We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Didn't stay here, but ate and gambled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Ranked #77 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
348 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Didn't stay here, but ate and gambled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We didn't stay here, but we did at another Boyd Property. We get offers to come here all the time, but it's just so far away from the Strip and other things you want to do. We only come to Las Vegas about once a year and staying here would just be way too far. We did come to see it and check it out and ate lunch in the Buffet. It’s your basic Boyd Buffet…Always Good and a Great Value. I was a little disappointed how tight the slots were here. I play at Boyd Properties all over the Country and these are the tightest ones I have ever come across. I guess it’s because it’s so far out they just don’t have a lot of competition. If you coming to Las Vegas a seldom as we do stay at The Orleans or one of the Boyd Properties on Fremont Street Downtown, you will enjoy it a lot more. If you drive to the top level of the parking garage you can see a great view of the Las Vegas Strip.

Room Tip: Unless you Golf, there isn't really a reason to stay way out here if you only come to Las Vegas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    338
    108
    41
    25
See reviews for
180
265
75
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Suncoast for the second time in about a year. As a second visit, it did seem that the room had a little more wear than on our first visit. But still it was clean and seemed newer than many other high traffic hotels in Las Vegas. The hotel rooms are very large and quite clean. The bathroom had very nice fixtures (I believe from Kohler) including double sinks. We liked the pillows, but the mattress seemed a little soft or worn for my tastes. The sheets were very clean. One minor flaw is that we paid a little extra for a room with a golf course view. While we did get a nice view, it was marred by the fact that we were also overlooking the giant HVAC fans and plant just below our window. That giant HVAC system seems to serve the casino well as it seemed to have better air circulation system than a lot of the others. Cigarette smoke was not as problematic as in many Las Vegas hotel casinos. The facilities are nice with plenty of food options, a nice casino and movie theatre and bowling alley. The bowling alley bar with its beer served properly cold was a nice place to hang out one evening after returning from a night out. Other than the view from the room, my only other complaint is the additional $5 per night “resort fee”. I would rather just be quoted the additional $5 fee as part of the room cost, than feel like I was being nickel and dimed when reviewing the bill at check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob-PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalNeva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for almost a week while hubby was teaching a class in Las Vegas. First the regular rooms are very large, (550 sq ft.), very clean, have great views of the golf course. No issue with the rooms at all. The hotel registration staff was very friendly and courteous as were all the waitstaff in all of the restaurants we ate in.
Now for the food in the restaurants: Oyster Bar: Sushi was pretty blah, not much flavor but rolled ok. Go to a dedicated sushi restaurant if you want real sushi. Green side salad contained "old" lettuce, a few thin carrots, one slide of tomato. Whole salad was wilted and pretty bad. Could not eat it. Husbands seafood pasta was fairly good. St.Tropez buffet: As buffets go in LV we would rate it a 5 out of 10. Some food was dropped into others from sloppy guests. Staff was not really on top of the messes.
Sienna Cafe: Probably the worst Eggs Benedict and hash browns we have ever had. Hollandaise sauce tasted like lemon sugar frosting and hash browns were burned and had the consistency of rubber. Coasta Cantina: This was our best bet. Food was tasty and reasonably fresh. Bagel Deli: regular deli fare but lots of food for your money.
The Casino: We have been to numerous hotel/casinos over the years but this by far has to be the smokiest, most dirty air of them all. Even when there did not seem to many smokers around the air would make you choke, and cause your eyes to burn. We realize this is a casino atmosphere and smoke is to expected, but not to the point of making people feel sick. As much as we love this hotel with its friendly staff, the smoke issue may be a deal breaker for us and our friends in the future. Would like to see the restaurants, I.e. Cafe Sienna, Oyster Bar try to put fresh, unburned higher quality food out. We ended up started to eat off property later in the week.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DaSilvaCalNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent 5 days at the Suncoast while at golf school nearby. My rating is based on value for money. The base rate of $69 for a large room with a gorgeous view of the Badlands Golf Course and distant mountains was tough to beat. The room had all the amenities you expect in best hotels. The bath was complete with 2 sinks and separate shower/bathroom. The only extra costs were a $5 resort fee and $5 per day for Internet access.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the experience was totally positive. I tried 4 restaurants in the hotel and all were good to excellent. These included the Buffet (good), Cafe Sienna (good), Bagels and Cream (excellent) and The Mexican restaurant (excellent). All were fairly priced by Las Vegas standards.

The Suncoast is part of the Boyd Group of hotels who are more nearly representative of the old Las Vegas. The do not have glitz, a great show or high prices. The casino was busy and full of smokers, but that is common in all of Las Vegas.

This is not a location for visitors planning much time on the strip (6 miles a way) but for golfing, visiting friends in Sun City or a relaxing Las Vegas slot machine vacation I rate it a 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mactravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Nelson, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We met friends at the Suncoast recently and enjoy a great weekend. Clean rooms, lots to do and lots of places to enjoy good food. The rooms are large and comfortable with a large flat screen tv, a sofa, and king size bed with plenty of room to move around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Most Las Vegas places give lower rates on Sunday through Thursday. We found a great online deal for 3 nights, Sunday-Wednesday for under $30 a night. Large clean room with a king bed and sofa sleeper. There is a safe, a tiny refrigerator was included, and coffee maker, but no microwave. There were double sinks in the bathroom, and everything was spotless. It's away from the strip area,with less surrounding noise. The hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. The complex has bowling, a pool +spa, good selection of restaurants, and movie theaters, as well as gaming.
If you don't mind being away from the strip, give this place a try.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet, but upper floors away from elevators are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bet711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a very nice surprise to find the Suncoast Hotel & Casino (at a great rate, Too!). Our Room # 553, was large & spacious, 100%, clean & comfortable, with a King size bed, decent pillows, flat screen TV & in-room coffeemaker. The room was well insulated, as we did not hear any noise from outside or the other rooms/hallways. The Air Conditioning worked perfectly, and the housekeeping staff did a great job making up our room (as it should be!) The Suncoast has a choice of restaurants, as well as the usual all-u-can eat buffet. The room was only a short walk & elevator ride from the casino, and we never had to wait for the elevator our entire stay! Check-in (as well as check-out) was fast & smooth, and the front desk help, as well as all the staff that we encountered at the Suncoast were very friendly & helpful! Overall Rating ~ Very Good!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Paradise
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#76 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Paradise
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#45 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Hotel and Casino

Property: Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Address: 9090 Alta Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89145-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#59 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#83 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suncoast Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Suncoast Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Las Vegas
Suncoast Hotel Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing