We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Casuarina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Ranked #86 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Westin Casuarina”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Rooms are nice. Gotta love the Heavenly Beds. Desk was nice for working while in the hotel.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank jiffwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    1,269
    619
    274
    188
See reviews for
425
874
206
996
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband ,sister,brother in law and my self spent 3 wonderful days at this delightful hotel,which included New Years Eve. It was our first trip to Las Vegas in almost 30 years.
I cant tell you what a delightful hotel this is. From the front desk as we checked in to the concierge to the staff all we saw were smile and helpful people.the room was spectacular.the bed devine clean and restful.the hotel restaurant was incredible.My sisters room had a problem with the shower and someone was up to solve it in minutes.
the bar ,the casino are small, intimate and a pleasure to come back to after all the commotion in the bigger hotels.
If every hotel we go to could have all the pluses that we experienced in this hotel no one would ever complain about their accommodations again.besides its kid and pet friendly,even though we had neither you would never know they were there.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texannedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2010

If you are looking for a cool, chill place off of The Strip, but close enough, look no further than the W. Stayed there for a week in 2006. You get taken care of, if you play. For $89, I was upgraded to a suite. They also serve a complimentary breakfast in bed.

You are on Flamingo Road, so you have access for a $5 cab ride to the strip, or, if you head east on Flamingo, you can hit the Tuscany. Best Poker room in Vegas. No shills or yokles running game on you. Plus, you are right near Paradise Road, which has every restaurant that you can possibly think of.

The W. or the Tuscany. I recommend it to anyone who wants a mellow trip to Vegas.

Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RKKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Yes as a Platinum SPG I went for the points. Not a good choice, even at $99. I will not stay here again. There are SO MANY better hotels in Vegas. $15 resort fee? I complained bitterly to the front desk and it was removed from the bill. What a joke. Lots of people obviously complain and the staff will begrudgingly remove the charge. One staff member said the owner instituted the charge to up revenue and could care less what impression it makes on guests. OOPS.
If you walk from the strip to this hotel which is about 1/2 mile off the strip you'll be walking past a bunch of dingy strung out street people. We got asked for money, for sex and for drinks on our late night walks back to the hotel because we weren't about to sit around an ugly dated hotel or hang out in the ugly dated casino. The casino is small and dingy, ceilings are low in the hallways and rooms because the place is OLD, view from the rooms suck. I wouldn't even tell my in-laws to stay here.
There are lots of decent three star hotels on the strip that beat this hands down. Just because you belong to Starwood don't make the mistake of staying here. It's really not worth it. We were completely underwhelmed.
Unfortunately now that Planet Hollywood is no longer part of Sheraton, this hotel will probably get a bump in Starwood bookings just because some people automatically book a Starwood property to get their points. That's one mistake we won't make again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This property really doesn't belong in the Westin chain. The views are uninspiring as it is not right on the strip. Decent price. Rather low key atmosphere and casino--no flash or dazzle. Room and bar area was unispiring. Vegas has too many other choices to consider this one again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89VTGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Two buddies and I stayed at the Westin Las Vegas back in October 2009. It was a nice hotel with the "heavenly beds", clean rooms, bathrooms were well stocked. Rooms were okay in size, but we didnt' spend much time in them. Overall, not the WESTIN experience I expected..almost seemed like they bought an older property (Holiday Inn or something like that) and remodelled it under the Westin name. We joked that it was the YMCA of the Westin chain. A bit of an exagerration because it was a nice place to stay. I'd compare it to a 4 star Westin or a 5 Star Holiday Inn.

The rooftop pool was average at best, small pool for Las Vegas...but it was clean and secure too. We could order drinks from a phone by the pool.

There was only one restaurant choice, so we ate elsewhere all week. We booked the room through Priceline and upon check-in we were charged and extra $15 / night resort fee. Which was to cover the free daily newspaper (who reads that in Vegas), Starbucks coffee in the room (isn't that just standard) and the 5pm to 7pm Happy Hour (HELLO!!!!). Needless to say, we made up our $15 per night at the happy hour!

Overall, it was a good 4 night stay with a couple buddies. If I was travelling with my girlfriend or wife and wanted something with a nice pool, or amenities, I would stay at a bigger hotel on the strip. We paid $90 / night average (Plus the $15 Resort fee)...I think we could've stayed at the Mirage or MGM for more comparable price.

The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the Strip, but once on the strip you are dead centre of the action. Then the hotel was quiet once we returned.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueyott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This is my second time staying at the Westin Casuarina during New Year's in Vegas, and we chose it because it is a good deal for being one block from the Strip. The rooms fit the Westin standard of being well appointed to and comfortable Heavenly beds. The hotel is one long block from the Strip and across from Bally's and behind Bill's Casino, good location.

My problem with this hotel this time around is that they did not tell us we were going to be charged a service cleaning fee of $15/night. I have never heard of this fee and the fact that they did not mention this upon check in or upon making the reservation is appalling. Hotels always come with cleaning service, AND if I knew we had to pay for it, I would have chosen to not get the room tended to.

Also, the casino manager was very inappropriate. While we were playing at the small casino downstairs, the manager was very touchy feely with everyone around and very inappropriate. We had to leave the casino due to the uncomfortable situation.

Either way I would stay somewhere else on the Strip and skip the Westin except on big night events when this is the only affordable hotel left.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,146 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,627 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#20 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,530 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Property: The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino & Spa is located 1.5 Blocks east of the famous Las Vegas Strip, Forum Shops, Miracle Mile, the LINQ & High Roller observation wheel, World Market and Premium outlet mall. Just minutes to Las Vegas Convention and Sands Expo Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing