We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd floor is all new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #131 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed March 5, 2009

This centrally located hotel is right off the Strip. You can see Planet Hollywood from the front door. They have recently remodeled all the rooms on the 3rd floor. The rooms are small, but clean and nicely decorated in a retro motif. There are flat screen televisions in the newly done rooms and colorful accents done with paint and fabric. Rates are less then $90. Ellis Island next door has several resturants serving steak, BBQ and other value priced meals.
Plans for upgrading the other floors are in place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoFor2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

Strange hotel, strange people, I didn't feel very safe in here!
Dirty corridor carpet, moist smell in the room, dark and bad decoration. The only positive thing, was being so close to the Strip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anavieira03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We went to Vegas on July 4th weekend. Its hard to find cheap hotels during that time. We decided to try this one out. It was cheap and a free breakfast. Its not a bad hotel for the price considering it was fully booked during that time. The building as such need an upgrade. The rooms were bigger. No refrigerator. It sucks considering the heat outside. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were not very clean but not bad.

Overall I will recommend this hotel if you want to save money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ravik89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We chose this hotel because we were getting into Las Vegas in the afternoon, and leaving the next morning to drive down to the Grand Canyon, so we wanted something cheap and comfortable, which this place is. It was easy to get to from the airport, and they have a courtesy shuttle to and from the airport.

The room was a good size, and clean, although it was on the ground floor and faced the road, so there was some noise, but not much. The front desk staff didn't seem to really want to be there, so not much information was forthcoming when asked. I guess you get that in a cheap off the strip motel like this.

The motel is about a 10 minute walk from the Strip (too far for some), so it's good value for the location, and there is a restaurant next door, which seemed to be busy when we walked past. There is also a convenience store nearby.

Overall, we found that this motel was sufficient for one night, but wouldn't stay for more than that.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jimh316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel twice during our USA vacation, on the day of our arrival to the USA and again on the night before our departure. We chose it because it had an airport courtesy shuttle, was within walking distance of the Strip and had a restaurant next door. We weren’t disappointed with our choice although for some people it could be too far to conveniently walk to the Strip.

The rooms were well maintained, clean and large and the air conditioning was effective without being too noisy at night. On our second visit we did have a similar problem to another reviewer in that our room key malfunctioned twice and we had to call for the maintenance man to unlock the door. Whilst the rooms were clean the corridors we poorly maintained and could do with new carpets and some fresh paint and brighter lighting.

The reception staff were efficient but not as friendly as many other USA reception staff.

Remember, this is a budget hotel and therefore don’t expect the luxury of the larger hotels on the Strip. If you just need a room for a night then it’s OK but if you are looking for several nights luxury accommodation in Las Vegas then I’d choose elsewhere.

The Ellis Island restaurant/casino next door did a good evening meal and breakfast although be prepared to wait 40-45 mins (at 7.30pm) for an evening meal. The night we went there it was packed but they had an efficient system for turning the tables around and getting people seated.

There is also a 7-11 store nearby which makes it easy to stock up with provisions.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

-This hotel is very basic and definitely suits the budget.
- Its about a good 10min walk off the strip to Bally's.
-Rooms were small but well air conditioned.
-Beds were not that comfortable, halls smelt very muggy and musty and not well lit.
- No continental breakfast had a hot beverage dispenser but that was it.
- Good free airport shuttle which is very helpful but BOOK night before.
- Cabs will not pick you up there they are all on the strip but its about a 5$ cab ride from Bally to Super 8.
-Front desk was rude and not that helpful except for the odd person..depends on the time of day.
-Room keys never worked always had to get them re programed every time we got back. and were locked out from the pool.
-Pool was refreshing after a long hot day but it was small and had a terrible location.
-taps in shower were confusing and backwards.
- 7-11 is close by and great to run and pick up a quick breakfast or coffee.

Overall its great on a tight buget and when you are not spending a whole lot of time at the hotel. However Im not sure if we'd stay there again because I would rather stay on the strip and spend the money for the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweatshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

The appearance of the room looked nice, but once you take a closer look you'd be disappointed too. The rugs on the floor had big stains and the room was not vacuumed. The bathtub was not clean at all. (Clorox would help). We were in a room by the back parking lot room #1002. At night there was activity and in the morning we'd find broken beer bottles by the car and bottles on the window sill. There was no breakfast served and I did not feel this was a safe place to stay. If you just need a place to put your head for the night this is okay, but if you want comfort and cleanliness spend a little more money and go to a bigger hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCAdministrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#125 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,586 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hooters Casino Hotel
#71 of 264 in Las Vegas
402 reviews
Oasis at Gold Spike
#122 of 264 in Las Vegas
431 reviews
The Strip
The Rita Suites
The Rita Suites
#190 of 264 in Las Vegas
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas

Address: 4250 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#66 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $35 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas 2*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true landmark for almost 50 years, the family-owned Ellis Island Hotel, Casino & Brewery is an affordable, comfortable blend of casino thrills, family-friendly atmosphere and superb dining with a whole lot of warmth and hospitality. Ellis Island Hotel, Casino & Brewery features 289 guest rooms and 12 suites that, while completely renovated, also give you the feel of staying in one of the classic hotels that made Las Vegas famous. From our convenient location near the Strip to affordable rates that make us one of the best values in Las Vegas, we’re the perfect gateway to exactly the Vegas you’ve come to experience. Newly Remodeled Rooms, Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Free WI-FI, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Interior Corridors, In Room Coffee Makers. Ellis Island Casino features a 24 Hour Village Pub Cafe, BBQ, Metro Pizza and Julio's Tacos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Vegas.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ellis Island Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Super 8 Motel Las Vegas Strip Area
Super Eight Las Vegas
Las Vegas Super 8
Las Vegas Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing