We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely adequate...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
Ranked #174 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This motel is worse than other Motel 6's I have stayed in. Although the rooms are renovated, they were dirty with hair in the shower, dust and hair swept in the corner. A door that barely closed properly.

It is located just across from the MGM Grand...but it is like staying in the red-light district. Some of my favorites: The extended family staying in two rooms that were using a propane tank and grill to cook their meals in the room; some knucklehead at 6AM constantly knocking on her door to get in - 3 times no less - you think the miscreant would have taken their key..people wandering around the hotel that looked like they just got out of prison, 4AM noise from God-knows who was wandering around the motel area.

Check-in and check-out were smooth and easy though. And the wi-fi was good, so no complaints there. The upgraded rooms are interesting design - sort of Ikea like - bed was fine although the sheets were a step above sand paper and seemed sticky....

Like other Motel 6 - the toilets sounded like a 747 when flushed.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 511 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

The newly renovated and redesigned rooms are surprisingly nice compared to what many of us are used to when we think of Motel 6. As far as I could tell (from watching rooms being cleaned mid-day and people leaving their door/curtains open) all these rooms have been upgraded. The photos showing the upgraded decor and design (posted by others) are very accurate.

One really great feature is the jack below the wall-mounted flat screens. These accept almost all types of external hookups for video games, dvd players and even a VGA input for hooking up your laptop. I've never seen this variety of jacks all in one place, at any other hotel chain.

My room was clean and looked great when I arrived. I arrived in Vegas much earlier than expected and the staff really helped in getting me checked in as early as possible instead of waiting until 3pm. They even have a 50 cent locker rental for luggage so you can go sight seeing while you wait for your room (if you don't have a car).

The biggest downside was the bed. When I sat on it, my butt immediately sunk down and hit the board supporting the mattress (there's no box spring). It felt almost like the bed was just a layer of springs wrapped in some heavy material (not literally of course). It was terribly uncomfortable. The pillows were fully and nice though.

Other downsides were the internet connection and layout of the property. As for internet access, it's cheap ($3) but it is as slow (or slower) than dial-up. They either need more access points or a new provider. As for property layout, there are SO many buildings on such a huge piece of property that if you're at the complete opposite end of the Office, you've got a VERY long walk anytime you want to walk out to the street, or even just the pool.

All in all, it's one of the better Motel 6 properties that I've stayed in. Great value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcloward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Traveling through Vegas on our way to Oregon; hadn't been in Vegas in many years. Chose the Motel 6 downtown on Tropicana, right in the heart of all the action. Very reasonable price, very nice room, perfectly pleasant stay. The property has a concierge, which made me laugh.Front desk help was very nice and got us a room where we could park van and trailer very near. Beds were fine, everything in the room worked. Recently renovated. We were NOT interested in night life, but we had a nice peaceful night. LOTS of security around the (very large) property. Beautiful, big, very nicely landscaped pool. Great place to stay if you want to be in the thick of it!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with any kind of trailer be sure you tell the front desk folks know so they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobwebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

this motel is located on the main stip, easy access to all the good casinos. Down side was lots of homeless and Girls knocking doors at night time..Very cheap, budget type motel, I had to pay for using their internet.

Room Tip: Check the room before renting~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rency L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My brother and I stayed in Las Vegas from 9/14 to 9/17 at this motel 6. First thing I have to say is we were very surprised and pleased with this motel's location. It sits literally a block away from the center of the big major strip hotels, New York New York, Excalibur, Tropicana and MGM grand. Worked out for us because we were in town to see the Canelo-Lopez fight at the MGM grand. Upon first entering the room, we noticed that it was quite small. It is much smaller then the standard size rooms at the casino strip hotels. The beds were a bit stiff and took some getting used to before you felt comfortable, but manageable nonetheless. The room looked like it was recently renovated, and it had a 32" flatscreen with external ports for HDMI, VGA and RCA audio/video. We were able to hookup our laptop to the tv screen and watch our netflix movies/tv shows on the flatscreen when there wasn't something on we wanted to watch, so that worked out great for us. You must purchase internet by the day extra as its not included in the regular hotel fee, but it was $2.99 a day so that wasn't bad. The restroom was small but manageable, very clean and well stocked with towels. The shower is VERY small and if your tall and big you may have a tough time bending down in it and moving around, so just a heads up. The toilet worked great also.. You know how some toilets flush and the water goes down so slowwwwly to where it makes you wonder as to whether or not your excrementation is gonna go down or just stay floating there? Or maybe like half of it goes down but some stays floating? Not with this! Im happy to say our.. excrementation, both liquid and solids, got sucked down that toilet quicker then you can say "Ohh --!".. No Joke. Theres a shower/toilet room, and thats connected to a small hallway that has a sink, and there are doors between that hallway the act as a barrier between the restroom and the main room. These doors have NO LOCK on them, they just close. This wasn't a bother for my brother and me,but if your someone who insists on secure bathroom privacy (or your staying with immature friends in your room), this might be a problem for you. No Fridges, but the room has an ice bucket and there are ice machines located on the property to serve your ice cold needs, just bring a cooler. The TV has the basic local channels and basic cable channels (ESPN, CNN, Comedy Central) just to name a few and it has 2 HBO channels. Maid service is usually in the afternoon and our room was always freshly made each time we returned, be sure to tip, this is Vegas after all. The only gripes I have about this motel and Im sure its a hotel chain policy, is that it doesn't offer early check-in or late check-out. Well, it did have a "late" check out if you want to call it that. The normal check-out time is 11am, thier late check-out is 11:30am. They have absolutely no early check-in, you have to purchase the entire prior day if you want to check in any earlier then the 3pm normal check-in time. All in all, I have to say that this motel 6 is a Good alternative to the big strip hotels if your looking to save money yet still be close to the action. Including the daily internet fee, it only cost us around $58 a night for us and we were there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room furthest away from the Lobby if you want some peace & quiet. Thier seems to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Drove from LA to Vegas for a couple of days, hadnt booked any accom so after a few stops at some of the less known hotels (!) we found this place...the price was reasonable, we paid a little extra for a recently refurbished room so the decor was new, clean & modern. 5 min walk to MGM/NY NY junction on the strip. Airport across the road but hardly noticable at all, runway is on the other side so we didnt hear any aircraft noise! Ended up staying an extra night! Nice pool area too...Actual stay...April 2009!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Off Tropicana from eastbound interstate turn left, go over overpass and turn left on Dean Martin and your destination is on your right. Rooms stink from smoke but at least there was no head lice found. Summer rates should not apply at this time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliciaRahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
Hooters Casino Hotel
#70 of 265 in Las Vegas
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western McCarran Inn
#80 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,528 reviews
The Strip
Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana

Address: 195 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-7324
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $44 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana 2*
Number of rooms: 607
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Motel 6 Tropicana
Motel Six Las Vegas
Las Vegas Motel 6
Las Vegas Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing