the lobby and bar were clean, but that's not enough reason to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 466, towards the end of the hallway which resulted in quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nueva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surveys, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve the standards of our hotel. We have followed up with all of the departments which you noted needed special attention. We would like to talk to you more about your stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered and wish to obtain more information to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I expect a Hampton Inn to be standardized, steady, and a bit dull; so this location did not disappoint. But context is important because routine becomes a welcome relief from the disorientation of navigating through casinos to get to your room.

The free parking lot circles the hotel, so there's no need to deal with valets or cavernous parking structures.

The free breakfast buffet has enough options, but not so many that you'll explode from tasting everything or need to sleep off your food coma.

The swimming pool was too small for laps, but adequate for cooling off between sun and spa.

So I could immerse myself in Vegas, and take a break when I tired of putting on the glitz.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwest-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed on July 4th... Not for the timid. Early AM a woman screaming her relationship issues and profanities woke us up. Earlier the crowd in the hotel was young and headed for the strip. This was headquarters for their party central. The hotel itself is pretty decent. It is showing some signs of age due to its high volume. The location is close to the strip and quite convenient for heading downtown. I would not recommend this hotel for people with young children looking for peace and quiet. Price was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The whole experience at this hotel was good, from food to room to fitness center. However, the only downfall was the air condition, and because it was up 110 degrees during my stay, it became unpleasant at times. Nevertheless it was good overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel during our visit to Las Vegas. Travelling from the east coast of Canada, it was essential for us to have a facility that was safe and located very close to the strip. Our overalll impression of this facility is consistent with a majority of the reviewers (i.e., excellent) with a rating of 10/10. The property is very well located close to the freeway and has all the amenities. The staff was very pleasant and always eager to help. The room was very clean and well prepared for our arrival. The complimentary breakfast was the best highlight for a great way to start the day with excellent choices of hot and cold items and always well stocked. The location of the facility provides very easy access to the strip even late at night. We did not use the complimentary shuttle service but it is certainly a great value addition to choosing this hotel. Overall, my family and I were very impressed with the Hampton Inn at Tropicana and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank zuckers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family flew in and out of LV for our two week vacation of the southwest. We stayed at this hotel the day we flew into town and really enjoyed it. In fact, my husband suggested that we cancel our reservation for a strip hotel our last night before flying home and just stay at the Hampton Inn again. I should have listened to him because we attempted to check into a hotel on the strip our last night and after waiting 1/2 hour and probably had to wait another 1/2 hour just to check in, we bailed and headed right back to the Hampton Inn.

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT IT: The location is ideal. It's located about two blocks from the southern part of the Strip. They have a shuttle to take your the strip or you can walk if you choose. Being away from the strip, you don't have the craziness that you find on the strip.

Check in and out was a breeze! The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Nice lobby with comfortable chairs and tables. There's a small and tasteful bar should you want a drink. The colors are used in the décor are rich and very nice.

Nice pool and pool area! Though the pool is on the smaller side, it met our needs. There are beautiful lounge chairs around the pool area and covered patio along with tables. Many folks took advantage of the comfort to simply relax. It was in the shade when we used it - late afternoon, but there is a covered patio that would certainly offer shade during the hot hours of the day. The pool also has a waterfall that they turn on during the mornings. There is also a side door that takes you to the elevator from the pool, thus avoiding the lobby if you choose.

The rooms are nice sized and were certainly quiet when we were there. Others mentioned the airconditioner, but we didn't have an issue with ours. Slept without a problem.

Parking is right outside and there are side entrances which make it easy to get to your room quickly.

Free breakfast is always nice and theirs had a nice selection.

We liked the folks who stayed here. Like us, they weren't looking for a loud experience, but a hotel which offers quality service in a more relaxed and quiet environment.

DIDN'T LIKE: The fact that they turned off the waterfall by the pool so early in the day. I can understand turning it off in the evening to make it quieter, but before 5pm?

For those who want to experience LV without the headaches of the big strip hotels, stay here. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and facing the Strip. You can get a nice view!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank GwenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The location is good; breakfast is also good. There were many guests in there. There was one staff person at the reception; and rarely any staff person to be seen in the breakfast area. We only stayed for one night, and would recommend this place, if you like to be close to the strip, have a free breakfast/internet and not go to a Casino type location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Reza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Homewood Suites by Hilton Las Vegas Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tropicana

Address: 4975 Dean Martin Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $108 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tropicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Entertainment Capital of the world! The heart of the Las Vegas Strip is just 1/4 mile from our fabulous Las Vegas hotel! Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel near I-15 is the premier choice for business, group, leisure and international travelers seeking value for their Las Vegas hotel accommodations. This Hilton Family of Brands Hotel is family-friendly hotel and is conveniently located a quarter mile (walking distance) from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip, and just minutes away from McCarran International Airport. Forget about paying those expensive cab fares, our hotel provides Complimentary Shuttle Service to the airport and the Strip. Call when you arrive and we will come and pick you up. The shuttle runs on the hour from 5:00am to 2:00am. Guests can enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer right from our hotel including the endless shopping, sports, gaming and live shows – you’ll find something for everyone. Great dining is also a short walk from our Las Vegas hotel. Our classy Las Vegas hotel features 322 deluxe guest rooms, including 136 doubles and 6 spacious suites, and almost 10,000 sq feet of meeting space giving guests the space they need to host a successful Las Vegas Meeting. A complimentary business center, newly renovated fitness center and beautiful pool compliment your experience at this Las Vegas hotel. Guests from all around the world appreciate our prime Las Vegas location, friendly accommodations and rewarding amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Hampton Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing