We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is more than Ok for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower
Ranked #113 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It is more than Ok for the money”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Its a good 15-20 mins walk from where the action is in the strip. If you dont have a car (we did) or dont want to take the bus, better pay a little extra and stay closer.

That been said, for the price ($50 per day) it was more than ok for us. The lobby is a little tacky but you get your free elevator to the top of a 120 stories tower. The view from here is really something, the rides on the top are a lot of fun and the bar on floor 107 is really nice. I do recommend hitting 4 to 7PM when is martini-only happy hour, they are a little sweet but the view from the spinning bar is definitely worth it.

Rooms are ok, ours was pretty basic, nice bathroom, no view, cheap movie rentals. The bed and pillows a little uncomfortable ut ok... what really bother us was moisture control inside the rooms. Basically no humidity, had problems breathing and your skin suffers quite a bit.


The service was something outstanding on this hotel. everybody was very courteous and attentive.

Will I stay again? perhaps...with a car and for 60 or under.Otherwise recommend closer to strip for 70 or 80 dollars per day.

Room Tip: It the happy hour on the bar107 4pm to 7pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelorrucho38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,542
    4,602
    2,980
    1,033
    802
See reviews for
2,710
4,514
710
538
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently visited the the Stratosphere Hotel in Las Vegas. I was impressed from the moment I arrived with the valet parking and the quick and friendly front desk check-in process. The price was very reasonable which included unlimited visits of the tower. The view was fantastic!!! The hotel featured restaurants from McDonald's to five star gourmet and a few inbetween. The hotel is located at the northern end of the strip away from a lot of the crowd and congestion but that was a plus. A long walk but a short drive or taxis ride from the main part of the strip. The rooms have recently been upgraded and were clean and large. They also have rooms with handicap facilities for guest that need them. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget or traveling with the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank got2go46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We liked it very much. It has big rooms (as everywhere in LV I think), nice buffet on the first floor where you can have breakfest, lunch and dinner and they have various kitchen, nice atmosphere. We stayed only for 2 nights but it was nice stay if you want to save money and not to pay more for staying in the ceneter of strip you can stay there. Yes, it is a bit far away from such famous hotels like Venetian, Paris and Bellagio but it is just 10 minuts trip by taxi and it is cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were a little disappointed with the location in that it is a fair walk to where everything is happening.
On our first day we reported that the sink took 20 minutes to drain.Five days later still the same.
No fridge. Ice machines available but our nearest was just on 150 metres away. Of the 15 or so places we stayed in the U.S. the Stratosphere was the only one that charged for internet. (at $12 a day it mounts up).
Complaints over, the rooms were clean and comfortable and if you want to try hair-raising rides/jumps the ones on the tower are probably the most hair-raising and the hotel's 'Resort Fee' gives admission to the tower to watch

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelJay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The rooms are big and clean and the service people are very supportive. The price of the hotel is very reasonable and included is the visit of the tower.
This hotel had everything...restaurants, shops, McDonald's, and even a tattoo shop! It is located at the end if the strip.

Room Tip: If you like to view the strip this is just a little fee extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Stratosphere Hotel the first few days of Dec 2012.

We paid for our room at an online site and got a good deal. Therefore we expected to be put in the 'older rooms' which we were. It was still a decent room in the North Tower. We could see the mountains past the parking structure out our window.

There were a few minor irritations and one BIG annoyance. The big thing first, the housekeepers knocked AS THEY OPENED THE DOOR AND LOOKED IN. Meaning that first we heard the card slide and then the door crack open and then the knock. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in my life and have never had the staff just walk in like that. SO, be SURE to put the Do Not Disturb sign up and hopefully they won't barge in. There was NO CHAIN LOCK OR BOLT on our door.

Now for the minor things; the elevators on the North Tower are a bit rickety, our remote control did not work very well, had to push the buttons multiple times to turn on or off, change the channel and so on. Also, the toilet had to be flushed 3-5 times to get things to go down...just normal things. The bathrooms are also small with the sink outside. No fridge (not even a tiny one)...no microwave, but that is typical of Las Vegas hotels. Also the little table was so wobbly we were afraid to use it. Limited electrical outlets would have been a problem if we had not been traveling with two surge protectors with multiple outlets. The bathroom fan could be heard from about a mile down the road. The air conditioner was unfortunatelly placed so close to the bed that whoever slept on that side was frozen before the air could reach the person on the other bed.

There are a few good things as well. When you stay at the hotel you get to go up in the tower for free, there are a few activities for the kids, (however the pool was closed for the season during our stay), there are reasonably priced food shops at the Stratosphere, and it is a short walk to Denny’s, Burger King, Carl’s Jr. and Circle K. If you have a car there are several grocery stores with-in a five minute drive.

I was told that it would be $50.00 per night to upgrade to a jr. suite and $100.00 per night for a two queen bed suite. This would be a ball park number since it varies by season and availably.

Please be aware that there is a $7.50 resort fee over and above your regulare room rate. I cannot seem to put my finger on what the resort fee covers. I guess I should have asked, because it did not seem very 'resort' like and there were no extras...like coffee or a morning paper provided.

Interent is and addtional $11.99 per day PER DEVICE. Thankfully we had our own wireless hotspot.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rblbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We (spouse and 15 year old) had stayed at Stratosphere a few years ago and the boys stayed in late summer, so I figured it would be okay, especially as upgrades had been made. The hallways had obviously been upgraded since I was last there and they looked quite refined. However, the impression that we were in an upgraded area evaporated when we entered the 'upgraded' room for which we paid. The beds seemed nice, but the rest of the room screamed Motel 6. The bathroom was very, very small, meaning only a shower/tub and toilet and you had to shut the door before you sat down. Barely room to change your mind. The new modular shower/tub unit had multiple shelves to put bath products. The sink was outside, with very little space to put shaving kits/makeup bags. No closet, but a rack for hanging clothes and a folding rack for a suitcase as well as a multi drawer dresser, one nightstand, 2 chairs and small table round out the furnishings. A flat screen TV sat on the dresser. A window gave a view of the mountains (we decided not to pay even more for a strip view) and that is where the noisy ventilation unit resided. It blew cold air on whoever unfortunately had the right side of the bed.
As we were plugging in various gadgets, we found the 4 outlets behind the bed did not have a face plate. Fire or shock hazard? Room 130, floor 19. Otherwise it seemed clean and functional.
Dislikes: Noisy halls and kids running from one end to the other, $7.50 resort fee, (for what?certainly isn't a 'resort', no coffee, fridge or paper in the morning), towels were scratchy
Likes: bed linens and beds comfortable, plenty of parking, access to the top of the hotel to experience the view
I would only stay at this hotel again if nothing else was available or I upgraded to more expensive rooms. But then again, spending more money, I could probably get a better room elsewhere. This property is so far from anything, you have to drive or take other transportation. Maybe for someone who is on a tight budget this is the place to be as sharing a room would be inexpensive.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators (3 sets). Would imagine either end of the hallways would be most quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelizgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,230 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#78 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,489 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,574 reviews
Golden Nugget Hotel
#90 of 262 in Las Vegas
10,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower

Property: Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower
Address: 2000 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104-2507
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#57 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing