We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going through some changes but it was an excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort
Ranked #38 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We passed 4 days in the wonderful resort. It was great, the rooms were big, with kitchenettes and a swimming pool always close.

The front desk staff was very pleasant.

The staff from the vacation station was not very helpful, I asked for them to call us a taxi and I was told that it was the bellman's job. I always find that funny when a staff in a hotel doesn't help another collegue when they are in a rush!

The rooms were very clean, but they will not change your towels, even f you leave them on the floor.

Location was great, we were able to walk to the Strip.

The bellman Patrick was AWESOME! Nice, assked about our experience, helped with all the luggage we had, and he even took 5 minutes to come and sit down with us in the lobby! Thumbs up to him!

Next time I am in Las Vegas, I will go there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascalelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went for a week in October. We had done our research and knew this was a self help condo resort. We were one of two couples in a two bedroom unit at the back, on the ground floor with the patio facing the parking lot. We soon learned the shuttle schedule and also used the carts a few times to get to the front of the resort. At this time the Grill was still open and we used it several times for reasonably priced, tasty meals. The pool in our building was warm and the hot tub was indeed hot. The concierge at the front desk, Ms Brooks, was really professional, and helped us book several tours and a car for two days.On check out they were swift to get us at 4 AM and had already booked a cab, which was there when we arrived at the front desk. In all a very comfortable stay with two caveats. We didn't like the high step into the tub and open plan of the one bedroom's bath, and we had to say "no" three times to the time share reps. But the reps weren't that pushy, just doing their job. We will probably go back in a year or so , once the huge ferris wheel is completed in the large lot opposite the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent 3 nights in early November 2012. Front desk registration was easy and the employee that checked us in was very helpful. The resort was previously an apartment complex. Our unit was 1-bedroom with a nice living area, fully furnished kitchen, large walk-in closet, and bathroom with a massive tub. There was also a laundry room (located off the balcony) with a full-size washer and dryer. Now, here's where the review becomes negative.....if you want fresh towels and/or linens during your stay, you will have to wash everything yourself so be prepared. There are no housekeeping services here. If you enjoy coffee, bring your own. The resort has a small market, and you can buy things there, but be prepared to pay a high price. No restaurant or room service at this resort, so if you want anything to eat or drink while staying in your unit, you must provide it. Our stay required us to attend a 2-hour presentation with a realtor employed by the resort to sell timeshares. Our personal presentation started at 1:30, and we were finally allowed to leave at 4:30. If attending a timeshare presentation is part of your resort package, be sure to do some homework ahead of time. At the end of the presentation, our realtor presented us with an opportunity to purchase a timeshare. We were required to make an immediate decision so we declined the offer. Our realtor then introduced a sales manager who searched his inventory and found us a bargain on a timeshare that someone wanted to sell. Once again, we declined the offer. Our realtor then introduced "the closer" who presented 2 more offers to us, each one decreasing in price. We declined. At that point, we were shown the back door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Hello there and thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests about their vacations. We’re so pleased to hear that your villa and the resort grounds were a positive factor in your vacation. You are correct that we are unlike a traditional resort in some ways. We do not offer daily housekeeping; however housekeeping services are available on demand. Our resort does offer food & beverage services at our Gold Mine Bar and Grill. Our tours are a great way to find out about the amenities available around the resort as well as what vacation ownership can do for you. However, these tours are always optional to our guests. We apologize if we were not able to find a package that fit your travel needs. We would love the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I agree with previous posts about the accomodations. They were "nice" but not spectacular. Don't let the word Villa fool ya. The rooms were clean (they give you a vacumn to be sure they stay that way). the kitchen was well equipped with pots/ glasses/dishes, but be sure you go to the grocery store. You get one pack of coffee, a roll of towel & some dish detergent anything else you have to buy regardless of how long you stay. The washer and dryer on the patio was convenient.

We were there to view a timeshare and we said...eh...no thanks..but we were actually going to consider asking the final guy to go back and get our salesperson cause after thinking...we said we could get it as a gift for our kids for Christmas...BUT when the last guy approached our table, he further ruined the deal. He acted as if, their offer was so wonderful that we were fools not to take it. It was an ok deal...but in VEGAS this resort is at the bottom of the barrel...so their arrogance is certainly unfounded.

It says that the location is just 2 blocks away from the strip and it is..BUT its not as close as you may think. There are shuttles that take you to and from certain spots but there is no easy way to walk back because of the location and the construction so you are at the mercy of the shuttle schedule or taxis.

The concierge desk was the BOMB. They helped us find a really good 3 for 1 deal on a gondola ride, wax museum and lunch. They also got us shuttle ride there and back to Fremont street. We arent big gamblers so besides shows, weren't sure of what else to do. They really helped plan our trip.

Probably would not go back to that resort. There were WAY too many other places in Vegas that we would like to consider now.

Room Tip: Take a high floor to avoid noise...BUT remember there are NO elevators. So be prepared for stairs or...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Queencdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Hi there and thank you so much for your review. We are disappointed to hear that the resort did not live up to your vacation expectations. We are constantly striving to make sure that all of our guests have the very best vacation experience possible. As such, we always encourage our guests to let us know if there is ever anything that we can do to make their stay more pleasant. Our tours are a great way to learn how vacation ownership can change the way that you travel. However, we understand that vacation ownership is not for everyone and we appreciate you considering us. We’re pleased to hear that our concierge were able to help you make your stay that much more fun. We would love to have you back again to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a week in a two-bedroom unit at the end of October 2012. The room was spacious and clean. The resort runs a shuttle to the strip and Fremont Street, which is convenient. Despite the fact that the resort is only a block off of the Strip (on a street parallel to LV Blvd.), it was difficult to walk there due to lots of construction, etc. We had a rental car, so it wasn't that big a deal. Hopefully this situation will improve with time. I would definitely recommend this resort and would most likely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Hi there, it’s great to hear from you. We always love hearing all about how our guests spent their time with us. We understand that construction can make Las Vegas tricky to navigate. However, were glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle and your own rental car to get you where you wanted to go. Thanks again for the recommendation, and we look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

It has all the basic needs to get convinience and necessities for a vacation with family. Washer and dryer included on the unit. Fully functional kitchen and rooms are big but a little bit old style looking atmosphere. BUT timeshare sales people are very pushy and goes to the point that we felt insulted and being disrespected. Their aggressive style of selling is the bad experience in the vacation

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dlorencito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Hi there and thanks for your review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are disappointed in your sales experience. It is never our intent to give our guests the feeling of pressure. Our staff is always excited to show you a better way to vacation, and we apologize if that passion felt like pressure. We would love the opportunity to host you again for more vacation fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in this resort for the past 4 years while having a "girls week" in Las Vegas, we typically have a 2 bedroom unit but almost 25% of the resort is going through major unit renevation so not much was available and we took the 1 bedroom unit as we had stayed in one 4 years ago.

It turns out there are 2 different styles and the "standard" 1 bedroom was much smaller. We must have had a "deluxe" unit in the past. It would be fine for a couple traveling together but not so much for a girls weekend. The bathroom was extremely incovenient as it is open to the bedroom so not a lot of privacy for showering and the sink area was very small and difficult for 2 women to get ready at the same time.

The restaurant is also closed until spring for renovation and the little convenience store prices are not exactly competetive. The pools are nice and the unit is well furnished and appointed. We took advantage of the free shuttle service to the strip almost every day and they have golf cards to pick you up and transport you to the front desk. It is a very quick drive to the stip and they have 3 dropoff points and also shuttle service to Freemont street. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. One change I did not like is they do not do the mid week cleaning for timeshare rental, so you had to call for towel exchanges.

Overall we like the resort but our stay was less than ideal this time due to the unit size, and they have closed the road across from the resort which allowed us easy daytime walking to the strip. The unit is located behind the Imperial Palace and used to be a quick walk. Apparently they are building some kind of adult amusement park which should definitely add to the experience when it opens in the spring.

If you can get the larger unit at a good price it is worth it to stay there, it is clean, well appointed, has good security and the location is not bad.

Room Tip: When it comes to this resort the larger the unit the better. The resort has 3 floors and no elevato...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,349 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,442 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort

Address: 3950 Koval Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4702 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Las Vegas - Desert Club Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $124 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only one block from the famous Las Vegas Strip, Holiday Inn Club Vacations(R) at Desert Club Resort offers the best of both worlds. Enjoy a quiet oasis with non-stop excitement close by in one of the most exciting entertainment destinations in the world. From world-class performers and live shows to incredible dining and casino action, nothing beats like the heart of Vegas-and you'll be right in the middle of it! The resort features villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. Many amenities have been refurbished or added to enhance your stay experience. This includes a newly expanded poolside restaurant and bar, state-of-the-art clubhouse, large Marketplace store, two fitness centers and family activity center. You'll also enjoy five heated outdoor pools open from 6am until midnight, plus putting green and shuffleboard courts and outdoor grilling stations with shaded seating areas. Guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services around the large property and to stops at some of the largest casinos on the Las Vegas Strip, which is located only one block from the resort. It includes a stop at the Freemont Street Experience, one of the most popular outdoor attractions in downtown Vegas. Experience world-class live entertainment from top performers such as Celine Dionne and Rod Stewart, shows like Cirque Du Solei's Beatles LOVE and O, incredible restaurants from top chefs and incredible night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Club Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing