We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May off the strip, neighborhood casino with $5 tables”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Ranked #59 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“May off the strip, neighborhood casino with $5 tables”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Did not sleep at this hotel but visited to attend a biker weekend pool party. As a regular gambler, I was happy to see $5 blackjack and craps tables. You can't find these on the strip anymore. Had a drink, stayed for about an hour and it was a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the strip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    379
    123
    45
    27
See reviews for
216
309
87
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
350 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here in one of their suites with my cousins. This place is in a great location and nearby tons of restaurants. They have bowling and a movie theater in their casino so that can keep the kids busy. It is also across the street from Tivoli village which has a cute farmer's market on Saturday mornings and cool shopping and places to eat regularly. It is near by a target if you need anything. The view of the golf course is amazing in the morning. The suite was comfortable and spacious. No problems with anything expect the resort fee. You pay it, then you have to buy wifi on top of that! That should be include. Had a great time smoking cigars and getting free drinks at the roulette table. This place is about 20 minutes away from the strip and right off the highway for easy access. Free and lots of parking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My BFF and I stayed at this hotel because we had a teen attending the Hip Hip International events at the close by Red Rock Resort (which was full). Requested a 2 Queen room but there where none available when we got there, so we got a king room with a pullout sofa. I had to ask the front desk to make up the sofa to a bed for us, which was someone coming into the room pulling out the sofa bed, leaving 2 pillows, 2 folded blankets and 6 folded sheets on top (we had to make up the be ourself).

Room - very large with a king bed, pull out sofa, dining table desk 4 chairs, fridge, safe. Large bathroom with 2 sinks on a long vanity, tub and toilet in a separate room behind a pocket door. Only enough towels for 2 people so we had to ask for more.

Dining - didn't try buffet, called for a late 11:15 breakfast one day and the only option was TGIF, I went down to the deli and got takeout,Just OK. Don't ask for any changes or substitutions. The Java place by the front entrance serves Starbucks brand coffee and carries Krispy Kreme doughnuts (yum). There is a Cheesecake Factory very near by so we didn't need much more.

Casino - Slots are super tight, but I did OK on video poker. Drink service is spotty, you have to sit near the table games if you want service, outer perimeters you'll get missed.

Valet - very good, and fast, one very hot day our car was not parked in a covered garage and was extra hot, and took a really long time for the interior to cool down.

Internet - this is our biggest gripe - the hotel charges a resort fee $5.60, then if you want internet it is an additional $10.00 per device! What! We had 3 iPhones in our room and one of them belonged to a teen! There isn't even a free wifi location in the coffee shop or near reception like most hotels. I find it really funny that Boyd Gaming is pushing all this B-Connected and "be rewarded for social activity" on-line trying to gain "Friends" but hose customers on internet fees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, at Suncoast Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding the resort fee, towel service, and the cocktail service on the casino floor. Our new daily resort fee at Suncoast provides hotel guests with several of the most commonly requested additional services at a package price. Our daily resort fee includes: Wireless internet access (up to 1 MB of band width) for up to three devices, Scheduled Airport Shuttle (reservations required, please call our Front Desk toll free at 877-677-7111), In-room safe, In-room refrigerator, In-room Coffee, In-room local and toll free phone calls, Access to the Fitness Center, Valet, and Self-Parking. We must apologize that your experience with our staff was unsatisfactory; this is not in line with our usual high service standards. Your comments have been forward to Casino Management. In the future, we encourage you to bring this to our attention immediately so we can rectify the situation promptly. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My room had two king size beds, a lounge chair with ottoman, a couple of side tables with lamps, a round table for 4 (only two chairs); desk; fridge, safe, etc, and room to do cartwheels if one were so inclined. The bathroom had two sinks; toilet and bath were behind a heavy pocket door.

Location: Inconvenient in relation to shows and the Strip.

Value: Inexpensive during the week (under $52 with taxes), significantly more as you get closer to weekends.

Facilities:
Very large casino, although I don’t know enough about them to judge;
bingo hall seats probably 1,000
Very hot hot tub, which I tried
Quite small pool which closes at 8pm, which I did not sample, but which apparently is cooled, as opposed to heated
Bowling alley, hair dresser and gift shop – did not sample these
32 hole golf course – did not have time to play.
Valet parking

Restaurants:
TGIFridays with bar and outdoor patio – they also service the pool area;
Siena Café, where you are served,
the buffet where only drinks are served to your table.

Buffet Food: There is a lot of choice but most of the food is prepared far in advance. Tons of desserts (at breakfast?). Very small fresh fruit and fresh vegetable selection. The food was okay, but pretty expensive (almost $10 with the gambling card discount) for the little that I eat for breakfast. Others have commented on the food types, so you might want to check those reviews.

Getting there from the airport:
BY BUS: North end of the bus route Possible to get there for $2. Trip takes an hour. Buses run every hour until 10 or 11 at night.
BY CAB: Fare before tip about $53 late at night. Add tip and you need $60 for 20 minute trip.

Shopping – all kinds about a 20-30 minute walk away, some across the road, but still quite a ways if you are not used to walking (in high heat).

BEWARE:

ROOM DEALS: If you are in an 8am class, no point in taking the room & breakfast deal, as it means eating at the buffet which does not open until 8 am.

GETTING AROUND: Can be difficult to get a cab to come pick you up. Cabbies for the company that services this hotel now have to pay their own gasoline so they will drive you from the hotel to shopping but simply do not go pick anyone up at shopping unless they happen to catch a return fare.

AIR QUALITY: I was there Wednesday, Thursday and Friday night. The first night the air was okay in the room. After that cigarette smoke was in the air – it must be impossible to filter it all out. I slept with the sheet over my face.

ATM – some cards are charged a $3.50 service charge PLUS 3.5% of the amount you take out, so $200 will cost you $217.99 (according to the sign on the machine) plus whatever your bank charges! I used Interac on a Canadian bank and for some reason $200 cost me $203.50.

VALET PARKING - takes time to retrieve your car on weekends so leave ample time for the wait.

Room Tip: Must specify a non-smoking room - smoking permitted in the casino and probably elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlleVast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Suncoast around 4 or 5 times a year for 8 years now. I have watched the Buffet and the Cafe go from good to bad to good. Now it is terrible. We went to the buffet for breakfast. It opens at 8am. We were one of the first 20 people to be seated. We found a limited quantity in choices for breakfast and a lot of the food was cool. The scrambled eggs were dry and cold. The hashbrowns were dry and cold. Even the gravy for the biscuits was only warm. I waited in line for about 20 minutes to get a fresh made omelet because the cook was making only two at a time. We had gone to the Cafe for dinner one night and was again disappointed in the food and especially the service. I had ordered a 16oz. porterhouse steak cooked medium rare and my wife had the prime rib sandwich. No way was that a 16oz. steak. By the time I cut off the fat and gristle on the outside, I had about 8 ozs. left. The prime rib was dry as a bone. They gave my wife a cup of beef juice for dipping and that was so salty it was not usable. Our waitress took our order and delivered the food. That was it. I had to flag down a busboy to get more water. It took almost 5 minutes to get our check and she came dashing out from the back all smiles. When the cashier asked how our dinner was I told her exactly what I have written here. She shrugged her shoulders and handed me my credit card receipt. I love the hotel and most of the staff is outstanding. The buffet and Cafe have become places to stayt away from.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are well worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel out of the crowded strip area. Well kept rooms but pool area could use a little jazzing up. First problem I had was there we're only 2 bath towels left each day even after complaining, Second staff at check in is not very welcoming. Third you must pay for Internet, it's 2013 this should be free!!!

Room Tip: Ask for mountain side it's breathtaking. Otherwise you are over looking the roof!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Suncoast Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding the cocktail service on the casino floor. We must apologize that your experience with us was unsatisfactory; this is not in line with our usual high service standards. Your comments have been forward to Casino Management. We appreciate you bringing this to the attention of the service desk. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was clean and modern although the beds & pillows were hard. The view of the golf course and mountains behind were awesome. Checkout was easy, available on the TV screen in the room. The complimentary breakfast buffet was more than anyone could want or eat.
I would have rated this 5 stars if it weren't for the hidden charges of $5.60 per day "Resort Fee". When I questioned the desk as to what this was for, I was told it is for the amenities such as the safe in the room, coffee, exercise room etc. Since I didn't use any of these, I felt it was a rip off. Especially since they charge you if you want to use the wireless internet on top of the "resort fee". I had to pay an additional $6.95 to check in and print out my airline boarding passes! Why not just include this in the price of the room and don't nickel and dime people to death. This was the first place I've stayed in a long time, even including the Netherlands, that used this low class approach.

Room Tip: You have to ask for non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#53 of 263 in Las Vegas
5,688 reviews
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#75 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Hotel and Casino

Property: Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Address: 9090 Alta Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89145-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncoast Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Las Vegas
Suncoast Hotel Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing