We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and value”
Review of Harrah's Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harrah's Las Vegas
Ranked #93 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
ILLINOIS
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good location and value”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at Harrah's for the first time this past week. Really liked the location as it is in the middle of the strip. We stayed in a room on the 17th floor which is the carnival tower area. We did not request this room specifically but only asked that we have a queen or king bed and no smoking room. They offered this room to us at the desk. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The maids were good about giving us extra shampoos etc.. if we wanted. Offered a variety of bars and entertainment. The food buffet was good but could have used a little more help with their seating and service. Seemed like they lacked in servers and might have been understaffed in this area. Harrah's offered a shuttle back and forth to the Rio hotel for free, which was a benefit if we didnt want to walk down to the Rio. The staff were always helpful and we never had a problem in this area. The only downfall for us specifically was that they charge $10 per person if we wanted to use the exercise room but with not paying any resort fees for this hotel, this might be the reason why. All in all, i would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petlovr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,278
    6,007
    3,875
    1,523
    1,063
See reviews for
3,565
6,221
1,365
1,364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Snug between the Venetian and Imperial Palace - right across the street from the Mirage - just great. Nice large room (2 queens), clean and from what I heard has recently been upgraded and so it appears. Hotel chosen by tour operator - room on 9th floor with a not so great view but we'd get back so late every night it didn't much matter. A little disappointed in this day and age that they don't have free WiFi but everything else was great. I'm not a gambler and I'm an adamant non-smoker so I found the trip through the casino every morning & night a little unpleasant due to the smoky atmosphere but this cannot be helped if you want to get to the elevators to the rooms. Buffet was very nice - tried it for both breakfast and dinner and was pleased with the selections. You've got to go see "Fat Elvis" in the front bar - he's great! While here, we also went to the "Defending the Caveman" show and this was highly entertaining even though it lasted only a short hour. Don't really know what the pricing was on this hotel as it was part of the tour price but based on the website pricing, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, maybe ask for a view onto the strip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We did not stay here but have stayed in past and usually gamble here. The casino is centrally located on the strip and has a variety of things to do with a comedy club, piano bar (Big Elvis now here), several restaurants, poker room which usually has enough players for 2-3 tables of a TX HoldEm Tournament and some shops. There is also a bar with stage entertainment just outside of the Poker Room. Usually the dealers are more friendly than they were this time except for one I had named Tadi who was VERY personable and enjoyed playing at her table. The pit boss, Vincent D., was arrogant and one of the rudest I've seen. He was very slow in checking reward cards and when a player mentioned it he barked at him something that he was VERY BUSY and had other things to tend to! The cards didn't even belong to that player but he was on the end and was just trying to get the pit boss attention. That player got up and left.
Harrah's has the most 3 card poker tables available of all their properties that we went to and they are generally $5 and $10 at night. Lots of slots to play too! Can't go wrong stopping in here for a bit. This casino is centrally located between Imperial Palace and Casino Royal and across from Caesars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week got upgraded to the mardi gras room for free. Everything was great just make sure your doors closed behind you on your way out. Buffet was awesome too for lunch got ice cream cones on our way out very nice touch. Spa was very relaxing with professional staff who let me come down later to enjoy steam room and hot tub again. Staff great service great and awesome location thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie-cumpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Along with Bally's, Harrah's is a hotel that we often find comped or deeply discounted. One trip my offer was for Harrah's so I thought I'd try it. I was pleasantly surprised how nice the room was--dark woods, tastefully done. It was a bit small, but fine for a solo traveler. Loved that it had a coffee pot--elusive in Vegas. Even a tiny balcony (well, sort of.) BUT I was overlooking Carnival Court. If you go to bed before 3AM, BE SURE to request a room NOT overlooking Carnival Court as it will keep you up until 3AM! On our latest trip to Vegas, my husband & I asked not to overlook Carnival Court & our request was granted. Quiet as can be. Larger room, neutral decor, similar to Bally's north tower. Not quite as central as Bally's, but still manageable to most of the strip. Currently there is construction nearby for the LINQ project, be sure to ask for rooms on the north side to avoid construction noise.

Room Tip: Ask for north facing rooms for most quiet. Mardi Gras Tower is most convenient to Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzelia, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

So, my experience with Harrah's started before I even arrived at the hotel. As the plane was still taxiing, my work colleague called me, and was very peturbed. I had made the hotel arrangements for the two of us, and he arrived a number of hours before me. They would not let him check in, and he had to wait for me to arrive. This was after a long day of international travel. Needless to say, he was in a jolly angry mood.

When I arrived, I asked why he was not allowed to check in, and because I booked via a 3rd-party website, they said something about security and that these are their rules. I can say that it wasn't particularly clear anywhere that this was the policy. Way to go for sticking to the rules, at the expense of a tired customer!

So, with this atmosphere (us having travelled for hours around the world, only to be annoyed at Harrah's secret policies), the manager decided to upgrade us to a nicer room.

Here was the one highlight (a mediocre one, at that) of the trip. The room was large and newly remodeled. Comfy bed, nice sheets, decent view and a HUGE bathroom. The bathroom must have been easily 200 square feet. Jaccusi bathtub, walk-in shower with dual shower heads, separate room for the toilet, large double-sink, and everything covered in marble. Yes, the floors and walls were all marble. One day I did take a bath in the Jaccusi, and it was refreshing after a long day on my feet.

But, that was the only highlight.

Felt like I was getting nickle-and-dimed. Internet cost $12/day. I made a toll-free phone call (to a 1-800 number), and was charged $1.50 for each <5 minute call. The charge for toll-free calls was not on the phoe. When I asked to have it removed, the woman at the registration counter adamantly refused, and referenced that it was in the guest book (ie these were the rules, even if this information was buried somewhere in there) and that "these were the rules". She was horribly unhelpful. Luckily, the manager was somewhat more customer-oriented and took care of it with a smile.

At the end of the day, it was OK, as long as one didn't have to interact with the front desk. Being there for only 2 days (and being busy outside of the hotel during those 2 days) made it OK.

Next time I'm in Vegas, will look for something else, unless the price is REALLY good (ie <$50/day).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated Carnival tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you manage your expectations, you will enjoy your stay at Harrah's. What it IS: It's all about LOCATION. Harrah's is an extremely well-located hotel right in the middle of the strip, across the street from Caesar's Palace but much less expensive than the big luxury hotels around it. There's a MacDonald's and a Dennys next door where you can get cheap food - and Wi-Fi! What it is NOT: 1) it is not luxurious. The whole place is a little run-down and our "deluxe" room was OK (clean and comfortable) but looked like an ordinary room in a Comfort Inn. The low ceilings in the lobby area make it look like a renovated parking garage. The decor is a bit garish. 2) While the front desk people were nice (when we finally talked to them after standing in line for 30 minutes), it is not strong on customer experience: long lines at check-in and restaurants, pitch men harassing you in the lobby like carnival barkers to go to some time-share sales pitch. No Wi-Fi in the building (despite what is advertised on online booking sites). If you have a laptop with one of those old phone cable plugs, you can connect in your room for $12 per 24 hours. If you have a smartphone or an iPad, tough luck, you'll have to go to the MacDonald's next door for Wi-Fi. There's a pool but it never seems to be open in the morning (like, at 9 am). Odd. 3) It is not "cheap": it is very reasonably priced *given its location*, but while the weekday prices are cheap, the weekend prices are pretty expensive. If you want cheap, you'll have to go off-strip or to the Freemont area. There are tons of hidden extras at every turn. Check-in is at 4 pm, which seems artificially late, but for $25 you can check in early. Want a flat rate for the right to open the mini bar? $25. Don't want to line up at the buffet restaurant? $8 per person extra for the "express line". You get the idea.
One last thing: you absolutely do NOT want to be pool side of the building if you want to sleep at night. The cacophony of noise from the live shows each night downstairs will drive you batty. BUT if you're a night owl or plan to be out at night anyway, go for it.
Again, if you know all this in advance, you'll enjoy your stay and take advantage of being in the center of everything on the strip. You really can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Pool side is noisy if you plan to sleep at night (some folks don't in Vegas!). Some rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#82 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Las Vegas

Property: Harrah's Las Vegas
Address: 3475 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#88 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At fun, friendly and action-packed Harrah's Las Vegas, you're always comfortable and welcome! At its location in the heart of the Las Vegas strip, you'll find a host of Las Vegas entertainment that extends throughout and beyond the gaming floor. Our new modern Valley Tower rooms have just what you're looking for to stay and play at Harrah's Casino Las Vegas! Harrah's Las Vegas is home to the hit shows Menopause, Million Dollar Quartet and for a limited time, The Righteous Brothers! For those looking for a bite to eat, Harrah's Las Vegas is home to a variety of Las Vegas restaurants such as the unpretentious down-home cooking and laid back fun found at Toby Keith's I Love This Bar & Grill while Ruth Chris Steakhouse sets the scene for an elegant dinner. For seafood lovers, enjoy a meal at the Oyster Bar Las Vegas serving high-quality, fresh seafood including fresh-off-the-dock oysters. Looking for a quick bite, try the new 24 hour Fulton Street Food Hall offering a chef-driven assortment of breakfast, lunch and dinner selections including fresh baked pastries, coffee bar, "create your own" salad bar, gourmet sandwiches, fresh sushi, pan-Asian noodle bar, crepes, tacos and burritos. After (or before) dinner drinks can be had at one of several bars - the newest being Numb, a frozen cocktail bar located right on the casino floor. For those looking to have fun outdoors, Carnaval Court Outdoor Nightlife is a non-stop party just steps away from the strip. Don't miss the flair bartenders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Harrah's Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Las Vegas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing