We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a one night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Ranked #27 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had one night I needed to stay in Vegas, and there was something on, so all the hotels were very pricey, but the Hampton Inn was reasonable. When I saw how big the hotel/casinos on the strip are, I was quite pleased that I had ended up staying off the strip in a much smaller property. I didn't think they provided very clear information about the airport shuttle - I arrived at the airport, and went to the shuttle area, but they have not included their information on the noticeboard there, so I had to ring to check that I was in the right area and find out what times the shuttle came. It would be good if this information was included in the confirmation notice (which does provide driving directions). They held firm to the check-in time, which is fair enough, but I was exhausted having come off an intercontinental flight and would have really appreciated it if they had checked to see if my room was ready yet, rather than just holding to the check-in time. The room itself was fine, I had one looking onto the courtyard and it was very quiet. The free breakfast was free - but I found it bizarre that it was served with disposable plates, utensils and cups. The food was very processed (eg. I'm sure the 'scrambled eggs' was some kind of mix, weirdest 'eggs' I have ever eaten), but there are ok options with cereal and bagels. I walked over to the In n Out burger at night by myself (woman) and felt fine about it - I wouldn't have walked to and from the strip at night by myself (and the shuttle service was good), but during the day, it would be doable. I would recommend the hotel if you are after somewhere quieter and smaller than the hotels on the strip and don't mind having to shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Eldar, Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. You have a excellent suggestion regarding the shuttle service to the airport and we will be including the information on our hotel confirmation in the future. We appreciate you bringing this to us and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our Hamptonality is all about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    701
    226
    67
    32
See reviews for
493
529
126
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked this hotel for three nights but left after two days of cool showers due to broken boiler. I am shocked that others accepted this. I am a business traveler so I stay in hotels once or twice a month. I have stayed in a lot of nice hotels. Free breakfast and coffee is a plus in Vegas as well as the free shuttle but when you can't get a hot shower it puts a damper on your trip. Wall paper in the bathroom was peeling. 3 Cleaning carts were left outside my room until after I went to bed the first night, but at least were gone when I went out the next morning. Bed was comfortable. I found a cheaper price for the third day in a newer hotel on the strip for less money. Hot shower at last! That is where I will stay on my next trip to Vegas.

Room Tip: Ask if boiler is fixed before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Eldar, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our boiler and we are addressing the situation and it will be remedied soon, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our older unit and don't foresee any additional issues. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area. We are all about pleasing our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

First the good. Rooms clean. Great breakfast. Shuttle to other parts of the strip.
The bad pillows were not to my liking way too soft
You are about 1/4 mile N of the Hustler Club and there are a lot of hookers
The manager, a big black guy, had attitude every time I talked to him

I would stay again, and just avoid the manager

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechDiver09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The rooms seemed newly updated including the bed and linens. Housekeeping was great. Breakfast food was average to good depending on your likes. For free, I was happy. During the evening there is a nice bar in the lobby. Gas station/convenience store is next door. The infamous In and Out Burger is within close walking distance along with other fast food.

I was most pleased with the free shuttle service to and from the Tropicana, Mandalay Bay and the airport. I saved considerable money using their shuttle service.

If you're a regular traveler who enjoys the typical Hampton Inn experience, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent breakfast. Nice size rooms and courteous work staff. Also free shuttle to the strip,but only a 15 minute walk to the vegas strip if you feel like walking. Nice area during the day, but watch out for homeless asking for cash at night. You will like this hotel with the beds very comfortable. Nice visit and will revisit in the fall. Thank you.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was very quiet and I was near the elevator even.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SThompson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and was very disappointed. To start, the free breakfast included the pre-made eggs, which are not healthy. All the other offering accept for the oatmeal were not healthy or worth trying - but it was free. The location boarders the entranceway to the tunnels where the homeless live. Their is a lot of theft in the area and walking at night is not advised. The room was ok but a previous guest had disconnected the telephone and television wires, so that needed to be fixed. I could here everything that was said in the adjoining rooms, which in the middle of the night, makes it difficult to sleep. On the plus side, the hotel is inexpensive and offers a shuttle hourly to the end of the strip and airport. The staff was pleasant and overall the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Eldar, Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay at our hotel. We understand that the noise was an issue as well as our breakfast. We have addressed these items and appreciate your input and bringing these items to our attention. We will share your comments with the staff and hope the next time you're in the area, you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Free shuttle to pick you up at the aiport.
Nice efficient reception at check-in and check-out.
Room are cozy and clean. About 50 channels available on TV.
Good breakfast including fresh fruits, yogurts, baggels, muffins, waffles, etc...
There is also a decent swimming pool and a bar to have drinks in the evening.
The hotel is a few blocks off the strip. You can easily walk there during day time. I would avoid it by night as you go under an highway and it gets pretty dark...
Overall great value for price paid given the location and the quality offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler78705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,539 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tropicana

Property: Hampton Inn Tropicana
Address: 4975 Dean Martin Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tropicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Entertainment Capital of the world! The heart of the Las Vegas Strip is just 1/4 mile from our fabulous Las Vegas hotel! Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel near I-15 is the premier choice for business, group, leisure and international travelers seeking value for their Las Vegas hotel accommodations. This Hilton Family of Brands Hotel is family-friendly hotel and is conveniently located a quarter mile (walking distance) from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip, and just minutes away from McCarran International Airport. Forget about paying those expensive cab fares, our hotel provides Complimentary Shuttle Service to the airport and the Strip. Call when you arrive and we will come and pick you up. The shuttle runs on the hour from 5:00am to 2:00am. Guests can enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer right from our hotel including the endless shopping, sports, gaming and live shows – you’ll find something for everyone. Great dining is also a short walk from our Las Vegas hotel. Our classy Las Vegas hotel features 322 deluxe guest rooms, including 136 doubles and 6 spacious suites, and almost 10,000 sq feet of meeting space giving guests the space they need to host a successful Las Vegas Meeting. A complimentary business center, newly renovated fitness center and beautiful pool compliment your experience at this Las Vegas hotel. Guests from all around the world appreciate our prime Las Vegas location, friendly accommodations and rewarding amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Hampton Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing