We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value 'no frills' really near the Strip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #131 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed October 20, 2005

If you want somewhere good value, clean, comfortable and safe with polite helpful staff near the Strip, I would recommend this hotel although it's not for those who want fluffy white bathrobes in their rooms and the other frills you get if you pay more.

I stayed here for a family wedding. The rest of my family were in the Luxor/Bellagio and I was glad I had decided to stay somewhere smaller/cheaper which did not entail a six mile walk from the hotel lobby to the room which is the case with those big Vegas hotels. (I reckon I was on the strip in not much less time than it owuld have taken me to get down there from a room at the Bellagio once you had taken into the account the lengthy corridors, waiting for elevators etc etc).

check-in was fast and easy with no queues, they had internet access (expensive but good that it was available) and free coffee in the lobby (be warned, Las Vegas hotels don't seem to supply the tea and coffe making facilities beloved of English hotels).

An added bonus is the very blue-collar small Ellis Island Casino which is apparently where the locals go to gamble. They make their own beer, the steaks are meant to be great value (although I never got to try one). Being an Englishman in Las Vegas, I also quite liked being near 'real' things like the local 7-11 which meant I could buy bottled water and food etc as pretty good value (such places exist on the strip but are relatively few and far between).

I felt pretty safe walking around this area even late at night although you do see the occasional signs that you are away from the wealth of the Strip - eg poor crazy people yelling at traffic, mumbling to themselves etc.

On a general note re Las Vegas, it's amazing how long it can take to walk from one hotel to another even though they appear quite close on the Map which might be worth bearing in mind if you are working out where to stay. The 301 and 302 (Express) buses which run up and down he strip are relatively fast and easy to use - although they can get crowded and you need to make sure you have the correct change before getting on... (2 dollars a ride on the 301 or 5 dollars for an all day pass, and I think 3 dollars on the 302).

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank HackneyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2005

This is proclaimed to be the “worlds largest Super 8”, but big doesn’t mean best. It is located off Flamingo, 1 block east of the strip so it is easy walking distance. Surrounding the property are parking spaces and there is also a small pool at the rear.
We were checked in efficiently to a queen Room on 3rd floor. We gave up waiting for the single elevator and carried our cases up the stairs. First impressions of the room were disappointing, no appliances what so ever. I mean no fridge, no microwave, no coffeemaker, no iron, no hairdryer. The bed, was a bit sagging and was mounted on an undersize plinth, which allowed it to rock from side to side.
We were unable to find any complimentary continental breakfast, but were advised to take advantage of inexpensive cooked breakfast in the Ellis Island Casino Restaurant next door. Admittedly the food there was good value.
We asked for a quiet room when booking on the internet. This was acknowledged on check-in and we were placed in the southern wing, overlooking a vacant lot. Unfortunately this didn’t prevent us being woken on the first night by a coach being started up and left running, then on the second night by noisy neighbours and workmen with chainsaws lopping tree branches. We also had a problem with our keycards only being validated for one night only, so we were locked out of our room until the cards were re-programmed by reception.
In general this Motel is adequate for a short visit to Vegas. It provides basic clean sleeping accommodation in a convenient location close to a reasonable eatery. I would probably only stay there again if I could find nothing better for the same money.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rocksteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Pinkthelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2005

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mgcasvtiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2005

9  Thank nettie-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Frankfurt/Germany
17
Reviewed February 12, 2005

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#128 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,593 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,908 reviews
Hooters Casino Hotel
#70 of 265 in Las Vegas
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#194 of 265 in Las Vegas
370 reviews
Oasis at Gold Spike
#122 of 265 in Las Vegas
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas

Address: 4250 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#65 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $41 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas 2*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true landmark for almost 50 years, the family-owned Ellis Island Hotel, Casino & Brewery is an affordable, comfortable blend of casino thrills, family-friendly atmosphere and superb dining with a whole lot of warmth and hospitality. Ellis Island Hotel, Casino & Brewery features 289 guest rooms and 12 suites that, while completely renovated, also give you the feel of staying in one of the classic hotels that made Las Vegas famous. From our convenient location near the Strip to affordable rates that make us one of the best values in Las Vegas, we’re the perfect gateway to exactly the Vegas you’ve come to experience. Newly Remodeled Rooms, Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Free WI-FI, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Interior Corridors, In Room Coffee Makers. Ellis Island Casino features a 24 Hour Village Pub Cafe, BBQ, Metro Pizza and Julio's Tacos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Super 8 Motel Las Vegas Strip Area
Super Eight Las Vegas
Las Vegas Super 8
Las Vegas Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing