We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's like taking no frills budget flight”
Review of Harrah's Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Las Vegas
Ranked #94 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Basically great location. It's like taking a budget airline vs a standard carrier, giving you the basics and nothing more (really). I can see why the reviews differ. Good and bad, depending on which of the following are important to you.

The good:
1) Location is perfect and centralized
2) Room is spacious and the beds are big too (for small sized Asians like myself)
3) Free shuttle to Rio (off the strip)
4) Short walk to bus stops (Deuce/SDX)
5) Walgreens 24/7 at the Palazzo nearby
6) McD next doors with free wifi
7) Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and tv provided

The bad:
1) Poor lighting and cleanliness. You can all it ambience though. And the glasses in the bathroom had residue in and on them
2) See point #7 above? That's pretty much all that was provided. No slippers, no electric water kettle/coffee maker. There were 2 small pcs of soap, one shampoo, one lotion. That's it.
3) Shower head is not removable, and there is no shower cap. Maybe a small thing for some people. But the water flow is strong and good.
4) They seem to want to charge for everything in the room. There was a pack of toothbrush+toothpaste beside the fridge, and it said "for sale". BTW, it wasn't really a fridge. There was a warning on the door that said it was a mini-bar and we're not allowed to place anything inside. And the drinks inside were "booby-trapped" so once you take something out to see, $$$...
5) I can't really say much about the housekeeping. My toilet roll was finishing, but it wasn't replaced nor was an extra roll supplied. FYI, yes I did tip them.
6) Poor sound insulation. We could hear all the conversations in the hall, which were unfortunately not interesting material.
7) Poor air. Everytime we pass the casino to go out to the strip, my eyes sting just from the residual cigarette smoke. Though smoking isn't allowed in the lobby and on some floors, they still smell of smoke. Non-existent air filtering
8) Old and overused bed. The bed was too soft only in the center. And it's so overused that even if I lie on the side, I will roll and sink into the center

Tips:
1) Go get your water from Walgreens, and bring a water kettle along if you want your own coffee or just some hot drinks. Nothing is provided, though room service will bring you a flask of hot water for more than 8 bucks.
2) Bring your own toiletries. There is close to nothing there. The shampoo and lotion is very little and again, they aren't replaced till you finish them completely.
3) If you don't need housekeeping, save it. There's not much difference and you save on tipping too. Just bring out your own trash. Towels and bedsheets aren't changed unless you explicitly request.
4) If you don't need the LAN connection, don't use the hotel's. It's freakin expensive. Go buy a coffee at McD next doors and enjoy the coffee and the free wifi.
5) Skip the restaurants and eateries at the hotel itself if not necessary. Bad air, long queue, mediocre food. If you're starving, there's a Big Hurt's Snack Shack kiosk right outside the hotel (not the McD exit) which is not bad and much cheaper.
6) For overseas travelers without a local number, note that even local outgoing calls from your room are $$. If you need to arrange airport shuttle pick-up, ask the concierge instead!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bubble101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18,270)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15,922 - 15,928 of 18,272 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at Harrah's in December of 2011. Check-in was very quick and easy. Our room was nice (not luxurious, but nice) and had a view of the volcano at The Mirage at night. The casino was fun and had a pary atmosphere. The location of Harrah's was great. It is right in the middle of the strip, just a short walk from nearly everything. We ate at Flavors, the buffet, and it was as good as any. We saw the Mac King comedy/magic show at Harrah's and enjoyed it very much (very family friendly). Harrah's is a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel room to drop your stuff in and enjoy the Vegas strip, the price is right to make this home base. The place is average enough and the casino pretty mediocre for strip standards. If you want Vegas Luxury, go across the street to Caesars.

Don't eat the buffet! I got horrible food poisoning that ruined 24 hours of my trip from that place. Good gracious I was sicker than a Kebler elf that found out he was allergic to chocolate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was my 1st time to Vegas. The hotel room was spacious and our room overlooked the Mirage which had an hourly show from 6pm to 11pm of the "volcano", since it was unseasonably cold outside the bird's-eye view of the volcano show was enjoyable. The hotel is located on the strip & was within walking distance to other hotels & local shopping. The room was clean & was well stocked with towels & tolietries on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandybeaches56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The location of the Harras is excellent to stroll around the strip in vegas. The hotel is from the 70ies and the Madris Gras towers have been renovated a few years ago. The rooms offer a good qualtiy for the price and and comfortably designed. The casino in the hotel is terrible as the celinigs are very low and the slot machine very loud, retro-style. The breakfast is included but is only offered at the in-house starbucks cafe. In summary, a good place to stay to explore Vegas but not for gambling or hanging out.

Room Tip: Take the renovated room, Mardis gras tower
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I travel to las vegas 2 to 3 times a year, and harrahs is always one of my favorite places to stay. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and its close to the middle of the strip, making it easy to get where ever you want to go without having to walk for hours. I'm a craps player, and the tables here are decent, but there is definately a subdued atmosphere when your playing. I HIGHLY RECOMEND getting a players card here if you like to gamble. About 8 years ago, i started a player card with harrahs, and i havent payed for a hotel room since. You can use the same card at 7 other properties in vegas. Toby Keith's i love this bar and grill is downstairs, the food is ok, but pretty pricey for what your getting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cambino1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We are here now and leaving tomorrow. We have stayed here before and really liked the location and still do but it is getting old and way too smokey. I have to say there is alot of smokey everywhere but its bad at Harrahs. The rooms are weathered and even the non-smoking rooms are smokey. We moved rooms and had to pay $15 more a night to a renovated room in the Mardi Gras tower and it was better but we won't stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Carnivale Court are quieter and pay the $15 more a night for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#84 of 263 in Las Vegas
9,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Las Vegas

Address: 3475 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#88 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $79 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At fun, friendly and action-packed Harrah's Las Vegas, you're always comfortable and welcome! At its location in the heart of the Las Vegas strip, you'll find a host of Las Vegas entertainment that extends throughout and beyond the gaming floor. Our new modern Valley Tower rooms have just what you're looking for to stay and play at Harrah's Casino Las Vegas! Harrah's Las Vegas is home to the hit shows Menopause, Million Dollar Quartet and for a limited time, The Righteous Brothers! For those looking for a bite to eat, Harrah's Las Vegas is home to a variety of Las Vegas restaurants such as the unpretentious down-home cooking and laid back fun found at Toby Keith's I Love This Bar & Grill while Ruth Chris Steakhouse sets the scene for an elegant dinner. For seafood lovers, enjoy a meal at the Oyster Bar Las Vegas serving high-quality, fresh seafood including fresh-off-the-dock oysters. Looking for a quick bite, try the new 24 hour Fulton Street Food Hall offering a chef-driven assortment of breakfast, lunch and dinner selections including fresh baked pastries, coffee bar, "create your own" salad bar, gourmet sandwiches, fresh sushi, pan-Asian noodle bar, crepes, tacos and burritos. After (or before) dinner drinks can be had at one of several bars - the newest being Numb, a frozen cocktail bar located right on the casino floor. For those looking to have fun outdoors, Carnaval Court Outdoor Nightlife is a non-stop party just steps away from the strip. Don't miss the flair bartenders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vegas.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrah's Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Las Vegas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing