We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but the course needs attention”

Las Vegas National Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Play where Tiger Woods won his first tournament, and the "RAT PACK" played and entertained. When you play golf at Las Vegas National Golf Club, you will forget you are in the desert. This exquisite championship golf course, conveniently located only 5 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, is the former host of the PGA Tour’s Tournament of Champions, Sahara Invitational and the Las Vegas Invitational. Classic in design, this course combines rolling fairways, glistening lakes and greens well protected by palm, pine and olive trees. Just after completion in 1961, The National, then called the Stardust Country Club, hosted its first professional golf event, the LPGA Championship. From that date forward history was made. The layout, designed by Bert Stamps, is traditional and is a challenge for the best of players. The National has become a landmark over the last 50 years. It was host to the movie “Casino”, starring Robert DeNiro, Sharon Stone and Joe Pesci.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value but the course needs attention”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Friendly staff, good facilities and good value (70 dollars for 18 holes, cart, clubs, 6 balls and basket of range ball) make this course worth considering. It's a straightforward course, with wide fairways and a couple of nice holes, but nothing very memorable. Many of the greens are ver patchy as are many of the fairways and strangely there are no hole markers - no indication at all as to which hole you are paying. The clubhouse is very nice, but again no signs showing the main entrance. If you're on a budget then it is worth a try, but otherwise try somewhere else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robaxeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coy W, Manager at Las Vegas National Golf Club, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Nuneaton, United Kingdom

Good Afternoon Sir,
Thank you for your recent comment about Las Vegas National Golf Club. Unfortunately, you were correct, in the desert we change our grass out from Bermuda grass to Rye grass in September as the Bermuda will be going dormant in the next few weeks. When you played our new Rye grass had not fully developed, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
Our course is numbered at the Tees, but we do not number the greens, as attached.
Again thank you for your time in letting us know or shortfalls,

Coy Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    16
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This course was in great shape for early October. They had recently overseeded so the rough was quite thick, the fairways were in good shape and the greens were running pretty good. Only one particularly spotty green (18).

Nice course with everything right there in front of you. The course is relatively open in that you can miss it a little and still find it. You will have tree issues but it won't be lost.

IMHO this is a great course for the first round of a golf trip. Close to the strip, reasonably priced, very friendly staff, they will store your luggage during your round if you have just jumped off the plane and you can work out a few kinks in your swing if you haven't played for a few week/months.

I have golfed several courses in Vegas (15+) and this is the first time here and I will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jboToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful Golf Course”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great golf course. This course was such in beautiful shape when I played it last week. Such in nice shape that I decided to play the next day again. I had such a welcoming experience when I first walked in at the Pro Shop. Travis, made every effort to accommodate me. The golf course was in lush green conditions. Everything was very well maintained. Felt as though I was playing a top notch course. The holes are very challenging, you have to shape your shots off the tee box. Or else the fairway runs out on you and your in the rough. But the rough is forgiving. Greens are small so accuracy is key. It would have been helpful if I was playing a softer ball which would have held the greens better. The homes around the course are reminiscent of old Vegas. The Creek, which had previous complaints has been cleaned up. In order for you to even be near the Creek, you have to hit such a bad slice about 35 yards off the fairway to be near it. Other than that, it does not really come into play at all. All the pin placements are very well guarded by bunkers. Luckily, my sand game was on, and i was able to put the ball close to the hole whenever I needed to hit out of the bunkers.

Overall, I had a wonderful experience and wanted to express my gratitude especially to the staff who assisted me when I arrived. Travis your the man!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Improving all the time.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff is always friendly, course is always getting better, the creek got cleaned up. I am there every Wednesday and love it. The food is decent too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegasinfiniti35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
530 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great Value Course near to the Strip”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great value course near the Strip. Course was in good condition. Unfortunately the area is bringing the course down, there was a ton of beat-up houses around the course and there was a ton of trash in all the creeks/riverbeds. Hope they can clean it up.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nattysimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Vegas National Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Las Vegas National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing