We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment at Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Ranked #87 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Disappointment at Westin”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel I was a little early, waited around the lobby till 3pm (check-in time) and asked if my room was ready. I've just arrived from my flight and it was my first time in Las Vegas. The front desk person said no, I don't understand why there would be no rooms available....As well, the front desk people didn't look jolly or welcoming. I've stayed at many Westin Hotels and this by far has to be one of the worse in customer service! On a positive note, the hotel room was not bad, the room was clean and the beds were comfy. The location was okay... not that far of a walk from the strip, and easy access to their public transit. Another complaint I have is that the hotel charged me for two rooms when I only stayed in one. I made several adjustments to my reservations previously, but I confirmed and finalized that I only wanted one room during my stay. When I went back home I had saw on my credit card bill that I was charged twice, I was really upset and called Westin right away with my concern. The lady on the phone who was also rude, gave me a hard time insisting that I reserved two rooms, clearly I didn't. I have proof on my email. You could barely hear her voice, and in between she would pause for long periods of time and I would keep saying "Hello". I honestly wasn't pleased with my phone conversation with her. Overall, my stay here was okay but the customer service was very, very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. We strive to deliver the highest level of customer satisfaction to each of our guests and we regret any difficulties you may have experienced. We are happy you were able to enjoy your accommodations and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    1,261
    615
    273
    187
See reviews for
421
869
206
989
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff at the Westin Las Vegas was really friendly and accommodating! We arrived at 9:30 in the morning, and they stored our bags while we enjoyed a really delicious breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We were in a room by 11am -- very clean and comfortable. The pool area was always low-key and relaxing -- and VERY warm! So many hotels claim to have a heated pool; Westin's pool really was heated and very comfortable in the cooler weather! The hot tub was also wonderful! This was a great place to stay, a bit away from the chaos, but still convenient. Never had to wait in line for a cab!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for kind comments regarding the staff. It was great to have you here and I look forward to sharing your comments. Did you know that we are the only hotel to offer an outdoor heated pool that is open year round? We are thrilled you had a chance to relax and unwind during your visit. The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa is located just one block from the Las Vegas Strip and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is actually closer to the strip then people think. The rooms are really nice. Beds are awesome. The casino is very small but I always seem to win there. Minimal TV's etc. Value is excellent. I'd actually suggest staying here with you significant other if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It is wonderful that you found your stay an excellent value. We are located just one block from the Las Vegas Strip giving our guests the opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area and return to a quiet retreat. We are happy you had the chance to spend some time in our Casuarina Casino. Thank you and we hope to see you again at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I got this hotel for 2 nights through Hotwire. I was initially disappointed when I discovered that it was off the strip but considering that I paid $65/night, I figured it wasn't too bad. Walk to the strip is about 10 mins, agreed with other reviewers that the side of Flamingo Road where you have to walk to the strip is kind of seedy so I wouldn't feel comfortable walking after midnight. No line ups to check in and always found a parking space unlike if you stayed in some of the hotels along the strip. Room was decent and clean. They only offer double beds which wasn't a huge deal since I was travelling with my husband and 2 kids so we managed, Queen beds would have been nice but it was only for 2 nights. We did not eat at the hotel so this is one downside, having to walk a bit further but since we had a car, it was OK. So, if you don't have a car, I would suggest you look elsewhere. Resort fees include wifi for 4 devices, fitness centre is open 24 hours if this is important.

There's also a gas station with a small convenience store right next door.

Overall, pleasant stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyt_go_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
In addition to walking to the area attractions, guests can visit the concierge desk to arrange for transportation or utilize the monorail located across from the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed our location just one block from the Las Vegas Strip and thank you for sharing your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin Las Vegas the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me star with a few back grounds points. I was a travel agent of 5 yrs, travel a few ties per yr

I think the biggest mistake is that they categories this hotel as a 4 star this hotel is an amazing 3 star, very few min to the strip. The beds are amazing the rooms are decent needs some work, small casino, staff was friendly. Don't go to this resort thinking you staying at a solid 5 star strip resort that's the biggest mistake you could make go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latinos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for bringing these points to our attention. The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa is located just one block from the Las Vegas Strip and offers guests a quiet retreat at the end of the day. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to relax in our signature Heavenly® Bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great to have a Westin in Las Vegas as an alternative to the mega casinos! Great choice for business and easy to get in and out of. Rooms are typical Westin and hotel is nicely situated close enough to the strip if thats where you need to go.
Minor annoyances- for being a business hotel the rooms really don't have easy access to plugs to charge devices. Bathroom is really the only easily accessible plug.
Doors are the type that can catch and not close all the way- make sure you pull your door closed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ark1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It was great to have had you here and we are happy you found the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa a great alternative for relaxing and enjoying time in Las Vegas. Our central location provides guests with the ease of getting to area attractions and conventions. Thank you for bringing these points to our attention and we will look into your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for one night as a stopover to catch a plane out of Vegas. Upon check in, the clerk waived the resort fee as it was later and we missed the complimentary appetizers and drinks. That was nice. I decided to check in for our flight at the complimentary check in terminal (nice!) and print the boarding passes while my husband went to bring the bags up to the room. Upon my arrival at the room, my husband was standing in the hallway on the phone. The front desk provided us with keys to a room that was already occupied! Oops! Yikes ! After about 10 minutes a front desk staff member came up and showed us to another room on the same floor.

The room was lovely on the 12th floor to watch the happenings and the lights. The bathroom was lovely and the bed was very comfy. Someone called to make sure we were okay in the room.

It was noisy though. Even with ear plugs, I could hear the sirens and traffic all night on East Flamingo Drive (about a block from the strip).

It was a nice hotel and they provided complimentary Starbucks coffee in the room, but it was hard to get over the fact that we were provided keys to someone else's room. Now you know why you don't leave valuables in the room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Whether you are here fur business or pleasure, we are offer many amenities for our guests. We truly regret any inconvenience with your room assignment and appreciate your patience while we worked to resolve this issue. It is our hope to welcome you back to the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa to enjoy some time by our pool or utilize our Hibiscus Spa. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,555 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#21 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Property: The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino & Spa is located 1.5 Blocks east of the famous Las Vegas Strip, Forum Shops, Miracle Mile, the LINQ & High Roller observation wheel, World Market and Premium outlet mall. Just minutes to Las Vegas Convention and Sands Expo Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing