We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Strip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Ranked #26 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
327 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Close to the Strip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel was close to the strip (less than a $10 cab ride and possibly within walking distance if you don't mind crossing a busy intersection) and across the street from the extremely affordable and delicious In-N-Out Burger!!! In addition to its location, this hotel also offers free wi-fi and a complementary breakfast, complete with fresh waffles and many other things to choose from! I would stay here again as an affordable alternative to the strip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefamilythattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    720
    230
    69
    33
See reviews for
505
540
131
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shelby, ia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel is located off the strip which was ok with us since we had a rental car. We stayed here two nights and our room was great. We got lucky and had a room on the 1st floor. The room was on the small side but was perfect for us. Clean, nice linens and comfortable beds. We got a great AAA rate for a Friday and Saturday night stay. I was impressed with a card in our room telling us that the sheets and comforter were replaced daily. Sheets yes! The comforter or bedspread you can never be sure in most hotels how often they are changed. There was a nice loveseat with a foot stool. The bathroom had a marble counter. I felt like we were staying in a luxury hotel for a budget rate. We loved our room here. Nice lobby, bar and pool. We had an early flight home and it took us 7 minutes to get to the car rental facility. I noticed that they have a airport shuttle and a shuttle to the strip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamite_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a great hotel (great value) within walking distance of the strip (MGM Grand, New York New York, Tropicana, Excalibur) without any of the issues of the strip - traffic, and lines. Quick Check-in, updated rooms, friendly staff, nice pool and great free breakfast. Enjoy Vegas without any of the headaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel is off Las Vegas Strip. Shuttle service only to Tropicana by reluctant driver. Have to return by taxi- can't get back to hotel on foot. Leaky plumbing. Worst hotel on our trip from San Francisco to New York.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
272 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as a base for our plans in and around Vegas. This property is close to the strip, without being in the middle of the chaos. They have a parking garage and plenty of easy-to-access free parking. There is a gas station next door that is convenient to fill the car before returning to the airport.

I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member, and I have come to expect great service at Hilton hotels. I was a little disappointed at this hotel's inability to meet a simple request. My wife needed to freeze an ice pack to keep medical supplies cold, and the hotel could not provide a micro-fridge or offer any solutions to freeze or cool an ice pack.

The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare, which is to say a good selection and plenty of dining space.

We aren't big pool goers, but the pool area is nice, with the exception that there isn't much shade. The water was surprisingly cool, despite the 100+ degree outside temperatures. There is a waterfall in the pool which undoubtedly causes additional cooling.

The rooms do reflect the high occupancy this hotel experiences. The hotel rate was much cheaper than the typical casino on the strip, so I can't fault it entirely. I also stayed at the Pallazo on this trip and for half the price, I'd stay at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinlow427vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived in Vegas at midnight on 3/4 July - not realising that it was a holiday weekend. All hotels full and then someone mentioned the Hampton Inn Tropicana. Having arrived in the dark (well it was midnight!) and this being our first time to Vegas, we were really not sure what we were going to get but were VERY pleased with the kind and welcoming service from the reception and the cleanliness and space in the rooms.
This is a PERFECT hotel if you are travelling with families and/or if you have a car, but for us with only a pair of feet for transport, owing to it's location it did not immediately tick all the boxes - plus we had a room booked on the Strip for our 2nd night - though had that room not been pre-paid, I would have cancelled that room if I could have when I found the Hampton. For the really kind welcome, for the free breakfast, for free wifi and the space and cleanliness of the rooms alone, I would give it a massive tick!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have a constant drone of traffic - which you will get used to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Southwest Airlines put us up here because of a missed connection on our flight.
It is not walking distance from the big casinos but they have a free shuttle that will take you to the airport and to the Tropicana.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traindispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tropicana

Property: Hampton Inn Tropicana
Address: 4975 Dean Martin Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tropicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Entertainment Capital of the world! The heart of the Las Vegas Strip is just 1/4 mile from our fabulous Las Vegas hotel! Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel near I-15 is the premier choice for business, group, leisure and international travelers seeking value for their Las Vegas hotel accommodations. This Hilton Family of Brands Hotel is family-friendly hotel and is conveniently located a quarter mile (walking distance) from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip, and just minutes away from McCarran International Airport. Forget about paying those expensive cab fares, our hotel provides Complimentary Shuttle Service to the airport and the Strip. Call when you arrive and we will come and pick you up. The shuttle runs on the hour from 5:00am to 2:00am. Guests can enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer right from our hotel including the endless shopping, sports, gaming and live shows – you’ll find something for everyone. Great dining is also a short walk from our Las Vegas hotel. Our classy Las Vegas hotel features 322 deluxe guest rooms, including 136 doubles and 6 spacious suites, and almost 10,000 sq feet of meeting space giving guests the space they need to host a successful Las Vegas Meeting. A complimentary business center, newly renovated fitness center and beautiful pool compliment your experience at this Las Vegas hotel. Guests from all around the world appreciate our prime Las Vegas location, friendly accommodations and rewarding amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Hampton Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing