We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of Five Stars for Two Reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Encore At Wynn Las Vegas
Ranked #4 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are fabulous. The service wonderful. It should be a 5 Star property. But two situations prevent me from granting Encore the top rating.

On check in, we were "offered" the opportunity to upgrade our view for $20 per night. We declined. While we checked in at 1 pm, we were told that our room would not be ready until 3 pm. We received a call at 3 pm and picked up our key. Our room had a wonderful view of the strip on the 31st floor despite the fact that we declined the view room. It seems that this is a standard practice in Las Vegas...at check-in you're offered an upgrade. A nice, luxury property as Encore should be beyond this practice. Offer the upgrade when you make your reservation.

Our second disappointment was in the Society Restaurant. At breakfast, the place was only 2/3 full. We waited 10 minutes for a table, 10 minutes to be approached for our order and get our first cup of coffee, and 20 minutes for our food. Other diners were complaining to management. The food was good, but the service was lacking and the kitchen could not turn out food on a timely manner. When we complained to the manager, we were "invited" to return for breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately, we had to decline since we had an early flight and Society did not open until 7 am.

You will love Encore. Just avoid the Society and rehearse "no" when the upgrade is offered.

Room Tip: We had room 3110 and it faced the south strip.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,458)
There are newer reviews for Encore At Wynn Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,186 - 8,192 of 12,465 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice place to stay, the older hotel/casinos pale in comparison. We weren’t bombarded with slots as soon as we walked in. Sorry to sound like a snob, but the here crowd is a couple of notches above those at e.g. Circus Circus or Imperial Palace.
We don’t like being lied to or jerked around, which is what happened. We requested a room on the same floor as our friends who arrived the day before, “Nothing is available at this time,” we were told. We asked that they try and in the mean time we’d camp out with our friends. An hour later – nothing. After waiting longer, our friend pulled rank and got us a room not only on the same floor, but next door – it had been vacant the whole time!
We were in a suite, nice view of not much to the north. Loved the remote control drapes and lamps. Being charged for use of the refrigerator is a cheap shot. Our mattress was lumpy. Housekeeping was impeccable. We left a lot of money on the tables – the dining room tables! There’s no bargains eating or drinking. Come on, two drink minimum at the piano bar! They must be dreaming; the music isn’t that good (and the drinks ain’t cheap)! But all the meals around the complex were perfect.
When using a taxi, do NOT us the name “Wynn” for chance of being taken to the hotel next door – just say “Encore.” Speaking of being taken by the taxis, watch out for “Do you want to take the quick route or the scenic route?” or “The traffic on the Strip is horrible, shall I take the highway?” Either or variations are a ploy to put more mile$ on the meter. BTW: it is $3 to use a credit card in a taxi; and it is less than $20 from the airport to the Encore.
Bottom line: we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les_Ismoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful Hotel, large suites with great views from the floor to ceiling windows. Very comfortable bed and nice desk and seating area. The casino is beautiful, although the machines seem a bit tight. The food at the Society Café is good but a bit over priced. The atmosphere is very upscale.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeinriverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Well, I guess a company that ONLY makes money on gambling shouldn't be trusted that much anyway, but now its been proven. Recently stayed here for a convention. I forgot a verizon mifi in the room, and called the next day to report it. I was assured they would find it and get back to me. Two days later with no return call I contact them again and I'm given the same assurance. Once again, no return call. I then find out that the item was indeed found, and has been used since my first call in.

This experience had to have involved at least 5 different Wynn employees, all of which are either crooked or dropped the ball. This was my first time at anything Wynn, and it will be my last. The resort is nice, but there are places just as nice elsewhere on the strip that are less likely to steal from you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great hotel, rooms are excellent.

Poolside is expensive to eat and drink but that's expected. The pool is lovely and views around you are breath taking.

Staff are very friendly and helpful including the casino croupiers who will happily teach you how to play any game.

My only negative of the whole trip was when I returned home - my credit card had 4 fraudulent transactions (card left behind hotel desk). They were all cash withdrawals of strange amounts. Having looked on Trip Advisor since finding this, it is littered with similar comments.

They need to put a stop to this immediately.

Room Tip: High up as possible.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights during 311 Day 2010. We were upgraded to suite in the tower and our room was very nice. Although its location is not optimal for walking to the other hotels/casinos, there was always a cab available and we never had to wait in a line/queue.

Due to the $300,000 required for entry, we didn't get to access the Sky Casino on the top floor. Maybe next time, ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms are amaisingly decorated, very modern, clean and spacious. Just amaising. The cassino is also the best I saw in vegas. And the restaurant options are great too. I like more pressure would be nice in the shower though.

Room Tip: High floor and strip view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaFHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,885 reviews
ARIA Resort & Casino
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
24,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore At Wynn Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore At Wynn Las Vegas

Address: 3121 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-1967
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $243 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Encore At Wynn Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 2034
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore, the new signature resort in the Wynn collection, is now taking reservations. Encore complements Wynn Las Vegas' repertoire of accommodations, culinary offerings and leisure activities to include eleven new retail boutiques, seven new cozy bars and lounges, five new signature restaurants, one ultra-chic nightclub and a European-inspired spa and salon facility. Indulge in Encore's casually elegant approach to ambiance. Conceived as a collection of neighborhoods, the resort is designed to fill your stay with moments of discovery and evoke your sense of wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Encore At Wynn Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore At Wynn Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Encore At Wynn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing